Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 10:43:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 ... 310 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 359815 times)
CarlOrff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 01:27:39 PM
 #961

A tip and a question:

Tip:  If you're tuning your GPUs to reduce power, nvidia-smi can be quite helpful.  I open it in a second ssh session so I can watch the miner output in the main window and the GPU in the second.

You can run it with this (refreshes every 0.1 seconds):
Code:
watch -n0.1 nvidia-smi

Question:

My rig is using about 50W more than it should as compared to same Eth mh/s under windows.  I've got cclock set to -35 and mclock set to 820.  pl is set to 75.  I get ~23mh/s, which is what I'm shooting for.  from the nvidia-smi output it looks like the problem is that three of the cards (this rig is 3x PNY and 1xEVGA) are not honoring the powerlimit.  Still new to tuning nvidia cards until linux.  Any ideas?

Code:
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 378.13                 Driver Version: 378.13                    |
|-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
| GPU  Name        Persistence-M| Bus-Id        Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan  Temp  Perf  Pwr:Usage/Cap|         Memory-Usage | GPU-Util  Compute M. |
|===============================+======================+======================|
|   0  GeForce GTX 106...  Off  | 0000:01:00.0      On |                  N/A |
| 35%   63C    P2    73W /  75W |   2742MiB /  3012MiB |    100%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   1  GeForce GTX 106...  Off  | 0000:02:00.0     Off |                  N/A |
| 46%   72C    P2    95W /  75W |   2219MiB /  3013MiB |     99%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   2  GeForce GTX 106...  Off  | 0000:03:00.0     Off |                  N/A |
| 44%   70C    P2    94W /  75W |   2219MiB /  3013MiB |     99%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   3  GeForce GTX 106...  Off  | 0000:07:00.0     Off |                  N/A |
| 43%   69C    P2    94W /  75W |   2219MiB /  3013MiB |     98%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+

Update:
Apparently quite a few people are experiencing this issue with GTX 1060's https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/1011804/linux/nvidia-smi-not-fully-supported-on-gtx-1060/.  In this case, mine is a PNY 3GB version which someone else is having issues with as well.  Unclear as to whether this is a driver bug or somehow related to particular motherboards (a Gigabyte z97 SOC Force in my case).
Tried :
sudo nvidia-smi -i 1,2,3 -pl 75

       ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄
    ▄█▀ ▄▄███████▄▄ ▀█▄
  ▄█▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▄▄
 ▄▀ ▄█████    ████████▄ ▀▄
▄█ ███████    ██████████ █▄
█ ▄█████▀▀   █▀    ▄████▄ █
█ ██████▄    ▀   ▄███████ █
█ ▀████         ▄███████▀ █
▀█ █████    █    ▀██████ █▀
 ▀▄ ▀██    ███    ▀███▀ ▄▀
  ▀█▄ ▀█████████████▀ ▄█▀
    ▀█▄ ▀▀███████▀▀ ▄█▀
       ▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀
kickcity     ▄█▄           ▄█▄
▄███ ███ █████████ ███ ███▄
████▄ ▄█████████▄ ▄████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

███████████████████████████
██                       ██
██      ███ ███ ███ ███  ██
██                       ██
██  ███ ███ ███ ███ ███  ██
██                       ██
██  ███ ███ ███ ███      ██
██                       ██
▀█████████████████████████▀
         ▀   ▀▄  ▄  ▄▀
   ▀    ▄   ▀  ▀▄ ▄▀  ▀
     ▀
█  ▀  ▀▀▄ ▄▀▀▀▀▀▀
  ▀▄  ▀    ▄▀▀▀   ▄   ▀
   ▀ ▀▀  ▀  ▀  ▄
▀▀▀▀  ▀▄  ▀   ▄▀  █ ▀  ▀
   █   ▀▄  ▀ █      ▀
 ▀   █ ▀  █  █  ▀
   ▀
        █
        ▀ 
           
           
           
WHITEPAPER
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
facebook   slack   VK   twitter   telegram
.
|
.
|
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
cryptosharks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 01:39:32 PM
 #962

Can someone share the OC settings for GTX 1080 OC 8GB (non TI), please?

These are my OC settings for nvOC:

POWERLIMIT="NO"
__CORE_OVERCLOCK=275
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=600
FAN_SPEED=100

The card gets heated: 82 C (stays there 24/7 consistently)

With the above OC settings, I get 315-330 MH/s on LBC and 495-505 Sol/s on ZEC.

