Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:58:24 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PC wont POST with 5830.  (Read 985 times)
wyze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 17, 2011, 11:33:10 PM
 #1

I've been messing with this for days, tried 2 different cards, 3 different PSU's all with the same results. When I kick the power on, I hear 3 beeps, no video. My card I am replacing is a EVGA GeForce 8800GTX which works fine, but is obviously a shitty mining card.

This is an older system, so I've come to the conclusion that it is a problem with my motherboard. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Motherboard Model: MSI K9NBPM2-FID
Video Card Model: SAPPHIRE 100297-2L Radeon HD 5830 Xtreme
Current PSU: Antec HCG-520 520W

I've also tried the XFX Radeon HD 6950 in the same board with the same result as the 5830.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
   wyze
1480766304
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766304

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766304
Reply with quote  #2

1480766304
Report to moderator
1480766304
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766304

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766304
Reply with quote  #2

1480766304
Report to moderator
1480766304
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766304

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766304
Reply with quote  #2

1480766304
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 11:47:38 PM
 #2

Hmmm.. i'd say there is something up with the PCIE slot you are putting the cards into... If neither  'modern' card will work, it could be an issue with the signalling, and it being an older not so standard PCIE 1.0 slot? Remember, both of the cards you mention are PCIE 2.0, and so should be backwards compatible.. but perhaps it is a case where they are backwards compatible with a slightly newer slot then you are sporting on that board.

I'd recommend looking for the latest BIOS flash for your mobo, and flashing... (use the old card)

See if that allows it to boot with your new card.

Smiley

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
fascistmuffin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 11:52:36 PM
 #3

I also suggest BIOS flashing. I had a problem once with a mobo that said it supported 45nm, but required a BIOS update to actually be able to use it. Most likely the same case.
wyze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 17, 2011, 11:53:17 PM
 #4

It has the latest BIOS v5.8, which are from 2008. The board does have on-board video which I can use too and that works fine.

I did a lot of reading and researching before posting and couldn't find anybody anywhere talking about using this board with a PCI-E 2.0 card.
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 11:59:27 PM
 #5

Nor could I, I was just digging around myself... You may be out of luck. If you plug the card in, does it automatically try to disable the onboard? or will it boot if onboard is left on, and the card is just in? Also... does the PS have all required power connects? Like your not running any two molex to 6pin adapters or anything right?


Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
wyze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 18, 2011, 01:03:51 AM
 #6

The PC will boot if the card is left in and I plug the monitor into the onboard DVI port. Yes, on the new PSU I am using it has 2x PCI-E connectors and that is what I am using. I think I may be out of luck as well. Sad .. I found a board on Newegg that is AM2/DDR2 with one PCI-E 2.0 port on it for only $50. I think I will just have to order that board. Thanks for all the help.
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 08:05:40 AM
 #7

Once it boots on onboard video, does the machine see the video card at all? If so, can you install drivers for it... If so.. then can you mine with it??? See where I am going with this?

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
Nilarium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 07:00:56 PM
 #8

i read that cards since 47xx have problems with "Mobo with old socket 939"
read it in faq for 5850

so i m sure that problem because of ur MOBO

computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 07:26:17 PM
 #9

Pci-e 1.0 card is compatible with Pci-e 2.0 slot. However, pci-e 2.0 card NOT backwards compatible with pci-e 1.0 slot. As strange as it is, there some mobos with exceptions, depending on the chipset. But one thing is for sure. That mobo has an OLD nvidia chipset that is definitely NOT compatible with a pci-e 2.0 card.
wyze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 18, 2011, 10:25:40 PM
 #10

Pci-e 1.0 card is compatible with Pci-e 2.0 slot. However, pci-e 2.0 card NOT backwards compatible with pci-e 1.0 slot. As strange as it is, there some mobos with exceptions, depending on the chipset. But one thing is for sure. That mobo has an OLD nvidia chipset that is definitely NOT compatible with a pci-e 2.0 card.

That actually makes sense.

Anyways, I went up to my buddy's PC shop and got the Foxconn A74ML-K for $50 and everything is working great now. Getting 310Mh/s so, no complaints here!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!