Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2018, 11:20:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A friend and I need a hand (Radeon 4xxx OpenCL woes)  (Read 3312 times)
TurnThePhage
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 08:57:37 PM
 #1

Hi, all. I was originally hoping to post this in http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=3878.0 but the newbie restriction is in place so I'm hoping I'll still get some help if I post it here.

My friend and I are both attempting to start mining via the GUI miner linked, but we can only use our CPU's--neither his Radeon 4850 nor my Radeon 4870 appear on the miner's drop-down list for OpenCL-compatible devices.

I've been doing some research this morning on OpenCL and ATI cards; apparently, the Radeon 4xxx series only has "beta-level" support for OpenCL, according to this list of compatible systems, etc. I'd think that beta-level support would be sufficient to mine, but I've downloaded and installed the 64-bit Windows 7 AMD APP (AKA ATI Stream) multiple times, to no avail--the mining application still fails to recognize the 4870, as does this GPU Caps viewer someone recommended in an old post I found.

Bitcoins in general seem like a fun prospect and, hopefully, a lucrative one, but I think I've exhausted all of my options. So, wise bitcoin sages: Are my friend and I SOL? Or are we still missing some vital driver or program?

Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give.
1527290445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527290445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527290445
Reply with quote  #2

1527290445
Report to moderator
1527290445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527290445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527290445
Reply with quote  #2

1527290445
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527290445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527290445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527290445
Reply with quote  #2

1527290445
Report to moderator
1527290445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527290445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527290445
Reply with quote  #2

1527290445
Report to moderator
Agozyen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 251


Until the end


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 01:04:50 AM
 #2

I use a 4870 X2 and when I first installed Bitcoin and GUIMiner it recognized my card right off.  Then I started tinkering with things.  I downloaded ATI Stream 2.2 and that borked things up.  The thing is I don't ever remember installing Stream to begin with, separately that is.  It may have installed along with Catalyst or something.  Anyway, after GUIMiner stopped recognizing my hardware I had to uninstall everything related to ATI and reinstall.  So, get the latest drivers, uninstall your current CCC and Stream, resinstall CCC with latest drivers and see if that works.




                          ▄▄███████████████████▄▄
                      ██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████
                  ██████                          ██████
               █████                                  █████
             █████                                      █████
           ████                                            ████
         ████                                                ████
       ████                                                    ████
      ████                                                      ████
     ████                                                        ████
    ████                                                          ████
   ████            ███████████████     ███████████████             ████
  ████             ▀ █████████████▌   ▄▀ █████████████▌             ████
 ▐███             ▄▄ ▐█████████████  ███ ▐█████████████              ███▌
 ████            ▐██▌ █████████████▌ ███▌ █████████████▌             ████
 ███             ████ ▐█████████████ ▐███ ▐█████████████              ███
▐███            ▐████▌ █████████████▌ ███▌ █████████████▌             ███▌
▐███            ██████ ▐█████████████ ▐███ ▐█████████████             ███▌
▐███           ▐██████▌ █████████████▌ ███▌ █████████████▌            ███▌
▐███           ████████ ▐█████████████ ▐███ ▐█████████████            ███▌
▐███          ▐████████▌ █████████████▌ ███▌ █████████████▌           ███▌
▐███          ██████████ ▐█████████████ ▐███ ▐█████████████           ███▌
▐███         ▐██████████▌ █████████████▌ ███▌ █████████████▌          ███▌
▐███         ████████████ ▐█████████████ ▐███ ▐█████████████          ███▌
 ███        ▐████████████  █████████████▌ ███  █████████████▌         ███
 ████       █████████████  ▐█████████████ ▐██▌ ▐█████████████        ████
 ▐███      ▐█████████████   █████████████▌ ██   █████████████▌       ███▌
  ████     █████████████▌   ▐█████████████      ▐█████████████      ████
   ████    █████████████     █████████████▌      █████████████▌    ████
    ████                                                          ████
     ████                                                        ████
      ████                                                      ████
       ████                                                   █████
         ████                                                ████
           ████                                            ████
             █████                                      █████
               █████                                  █████
                  ██████                          ██████
                      ██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████
                          ▀▀███████████████████▀▀
 
Monaize
|
 
|
 
 



 
OCedHrt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 01:34:56 AM
 #3

For best chances, you should use the ATI uninstaller and remove all the old versions first and then reinstall the newest Catalyst pack. This includes OpenCL. Be warned though after I installed 11-6, worksizes < 256 no longer work.

ALL.ME  ●●●  SOCIAL NETWORK OF THE BLOCKCHAIN TIME ●●●
▄▄▄▬▬▄▄▄  Bounty all.me ▶ Jan 29th - May 8th 2018  ▄▄▄▬▬▄▄▄
Facebook   ▲   Twitter   ▲   Telegram
TurnThePhage
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 02:52:14 AM
 #4

Reinstalling my driver to 11.6 worked like a charm; the miner now recognizes "ATI RV770" so I think I'm good.

EDIT: Okay, new problem. I ran the miner with -w128 as the only flag; it then used all of my GPU until it got to 118 C and crashed my computer. Now, every time I attempt to start mining, poclbm.exe crashes.

No pain, no gain, I suppose.
OCedHrt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 07:46:25 AM
 #5

Reinstalling my driver to 11.6 worked like a charm; the miner now recognizes "ATI RV770" so I think I'm good.

EDIT: Okay, new problem. I ran the miner with -w128 as the only flag; it then used all of my GPU until it got to 118 C and crashed my computer. Now, every time I attempt to start mining, poclbm.exe crashes.

No pain, no gain, I suppose.

Use worksize 256. I think it's a problem with 11-6 catalyst. Anything less than 256 and each miner only works once without vectors and once with vectors.

ALL.ME  ●●●  SOCIAL NETWORK OF THE BLOCKCHAIN TIME ●●●
▄▄▄▬▬▄▄▄  Bounty all.me ▶ Jan 29th - May 8th 2018  ▄▄▄▬▬▄▄▄
Facebook   ▲   Twitter   ▲   Telegram
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!