With the same OC settings as on nvOC, Windows 10 is able to get 345-365 MH/s on LBC and 545-565 Sol/s on ZEC with temperature not going over 79 C. I used MSI Afterburner on Windows.

Any ideas?
Well, in nvOC (Linux) the OC is different. So you might want to up your mem OC quite a bit.

As written before by fullzero:
Powerlimits in windows are in percent TDP; in linux they are in watts.  Thus a powerlimit of 70 in windows is .7 * 120 watts or whatever the TDP is (84 watts if the card TDP is 120); while 70 in linux is 70 watts.  I would recommend comparing Windows and linux powerlimits with a kill-a-watt to get them exactly equal; but most likely a 3gb 1060 has a 120 or 125 watt TDP.

Also linux OC offsets are scaled differently than windows; you will need to use higher offsets to get the same results in linux.

Thanks.

How about setting the temperature limit? In MSI Afterburner, I was able to set the temperature limit as well. I've been using Windows so far, so please don't mind my questions. Smiley

@fullzero, cheers for creating nvOC and sharing. You gotta start charging  Smiley
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 01:53:59 PM
 #963

I like rufus; I have used it for years, it can also be used to image the USB. 

I think the hddRawCopy tool, is easier to use for members who have less experience imaging; there are also a lot of members who are already familiar with it from smOS.

I use an img format for the image; specifically to enable the use of most imaging programs.

This one is also easy to use and is available for mac / linux and windows:

https://etcher.io/
Thanks, being on a Mac, etcher looks great. Saves me starting up Virtualbox Wink

Just leaves me one thing: the Windows partition is unreachable with a Mac. Seemingly this has to do with some flags missing for the FAT partition. Anyone has a solution for this?

What are you trying to do?
Explain into details what you trying to do and I might be able to help out
I deal with windows and Mac daily
After writing the image to an USB my Mac won't recognise the USB nor the Win partition on the USB. Tried several utilities but it seems to be an issue with the way the partition table is made. Unfortunately I couldn't find a working solution..
So for me it's easier atm to boot up a rig with the USB, ssh to it and edit the oneBash remotely. But if you have a way to mount, that would be great!
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 01:59:42 PM
 #964

Can someone share the OC settings for GTX 1080 OC 8GB (non TI), please?

These are my OC settings for nvOC:

POWERLIMIT="NO"
__CORE_OVERCLOCK=275
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=600
FAN_SPEED=100

The card gets heated: 82 C (stays there 24/7 consistently)

With the above OC settings, I get 315-330 MH/s on LBC and 495-505 Sol/s on ZEC.

With the same OC settings as on nvOC, Windows 10 is able to get 345-365 MH/s on LBC and 545-565 Sol/s on ZEC with temperature not going over 79 C. I used MSI Afterburner on Windows.

Any ideas?
Well, in nvOC (Linux) the OC is different. So you might want to up your mem OC quite a bit.

As written before by fullzero:
Powerlimits in windows are in percent TDP; in linux they are in watts.  Thus a powerlimit of 70 in windows is .7 * 120 watts or whatever the TDP is (84 watts if the card TDP is 120); while 70 in linux is 70 watts.  I would recommend comparing Windows and linux powerlimits with a kill-a-watt to get them exactly equal; but most likely a 3gb 1060 has a 120 or 125 watt TDP.

Also linux OC offsets are scaled differently than windows; you will need to use higher offsets to get the same results in linux.

Thanks.

How about setting the temperature limit? In MSI Afterburner, I was able to set the temperature limit as well. I've been using Windows so far, so please don't mind my questions. Smiley

@fullzero, cheers for creating nvOC and sharing. You gotta start charging  Smiley
As far as I know, there is no option in Linux / Nvidia drivers to set a max temp. It can be done in EWBF miner, but that would mean it will idle the card until below threshold. You could limit your power to reach the desired temp, but that's not quite the same.
UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 04:43:21 PM
 #965


I should probably rephrase. I have all 6 GPUs on risers, the only time it does not post is when I have 2 of the x16 slots with the risers in them. I will double check and make sure they are all the same gen type. I had it on auto first but when I did, it wouldn't even boot past one card. I'm to the point I may just reset the MB bios via cmos and start fresh.

