Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 04:12:30 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 »
  Print  
Author Topic: 1080Ti Specific - Best mining option  (Read 219994 times)
saul.goodman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 03:17:13 PM
 #2161

sniffdog, 3.8/card last day,not happy.
How do you get $5/card?

sniffdog, 3.1 per card last day, just 18 hours worked, cause some night troubles.
Not $5/card, but at least better than zec.
Can you possibly share your settings please?
Is that on zpool, MPH or Hashrefinery by the way?
I'd like to get Sniffdawwgg to work on my rig of 1080's. Wasn't able to find where the intensities where hidden in the powershell scripts but maybe folks here can shed some light on that.

I think my settings will be useless for you.. I just added my account on MPH to default settings, delete couple algos(I've been crashed on them  Huh), and set interval to 300 after benchmarking. That's all.
I use all available pools, ahashpool and your list.

By the way, I tried to find intensities too, but not success on it... I think my cards crash on some algos, cause intensity is too high for them.
Just edit the ps1 files in miners folder

ALTCOM: AR27izVynzfFKtV13NRrHc1VVEKU5Ws2wp
1508213550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508213550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508213550
Reply with quote  #2

1508213550
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508213550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508213550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508213550
Reply with quote  #2

1508213550
Report to moderator
1508213550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508213550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508213550
Reply with quote  #2

1508213550
Report to moderator
grchina
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
September 20, 2017, 03:53:50 PM
 #2162

How are your cards taking all that algo switching?

naresh963
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 06:21:48 PM
 #2163

No crashing of driver and sniffdog. every thing running smoothly. i just switched the power state of gpus to P0.
JWT
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 06:28:38 PM
 #2164

How?
naresh963
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 06:43:21 PM
 #2165

Normally when a miner starts, gpu boost 3.0 boosts the core clock to 2025-2075mhz and when miner quits it comes down to original state, but while cooldown the gpu gets boosted even more for a split second causing the nvidia driver to crash. the problem here is that when start or quit, there is not enough power ( i mean software/driver limit). All gpu follow a base profile ( _GLOBAL_DRIVER_PROFILE (Base Profile) ) here there is a key that states ' CUDA - Force P2 State' its ON by default. you just need to change the state to OFF.

You can check the power state by command-line to get current state
Code:
nvidia-smi -q -d PERFORMANCE
joshuajones02
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 07:37:35 PM
 #2166

ran out of ideas, installing windows 10 now... will report back results


Issue recap -
4 1080ti GPU's run great/fine on windows 7

Installed 5th, wouldnt work, code 12 error. Changed bios settings shown above and they all showed up and will run, but will run like complete shit. Power % shown all over the place, and some cards capping out at 200 or 400 sol/s when running Equihash or 20-30mh/s with skunk..

Now attempting to install windows 10 pro x64 and ensuring nvidia drivers are up to date



Edit: Windows 10 install did not help at all..
Ran each card individually, with their own riser and cords and they worked on par with the 680-710 sol/s, but the moment I go from 4 to 5 it runs worse than if I had 3

Edit: Now I can't get 4 cards running, 2 on each PSU... originally had 4 on 1 PSU.. feel like selling alll this crap now lol

In my experience that could be motherboard. Some times the same motherboard need different settings.

You need to play with dmi-pci settings in bios. Try this:

1) dmi speed gen 1, pci speed auto
2) dmi speed gen 1, pci speed gen 1

also some mother boards got 2 different setting for pci slot. Play with this settings also.


Where would dmi speed fall under? Only see Peg0 and Peg1 speed

| World Fintech Startups | Microsoft Azure Partner | $1,5 M Raised During pre-ICO |
     BANKEX - Proof-of-Asset Protocol     
| WHITE PAPER | BLOGSLACKTELEGRAMBITCOINTALKGITHUBTWITTERYOUTUBEFACEBOOK |☰
JWT
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 09:24:20 PM
 #2167

Normally when a miner starts, gpu boost 3.0 boosts the core clock to 2025-2075mhz and when miner quits it comes down to original state, but while cooldown the gpu gets boosted even more for a split second causing the nvidia driver to crash. the problem here is that when start or quit, there is not enough power ( i mean software/driver limit). All gpu follow a base profile ( _GLOBAL_DRIVER_PROFILE (Base Profile) ) here there is a key that states ' CUDA - Force P2 State' its ON by default. you just need to change the state to OFF.

You can check the power state by command-line to get current state
Code:
nvidia-smi -q -d PERFORMANCE

It's P2 for all cards.
How do I set P0?
Couldn't find GLOBAL_DRIVER_PROFILE field in register.
naresh963
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 11:02:48 PM
 #2168

just google 'nvidia profile inspector'. download and run it.
joshuajones02
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 05:37:23 AM
 #2169

@VoskCoin , looks like you are having the same issue I was.. after hours of troubleshooting it looks like its my motherboard.. two of the PCIe x1 slots are causing issues when they are plugged in to the entire board, but if I avoid those 2 pci e slots (the 2 between the main pci e x16) it works perfect but I cant run all 5 cards. going to call MSI tomorrow

https://imgur.com/a/EGCVE <- the 2 empty pci e x1 slots are the ones causing the issues.. if any GPU is plugged into them it causes all of the GPUs to run like crap and crash.

| World Fintech Startups | Microsoft Azure Partner | $1,5 M Raised During pre-ICO |
     BANKEX - Proof-of-Asset Protocol     
| WHITE PAPER | BLOGSLACKTELEGRAMBITCOINTALKGITHUBTWITTERYOUTUBEFACEBOOK |☰
papi92
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 06:34:36 AM
 #2170

Did you try to update BIOS?

