Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:33:46 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installed a 6950, No Onboard Sound  (Read 1463 times)
Austinh100
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 02:19:04 AM
 #1

So about a week ago i installed my shiny new 6950 to start mining and i noticed that i no longer had sound. So, i googled around a bit and tried a couple different fixes: changed onboard audio from auto to enabled, reinstalled drivers, uninstalled drivers, etc. But i still havent had any luck. My "Playback Devices" in windows shows only the hdmi audio from the video card ("ATI DP Output"). SCII for a week with no sound =  Cry. Any thoughts?

System Specs:
AMD Phenom II X4 955
ASRock 880GXH/USB3 AM3 (onboard R4250)
CORSAIR XMS3 4GB
MSI Twin Frozr III PE/OC R6950
WD Caviar SE16 500GB x2
Cooler Master HAF 932
CORSAIR 650TX
Windows 7 (64-bit)

Send me a tip =D
http://payb.tc/austinh100
1480876426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876426
Reply with quote  #2

1480876426
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480876426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876426
Reply with quote  #2

1480876426
Report to moderator
1480876426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876426
Reply with quote  #2

1480876426
Report to moderator
1480876426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876426
Reply with quote  #2

1480876426
Report to moderator
Waltibaba
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 10:28:09 AM
 #2

Check if theres a header/jumper (usually the second) on your motherboard that turns on/off hdmi audio out. Also check where your front panel header is connected to, if that is where you are getting your sound from, you might have plugged it into the wrong 12 pin header (usually something along the lines of FNT_PNL, rather than AC97).

12ZzdcQ7pyAcUJS9AGBRHTYcsu8tYLGWBK
"Money needs to be depoliticized, and the time has come for the separation of money and state to be accomplished."  Thomas Greco (2009)
*Image Removed*
Miner SiX
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 09:54:02 PM
 #3

Being me i would revert back to the last working condition or reinstall windows. Fast and simple solution compared to hours and days and weeks of troubleshooting.

My bitcoin: 1MCGqbGZNwSqoMSVmdWQbhDn8CepLrMJb6
My Namecoin: N8X8wVAkW5zf25XMF7GiHYtL3dDUEqoTQV
Help a newbie Smiley
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 10:51:33 PM
 #4

try play with "memory remap", and rest IO-related/IOAPIC/IOMMU-relate tweaks in BIOS of you motherboard.
sometimes weird manipulations like playing with PCI latency, turning ACPI off[for 32-bit OS'es Only], MSI's, C1e, C&Q, TurboBoost and other "eye candy" things.
and/or upgrade/rollback/mod[its modular and highly customizable] firmware/BIOS itself.
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
September 24, 2011, 04:51:49 AM
 #5

in your motherbord bios, turn the audio device to enabled/on. If you leave it on auto the "sound card" on the video card will make the automatic one on the motherboard turn off.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!