Use all 3 of the x16 slots, then begin populating the x1 slots beginning with the one closest to the CPU and moving away from it.



2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 04:56:48 PM
 #966

Just wanted to say thanks for making this! Happy to donate if you have an address to send it to.

Refer to the untouched OneBash file for OP's wallet addresses to donate, or you can donate by running your rig with his address(es) still listed in the OneBash file.

2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 06:01:20 PM
 #967


I should probably rephrase. I have all 6 GPUs on risers, the only time it does not post is when I have 2 of the x16 slots with the risers in them. I will double check and make sure they are all the same gen type. I had it on auto first but when I did, it wouldn't even boot past one card. I'm to the point I may just reset the MB bios via cmos and start fresh.

Use all 3 of the x16 slots, then begin populating the x1 slots beginning with the one closest to the CPU and moving away from it.




I did not try this but I did get it working.

Motherboard changes to get it to post:
DMI max gen 2
pciex16_1 link gen 2
pciex16_2 link gen 2
pcie spread spectrum clock disable
pcei speed gen 2
restore ac power on
hd audio controler disable
post delay time 0 sec
above 4g decoding enable

Current slots in use (check MB manual)
PCIEX1_1
PCIEX16_1
PCIEX1_2
PCIEX1_3
PCIEX1_4
PCIEX16_3

If I use the PCIEX16_2 slot claymore miner will not detect the GPU in that slot, skipping it posts and all 6 are registered.
 
Link to the stats
CC: 100
Mem: 1275
dcri: 20
Watt: 115 per card
802 watts from the wall

Bitrated user: nexillus.
stef_stef
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 06:45:26 PM
 #968

Anyone to let me know what could be the possible cause of nvOC not booting up?

Often times I get a black screen and it will stay that way for 15+min. So far, the only possible solution to this problem is to reinstall nvOC on my usb


MOBO asus prime z270p
g3930
nvidia 1070

I have the same CPU so it isn't that. Is your display plugged into the onboard video or the GPU?  Does the MOBO post?

It could be an issue with the USB flash.
Sorry for my late response.

The HDMI cable is plugged into one of the GPU's that is on the x16 PCIe slot. And yes, the mobo goes past bios, that is when I get my black screen.


As for someone else that quoted me, I did not forget to unzip the file Smiley
bibyfok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 06:47:37 PM
 #969

Is there any plan to add a remote management ? Either a webportal or a teamviewer?

Thanks !
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 06:54:15 PM
 #970

First, thank you so much fullzero  Grin for this.  I've rolled my own in the past, so this was a nice find and saved me a lot of trouble to do my own.

Have a couple of questions
1) I'm using 4 x PNY GTX 1060 3GB cards on a Gigabyte Z97 SOC Force motherboard.  Under Win10 with power 70, cclock 150, and mclock 850 I consistently get ~23 Mh/s.  With nvOC with the same settings I get 21.4 Mh/s.  Increasing the mclock doesn't seem to increase the hashrate.  cclock at 100 doesn't seem to make a difference either.

My oneBash looks like this:
Code:
COIN="ETH"

POWERLIMIT="70"                 # YES NO

INDIVIDUAL_POWERLIMIT="NO"      # YES NO

__CORE_OVERCLOCK=150
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=850

INDIVIDUAL_CLOCKS="NO"          # YES NO

When the bash file starts it shows that the attributes are set, but it appears that the clock settings aren't taking effect. I don't see any errors thrown when Claymore starts up except that the cuda library doesn't have a version number.

2) I added a couple of parameters to the Eth command line, but it doesn't seem to pick them up.  For instance, when try to interactively change the dcri it tells me that i need to set -asm 1, but that is already set in the bash file.
Code:
if [ $COIN == "ETH" ]
then
HCD='/home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64'
ETHADDR="$ETH_ADDRESS/$ETH_WORKER"

if [ $ETHERMINEdotORG == "YES" ]
then
ETHADDR="$ETH_ADDRESS.$ETH_WORKER"
fi

until $HCD -epool $ETH_POOL -ewal $ETHADDR -epsw x -mode 1 -esm 0 -estale 0 -asm 1 -dcri 12
   do
   echo "FAILURE; reinit in 5" >&2
   sleep 5
done
fi

Any recommendations would be much appreciated.  Windows 10 sucks for mining - so much babysitting, so hoping to get this tweaked and running well.