BTC: 16AqeaykkdPcRQVFJKpLyic2Di3eoY8Y1U
CjMapope
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
September 21, 2017, 06:39:31 AM
 #2171

@VoskCoin , looks like you are having the same issue I was.. after hours of troubleshooting it looks like its my motherboard.. two of the PCIe x1 slots are causing issues when they are plugged in to the entire board, but if I avoid those 2 pci e slots (the 2 between the main pci e x16) it works perfect but I cant run all 5 cards. going to call MSI tomorrow

https://imgur.com/a/EGCVE <- the 2 empty pci e x1 slots are the ones causing the issues.. if any GPU is plugged into them it causes all of the GPUs to run like crap and crash.


are you getting systems inturrupts/high cpu usage? check risers and make sure your set to "gen1" in bios. i had similar troubles once on a x51070 rig, turns out gen1 in bios fixed everything, funny how it goes, good luck man! Smiley
I had changed out every part to looking for the trouble but it was softwear not hardwear in the end ;p

joshuajones02
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 06:56:42 AM
 #2172

@VoskCoin , looks like you are having the same issue I was.. after hours of troubleshooting it looks like its my motherboard.. two of the PCIe x1 slots are causing issues when they are plugged in to the entire board, but if I avoid those 2 pci e slots (the 2 between the main pci e x16) it works perfect but I cant run all 5 cards. going to call MSI tomorrow

https://imgur.com/a/EGCVE <- the 2 empty pci e x1 slots are the ones causing the issues.. if any GPU is plugged into them it causes all of the GPUs to run like crap and crash.


are you getting systems inturrupts/high cpu usage? check risers and make sure your set to "gen1" in bios. i had similar troubles once on a x51070 rig, turns out gen1 in bios fixed everything, funny how it goes, good luck man! Smiley
I had changed out every part to looking for the trouble but it was softwear not hardwear in the end ;p

yes, that is exactly what was happening (only when a GPU is plugged into those PCIe 1x slots shown in image) . Risers are fine, all the GPUs are working great in their current slots.

Its after 3 am here.. I'll mess around with the PEG0 & PEG1 settings tomorrow

| World Fintech Startups | Microsoft Azure Partner | $1,5 M Raised During pre-ICO |
     BANKEX - Proof-of-Asset Protocol     
| WHITE PAPER | BLOGSLACKTELEGRAMBITCOINTALKGITHUBTWITTERYOUTUBEFACEBOOK |☰
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 08:38:21 AM
 #2173

@VoskCoin , looks like you are having the same issue I was.. after hours of troubleshooting it looks like its my motherboard.. two of the PCIe x1 slots are causing issues when they are plugged in to the entire board, but if I avoid those 2 pci e slots (the 2 between the main pci e x16) it works perfect but I cant run all 5 cards. going to call MSI tomorrow

https://imgur.com/a/EGCVE <- the 2 empty pci e x1 slots are the ones causing the issues.. if any GPU is plugged into them it causes all of the GPUs to run like crap and crash.

 Are you running a PVMe type SSD on that motherboard?
 Also, a lot of boards disable or reduce lanes to some *physical* x16 slots if you use one or more of the x1 slots on them.

DDL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 09:26:02 AM
 #2174

How are your cards taking all that algo switching?

why they shouldn't?

bdiddle
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 11:21:34 AM
 #2175

For those of you who are not multi algo mining, what are you finding most profitable?
DDL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 11:39:22 AM
 #2176

zec or sig, i think.

dragonmike
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Genesis Vision - ICO is live!


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 11:55:52 AM
 #2177

Where/How do I run nvidia-smi? In on Windows 10 btw. Couldn't find that file anywhere.
Doesn't work from the Windows command line...

DDL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 12:00:49 PM
 #2178

Where/How do I run nvidia-smi? In on Windows 10 btw. Couldn't find that file anywhere.
Doesn't work from the Windows command line...

Firstly you should cd in your command line to a nvidia folder (for default it's like C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVSMI), and there run the code naresh963 wrote.

KaydenC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


Developer of EscrowMyEther dApp


View Profile WWW
September 21, 2017, 12:04:51 PM
 #2179

For those of you who are not multi algo mining, what are you finding most profitable?

SIGT right now. There are a ton of algos 10-20% less profitable than SIGT, like zec and skein.

Check out EscrowMyEther, a secure and convenient platform to transact in Eth with escrow protection. http://escrowmyether.com/
Open source and built on Ethereum Smart Contracts.
dragonmike
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Genesis Vision - ICO is live!


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 12:18:20 PM
 #2180

Where/How do I run nvidia-smi? In on Windows 10 btw. Couldn't find that file anywhere.
Doesn't work from the Windows command line...

Firstly you should cd in your command line to a nvidia folder (for default it's like C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVSMI), and there run the code naresh963 wrote.
Right.
So all my cards are in P2 state... DESPITE me having a nvidiainspector script running every few minutes automatically specifying
-forcepstate:0,0
-forcepstate:1,0
-forcepstate:2,0
-forcepstate:3,0
-forcepstate:4,0
...at the end of each line for my 1080's.

Any suggestions?

Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!