Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2018, 12:39:48 AM *
News: Electrum users must upgrade to 3.0.5 if they haven't already. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HD6950 mobo requirements  (Read 638 times)
skerit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile WWW
June 17, 2011, 11:25:44 PM
 #1

I bought my first HD6950 card a few days back, hoping it would work on my P5N-E card lying around. Alas, it does not. (It works for a minute, then the screen goes blank)
Lots of people have problems getting those 2 to work, apparently.

But now I saw HD6950 is based on PCI Express 2.1. Is it required that the motherboard uses that, too? Or is 2.0 enough?

The hardware requirements on AMD's site say nothing about that, btw:
 PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard.

Has anyone been able to run this card on an Intel 775 motherboard?

Buy beer, snacks and candy with your bitcoins over at BelgianFlavours.com (http://www.belgianflavours.com)
1516581588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516581588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516581588
Reply with quote  #2

1516581588
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516581588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516581588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516581588
Reply with quote  #2

1516581588
Report to moderator
1516581588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516581588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516581588
Reply with quote  #2

1516581588
Report to moderator
1516581588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516581588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516581588
Reply with quote  #2

1516581588
Report to moderator
Philj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 11:31:25 PM
 #2

I have a 6950 running on an older AMD board that is PCIe 2.0
skerit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile WWW
June 18, 2011, 03:14:52 PM
 #3

It apparently was just an issue with THAT specific motherboard. I tried it on an even more-basic P5KPL-VM and now it's working fine!

Buy beer, snacks and candy with your bitcoins over at BelgianFlavours.com (http://www.belgianflavours.com)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!