Powerlimits in windows are in percent TDP; in linux they are in watts.  Thus a powerlimit of 70 in windows is .7 * 120 watts or whatever the TDP is (84 watts if the card TDP is 120); while 70 in linux is 70 watts.  I would recommend comparing Windows and linux powerlimits with a kill-a-watt to get them exactly equal; but most likely a 3gb 1060 has a 120 or 125 watt TDP.

Also linux OC offsets are scaled differently than windows; you will need to use higher offsets to get the same results in linux.

In regards to Claymore ETH settings; the Claymore readme says -asm is for AMD only.  I haven't tested this but -dcri 30 (or any valid number) is only supposed to work with mode 1 (ETH only) if -asm mode is used.



fullzero, thank you for the quick reply.  This was hugely helpful.

So strange that Windows is percentage of TDP and linux is watts.  The PNY 1060-3's are 120W TDP, so I've set it at 84 in linux.  I'll check it out with my power meter.

I increased the mclock to 1500, which is getting me about 22.7 Mh/s now.  I'll keep playing with it, but I see that the nvidia control panel has a max of 2000 for memory, whereas it's 1000 in afterburner on Windows.  It seems like the offset might be 2:1 on linux, so my 850 would be 1700 on linux.

Finally, with the dcri, you're right.  I have a mix of AMD and nvidia cards, so just assumed it worked on nvidia.  Tried it on a Windows nvidia only rig, and it gives the same error, so pretty sure dcri tuning doesn't work with nvidia cards.

Thanks again, this rocks!

powerlimits for different cards and in general:

if using the same powerlimit for each card set:

Code:
POWERLIMIT="YES"
         

and in this block of code:

Code:
if [ $POWERLIMIT == "YES" ]
then
sleep 6
#change powerlimit by changing the number after -pl to the desired wattage
expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -pl 125
expect "*password*:"
send "miner1\r" '
sleep 6
fi

find the line:
Code:
expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -pl 125

and replace 125 with the desired powerlimit in watts


if using the individual powerlimits for each card set:

Code:
INDIVIDUAL_POWERLIMIT="YES"
      

and in this block of code:

Code:
if [ $INDIVIDUAL_POWERLIMIT == "YES" ]
then
sleep 6
#change GPU 0 powerlimit by changing the number after -pl to the desired wattage
expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 0 -pl 125
expect "*password*:"
send "miner1\r" '
sleep 6

#change GPU 1 powerlimit by changing the number after -pl to the desired wattage
expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 1 -pl 125
expect "*password*:"
send "miner1\r" '
sleep 6

#change GPU 2 powerlimit by changing the number after -pl to the desired wattage
expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 2 -pl 125
expect "*password*:"
send "miner1\r" '
sleep 6

#change GPU 3 powerlimit by changing the number after -pl to the desired wattage
expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 3 -pl 125
expect "*password*:"
send "miner1\r" '
sleep 6

#change GPU 4 powerlimit by changing the number after -pl to the desired wattage
expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 4 -pl 125
expect "*password*:"
send "miner1\r" '
sleep 6

#change GPU 5 powerlimit by changing the number after -pl to the desired wattage
expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 5 -pl 125
expect "*password*:"
send "miner1\r" '
sleep 6

#change GPU 6 powerlimit by changing the number after -pl to the desired wattage
expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 6 -pl 125
expect "*password*:"
send "miner1\r" '
sleep 6

........

change each line:

expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 0 -pl 125  ( this is for GPU 0 )

expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 1 -pl 125  ( this is for GPU 1 )

expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 2 -pl 125

expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 3 -pl 125

expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 4 -pl 125

expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -i 5 -pl 125  ( this is for GPU 5 )

to the desired powerlimit.

Note: the indexing of the GPUs might be different than you expect.

If you open the guake terminal; press f12

and enter:
Code:
nvidia-smi

It should list your cards in the correct order.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 06:57:29 PM
 #971

Just wanted to say thanks for making this! Happy to donate if you have an address to send it to. I initially planned on running Windows but was having sporadic hashing rates. I switched over to this and it's been running perfectly.

