Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:29:20 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Increasing GPU voltage in Ubuntu  (Read 2645 times)
ananas5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 03:44:35 AM
 #1

How can I increase GPU voltage in Ubuntu?I know AMDOverclockCtrl can do it but it can't go above the stock limits. My GPU is HD6850. I tried to modify the GPU bios with RBE (on Windows) and even the slightest change caused the speed drop from 250Mhashes/s to 25Mhashes/s, no matter what I did, even if I just changed core clocks. Also AMDOverclockCtrl didn't regonize core/memory clocks or voltage anymore and Aticonfig overclock stopped working. Then I flashed back the unedited/original bios and everything worked like before. Any tips?

If you liked my post, you are free to donate: 17edqFhWUTMthCoLxXNzAxnes8roNLUcik
Thank you.
1480897760
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480897760

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480897760
Reply with quote  #2

1480897760
Report to moderator
1480897760
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480897760

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480897760
Reply with quote  #2

1480897760
Report to moderator
1480897760
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480897760

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480897760
Reply with quote  #2

1480897760
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ananas5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 03:08:44 PM
 #2

bump.. So is it true that it's impossible to overvolt  GPU over the stocks limits in Ubuntu?

If you liked my post, you are free to donate: 17edqFhWUTMthCoLxXNzAxnes8roNLUcik
Thank you.
ananas5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 02:47:07 AM
 #3

Anyone?

If you liked my post, you are free to donate: 17edqFhWUTMthCoLxXNzAxnes8roNLUcik
Thank you.
ANSYSiC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:03:36 AM
 #4

delete
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 04:07:26 AM
 #5

someone made a ati overvolt utility in linux on the forums here just search for it, however it has really limited support like only certain voltage regulators on the 5800 series work with it. Other than that you have to flash the bios of the card to up the voltage.
syb3ria
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


'buntusiast


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 08:56:37 AM
 #6

Use the latest CCC. It should let you go beyond the limits Smiley
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 06:58:26 PM
 #7

Try PyADL. It can be a bit trick to get working but so far I have successfully used it to set core and fan speed and it says it changing the voltage.


http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=8451.0

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!