Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 09:52:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does the size of PCI express matters on the hashrate of the GPU?  (Read 502 times)
Inicnat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78

cryptocurrency enthusiast


View Profile
May 31, 2017, 11:23:57 PM
 #1

If I use a riser cable to conect my GPUs on the motherboard, the size of the slot will matter? 1X or 16X?

Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511301130
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511301130

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511301130
Reply with quote  #2

1511301130
Report to moderator
1511301130
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511301130

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511301130
Reply with quote  #2

1511301130
Report to moderator
1511301130
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511301130

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511301130
Reply with quote  #2

1511301130
Report to moderator
iamnoobplzhelp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 31, 2017, 11:36:37 PM
 #2

No. You want them all at 1x. That way your CPU has more lanes available for more cards.
Inicnat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78

cryptocurrency enthusiast


View Profile
June 01, 2017, 03:31:16 PM
 #3

No. You want them all at 1x. That way your CPU has more lanes available for more cards.

Why does it have more lanes? Can i plug more riser cable at a same slot?

devkowow
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
June 01, 2017, 03:44:23 PM
 #4

No. You want them all at 1x. That way your CPU has more lanes available for more cards.

Why does it have more lanes? Can i plug more riser cable at a same slot?

No that is not what he meant. He meant that each slot on the mother board is connected to CPU. CPU have limited number of slots you can connect to them.

Basically, answer to your question is NO and extra comment given by him does not really concern you.
iamnoobplzhelp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 01, 2017, 03:58:03 PM
 #5

All CPUs have a limited number of PCIe 'Lanes'
Read more details here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express#Lane

Lets say a CPU can handle up to 28 lanes
If you plug in one graphics cards directly to the motherboard, it takes 16 lanes.
If you plug the graphics card into a 1x riser, then it only takes 1 lane instead of 16.

This means your CPU will have 27 lanes leftover instead of 12.

Other devices use these lanes as well, like M.2 SSD.

Here is another good explanation.
https://superuser.com/questions/843344/what-is-a-pci-express-lane
Inicnat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78

cryptocurrency enthusiast


View Profile
June 02, 2017, 02:11:54 AM
 #6

Thank you all guys!!

Dukebit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 14, 2017, 10:48:02 PM
 #7

HI Guys

please assist if you don't mind, I'm running two gpu's in my machine, but for some reason the hashrate of the gpu in the second PCIe16 slot is very low?

if tried switching the gpu's but the outcome is the same the gpu in the second PCIe slot performs very poorly.

The well performing gpu run in PCIe x 16 3.0@16 2.0 while the under performer is running in PCIe x 16 3.0@ 4( instead of 16) 1.1.

what must I do to get the hashrate up ( the underperforming gpu currently doing a quarter of what is actually can).

hope some will be able to help.

thank you
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!