Also wanted to say that I was able to run 8 1070 GPUs with no issues on ASUS PRIME Z270-P motherboard. To get the additional 2 GPUs on this board, I'm using two m.2 to PCI-e adapters.

Please spread Crypto.  Smiley

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 07:00:40 PM
 #972

Hi,

I've just tried switching some of my rigs to solely mine SIA to start building a position, but it doesn't seem to work? Switched back to dual for now, any ideas?

Mining to nanopool, no settings changed other than the coin selection, works fine on the claymore dual.

Thanks.

When mining sia; ccminer is looking for a getwork protocol.  You should have to use nanopools getwork port in order to mine SIA solo with it.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 07:03:14 PM
 #973

A tip and a question:

Tip:  If you're tuning your GPUs to reduce power, nvidia-smi can be quite helpful.  I open it in a second ssh session so I can watch the miner output in the main window and the GPU in the second.

You can run it with this (refreshes every 0.1 seconds):
Code:
watch -n0.1 nvidia-smi

Question:

My rig is using about 50W more than it should as compared to same Eth mh/s under windows.  I've got cclock set to -35 and mclock set to 820.  pl is set to 75.  I get ~23mh/s, which is what I'm shooting for.  from the nvidia-smi output it looks like the problem is that three of the cards (this rig is 3x PNY and 1xEVGA) are not honoring the powerlimit.  Still new to tuning nvidia cards until linux.  Any ideas?

Code:
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 378.13                 Driver Version: 378.13                    |
|-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
| GPU  Name        Persistence-M| Bus-Id        Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan  Temp  Perf  Pwr:Usage/Cap|         Memory-Usage | GPU-Util  Compute M. |
|===============================+======================+======================|
|   0  GeForce GTX 106...  Off  | 0000:01:00.0      On |                  N/A |
| 35%   63C    P2    73W /  75W |   2742MiB /  3012MiB |    100%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   1  GeForce GTX 106...  Off  | 0000:02:00.0     Off |                  N/A |
| 46%   72C    P2    95W /  75W |   2219MiB /  3013MiB |     99%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   2  GeForce GTX 106...  Off  | 0000:03:00.0     Off |                  N/A |
| 44%   70C    P2    94W /  75W |   2219MiB /  3013MiB |     99%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   3  GeForce GTX 106...  Off  | 0000:07:00.0     Off |                  N/A |
| 43%   69C    P2    94W /  75W |   2219MiB /  3013MiB |     98%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+

Update:
Apparently quite a few people are experiencing this issue with GTX 1060's https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/1011804/linux/nvidia-smi-not-fully-supported-on-gtx-1060/.  In this case, mine is a PNY 3GB version which someone else is having issues with as well.  Unclear as to whether this is a driver bug or somehow related to particular motherboards (a Gigabyte z97 SOC Force in my case).

Code:
watch -n0.1 nvidia-smi
this is helpful

hopefully it is a driver issue and the next driver resolves it.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 07:09:33 PM
 #974

I like rufus; I have used it for years, it can also be used to image the USB.  

I think the hddRawCopy tool, is easier to use for members who have less experience imaging; there are also a lot of members who are already familiar with it from smOS.

I use an img format for the image; specifically to enable the use of most imaging programs.

This one is also easy to use and is available for mac / linux and windows:

https://etcher.io/
Thanks, being on a Mac, etcher looks great. Saves me starting up Virtualbox Wink

Just leaves me one thing: the Windows partition is unreachable with a Mac. Seemingly this has to do with some flags missing for the FAT partition. Anyone has a solution for this?

I have tested the v0015 zip on linux and it does produce an error as reported by several users.  I am sure this is the same problem which occurs for mac users. 

I had thought zip would be the same on windows or *nix, but it is not.  The current v0015 zip was compressed with windows. 

I made a zip on linux and it was a different size; I extracted the img from the zip on linux and windows, and it worked in both cases. 

From now on I will make the zip on linux to ensure it can be unzipped on any platform.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 07:14:07 PM
 #975

Hi. I am first time using this. Follow instruction and use the Atom to edit the bash file.

When boot up, after all start i saw the screen is up.

But it keep saying:
Xxxxxxxxxx.....1263-A96E/onebash
No such file or directory.

What should do?

Appreciate help.

Are you using an SSD?

