Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 03:38:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Core client connection  (Read 261 times)
churst1z
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 02:03:26 PM
 #1

I downloaded the entire Bitcore block data - 124 Gb.  I am now able to see my transactions in Armory (which I couldn't before the download).  I moved my Data to a USB drive because of its size.  I used (G:\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe -datadir=g:\BitcoinData) in the Bitcoin target command to recognize the data area, which worked and kept the data off my small operating drive.  When I start Armory, however, I get an error message that it has lost connection with Bitcoin Core client.  When I start Bitcoin Core up it acts as though there is no data and starts re-loading the data (3+ days).  I am unable to send coins from my Armory wallet because the Armory software shuts down.

Thanks for any help.
Even in the event that an attacker gains more than 50% of the network's computational power, only transactions sent by the attacker could be reversed or double-spent. The network would not be destroyed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508773128
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508773128

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508773128
Reply with quote  #2

1508773128
Report to moderator
1508773128
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508773128

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508773128
Reply with quote  #2

1508773128
Report to moderator
forensixguy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 03:48:23 PM
 #2

I don't know if this will apply to you, but I've noticed that after having moved the blockchain data to another drive that my system can't seem to find the folder on the drive. But if I manually search for the blockchain location (using file explorer in your case) and then drill down from the drive level to the folder containing the blockchain, my system seems to "catch up" and recognise that the folder does actually exist. Hope this helps.
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2017, 03:54:21 PM
 #3

You will need to always start Bitcoin Core with the -datadir option in order for it to know where the datadir is. It will not remember the datadir location from a previous run.

You will need to always start Armory with the --satoshi-datadir=<path> option (where <path> is the path to the Bitcoin Core datadir) in order for it to know where the block data is stored so that it can read the blocks and get other information to connect to the Bitcoin Core node.

          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
.
|
.
|
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
unthy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!