If so see these posts:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19328385#msg19328385


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19300078#msg19300078

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 07:18:48 PM
 #976


I should probably rephrase. I have all 6 GPUs on risers, the only time it does not post is when I have 2 of the x16 slots with the risers in them. I will double check and make sure they are all the same gen type. I had it on auto first but when I did, it wouldn't even boot past one card. I'm to the point I may just reset the MB bios via cmos and start fresh.

Use all 3 of the x16 slots, then begin populating the x1 slots beginning with the one closest to the CPU and moving away from it.




This image is helpful

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 07:32:17 PM
 #977

Hi All,

I have decided to give nvOC a go, I am using an older Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P (Socket LGA1366) board and an i7 920 CPU.  I have two EVGA GTX 1080ti on risers in both PCI-E x16 slots.
I am able to boot fine but things just are not stable, I can run for about 15 hours but later GPU0 drops to about 150-170w and SOLs are suffering, I can reboot and get it working but it seems to happen again.

I have no idea if any BIOS changes need to be made to get this running stable or not, does anyone have any idea what I can try?

Also if I kill the mining process and make changes to the onebash config it doesn't seem to accept the changes, more specially the fan speed.  I attempt to launch the miner again and get the below error but the process does start;


Failed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help`
       for usage information.


When the mining process starts do you see OC messages like this?



If you don't:

At any point did you boot with the monitor connected to the motherboard?

Did you at anytime boot with only one GPU attached?

If either of these is the case: ensure the monitor is attached to the primary GPU ( the one connected to the 16x slot closest to the CPU )

then follow this process:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19449945#msg19449945

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 07:35:51 PM
 #978

Guys! I use Asus Z270-P motherboard. And i am having problems when i add 5th gpu. I am using ubuntu desktop 16.04. I use 5x gtx 1070.

Please, can anyone give me some info how to install my fifth card and then eventualy add 6th or 7th. How to setup Bios, what version etc. I guess nvOC wont work properly also before i deal.with this.

Please.help me Sad spent last day trying to figure it all out.

When i add 5th gpu its either stuck. It doesnt let me enter bios even. I just see black screen. Or if i change bios options, i get into ubuntu but system sees only 4 gpus. 5th is invisible. Gpu 0 1 2 3 are shown 4 is not there.


Most likely; you need to enable:

Above 4G Decoding

in the bios.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 07:37:38 PM
 #979

Can someone share the OC settings for GTX 1080 OC 8GB (non TI), please?

These are my OC settings for nvOC:

POWERLIMIT="NO"
__CORE_OVERCLOCK=275
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=600
FAN_SPEED=100

The card gets heated: 82 C (stays there 24/7 consistently)

With the above OC settings, I get 315-330 MH/s on LBC and 495-505 Sol/s on ZEC.

With the same OC settings as on nvOC, Windows 10 is able to get 345-365 MH/s on LBC and 545-565 Sol/s on ZEC with temperature not going over 79 C. I used MSI Afterburner on Windows.

Any ideas?
Well, in nvOC (Linux) the OC is different. So you might want to up your mem OC quite a bit.

As written before by fullzero:
Powerlimits in windows are in percent TDP; in linux they are in watts.  Thus a powerlimit of 70 in windows is .7 * 120 watts or whatever the TDP is (84 watts if the card TDP is 120); while 70 in linux is 70 watts.  I would recommend comparing Windows and linux powerlimits with a kill-a-watt to get them exactly equal; but most likely a 3gb 1060 has a 120 or 125 watt TDP.

Also linux OC offsets are scaled differently than windows; you will need to use higher offsets to get the same results in linux.

Thanks.

How about setting the temperature limit? In MSI Afterburner, I was able to set the temperature limit as well. I've been using Windows so far, so please don't mind my questions. Smiley

@fullzero, cheers for creating nvOC and sharing. You gotta start charging  Smiley
As far as I know, there is no option in Linux / Nvidia drivers to set a max temp. It can be done in EWBF miner, but that would mean it will idle the card until below threshold. You could limit your power to reach the desired temp, but that's not quite the same.

Thanks for helping Maxximus007


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 20, 2017, 07:38:51 PM
 #980

Is there any plan to add a remote management ? Either a webportal or a teamviewer?

Thanks !

Yes teamviewer will already be installed in the next version (you can install it yourself in v0015), management app is under dev.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 ... 310 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!