Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2017, 08:16:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2x Radeon 6970s (guiminer settings)  (Read 6253 times)
erek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 05:34:57 PM
 #1

what do you guys recommend for mining with 2x Radeon hd 6970s?

is guiminer the best client, and also should i configure them to be in crossfirex or independently? also what about the 'extra flags' such as -v settings? any thoughts are welcomed for properly tuning this situation... thanks

 *Image Removed*
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1492935417
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1492935417

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1492935417
Reply with quote  #2

1492935417
Report to moderator
1492935417
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1492935417

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1492935417
Reply with quote  #2

1492935417
Report to moderator
1492935417
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1492935417

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1492935417
Reply with quote  #2

1492935417
Report to moderator
Madehimself
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 09:42:41 PM
 #2

bump
labsbitforum
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 09:19:04 PM
 #3

I'd be curious what 6970 users have found too
Oldminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
June 25, 2011, 09:28:54 PM
 #4

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

If you like my post please feel free to give me some positive rep https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=trust;u=18639
Tip me BTC: 1FBmoYijXVizfYk25CpiN8Eds9J6YiRDaX
smoothie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


LEALANA Monero Physical Silver Coins


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 09:30:14 PM
 #5

Anyone know how to unlock shaders of 6950s to get the same settings that of a 6970?

I've tried several online tutorials to no avail.

Thanks in advance!

███████████████████████████████████████

            ,╓p@@███████@╗╖,           
        ,p████████████████████N,       
      d█████████████████████████b     
    d██████████████████████████████æ   
  ,████²█████████████████████████████, 
 ,█████  ╙████████████████████╨  █████y
 ██████    `████████████████`    ██████
║██████       Ñ███████████`      ███████
███████         ╩██████Ñ         ███████
███████    ▐▄     ²██╩     a▌    ███████
╢██████    ▐▓█▄          ▄█▓▌    ███████
 ██████    ▐▓▓▓▓▌,     ▄█▓▓▓▌    ██████─
           ▐▓▓▓▓▓▓█,,▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▌          
           ▐▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▌          
    ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓─  
     ²▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╩    
        ▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀       
           ²▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▀`          
                   ²²²                 
███████████████████████████████████████

. ★☆ WWW.LEALANA.COM        My PGP fingerprint is A764D833.        SMOOTHIE'S HEALTH AND FITNESS JOURNAL          History of Monero development Visualization ★☆ .
LEALANA  PHYSICAL MONERO COINS 999 FINE SILVER.
 
labsbitforum
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 09:40:42 PM
 #6

@oldminer.  Thanks saw the notes on what settings were used for what is posted.  My 6970 MSI lightning clocked at 940 yeilds 360 Mhash/s with no parameters in GUIMiner.  If I add the -v -w128 switches that many said they used Mhash/s drops to 312 Mhash/s.  Am I missign something obvious?  Any ideas why my numbers go from bad to worse using the recomended parameters?
labsbitforum
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 11:44:38 PM
 #7

I got the Mhash/s up to 400 on my single 6970 (MSI lightning).  I was getting 360 Mhash/s without any parameters.  When I added -v -w128 switches to GUIMiner it dropped to 312 Mhash/s.  I use ATI CCC to raise the core voltage by 10%.  Right away it shot up to 400.  I was using MSI Afterburner utility to adjust it but did not see any change.  Posting in case it helps someone else.

Windows 7 64b
Catalysts 11.6
AMD APP SDK 2.4
GUIMiner/poclbm
-v -w128
+10% "power control" in ATI CCC

MSI Lightning 6970 (940MHz default)
Memory downclocked to 685MHz (I dont see any change from this but others said it was a best practice)
shata
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 11:49:17 PM
 #8

I got the Mhash/s up to 400 on my single 6970 (MSI lightning).  I was getting 360 Mhash/s without any parameters.  When I added -v -w128 switches to GUIMiner it dropped to 312 Mhash/s.  I use ATI CCC to raise the core voltage by 10%.  Right away it shot up to 400.  I was using MSI Afterburner utility to adjust it but did not see any change.  Posting in case it helps someone else.

Windows 7 64b
Catalysts 11.6
AMD APP SDK 2.4
GUIMiner/poclbm
-v -w128
+10% "power control" in ATI CCC

MSI Lightning 6970 (940MHz default)
Memory downclocked to 685MHz (I dont see any change from this but others said it was a best practice)

XFX 6970 2gb
935///1375
65% Fan

354mhash/s  I was not able to find flags that helped it at all.

1MwcmqQUBq3yRJU4BcieiQiViw4vFTrKjQ
labsbitforum
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 11:57:58 PM
 #9

Nothing help me until I went in to ATI Catalyst Control Center --> Performance --> AMD Overdrive unlocked clicking on the lock and set "Power Control settings" to 10%.

Have you tried that? 

I used the -v -w128 parameters used by many who posted 400+ Mhash/s on the wiki.
shata
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 11:59:02 PM
 #10

I got the Mhash/s up to 400 on my single 6970 (MSI lightning).  I was getting 360 Mhash/s without any parameters.  When I added -v -w128 switches to GUIMiner it dropped to 312 Mhash/s.  I use ATI CCC to raise the core voltage by 10%.  Right away it shot up to 400.  I was using MSI Afterburner utility to adjust it but did not see any change.  Posting in case it helps someone else.

Windows 7 64b
Catalysts 11.6
AMD APP SDK 2.4
GUIMiner/poclbm
-v -w128
+10% "power control" in ATI CCC

MSI Lightning 6970 (940MHz default)
Memory downclocked to 685MHz (I dont see any change from this but others said it was a best practice)

Actually he is right, I really dont like over volting but Im like f it I could use 40 more mhash. Increase it to 10% clock it 950//685  100% fan with flags -v -w128 and you will pull about 403mhash/s

1MwcmqQUBq3yRJU4BcieiQiViw4vFTrKjQ
shata
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 12:00:12 AM
 #11

Nothing help me until I went in to ATI Catalyst Control Center --> Performance --> AMD Overdrive unlocked clicking on the lock and set "Power Control settings" to 10%.

Have you tried that? 

I used the -v -w128 parameters used by many who posted 400+ Mhash/s on the wiki.

haha ya I noticed also just now, thx for telling me though. Its wierd cause my 5770 tweaked fine with msi afterburner but my 6970 never did.

1MwcmqQUBq3yRJU4BcieiQiViw4vFTrKjQ
Oldminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 12:05:41 AM
 #12

@oldminer.  Thanks saw the notes on what settings were used for what is posted.  My 6970 MSI lightning clocked at 940 yeilds 360 Mhash/s with no parameters in GUIMiner.  If I add the -v -w128 switches that many said they used Mhash/s drops to 312 Mhash/s.  Am I missign something obvious?  Any ideas why my numbers go from bad to worse using the recomended parameters?

Try -v -W64 or -v -W256

If you like my post please feel free to give me some positive rep https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=trust;u=18639
Tip me BTC: 1FBmoYijXVizfYk25CpiN8Eds9J6YiRDaX
labsbitforum
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 12:08:37 AM
 #13

I did not have to crank the fan up to 100% on the MSI lighnting.  pretty good cooling on the card.  I'm at 69 degress with 59% fan so its pretty quiet and cool.
Dimsum
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 01:23:16 AM
 #14

Memory downclocked to 685MHz (I dont see any change from this but others said it was a best practice)

Downclocking the memory is to keep the temp down. It has no effect on the number of Mhash/s you will get but may shave of a few degrees on the temp and hey, who doesn't want a lower temp on the GPU right?!
hitndahedfred
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
June 17, 2013, 03:17:02 PM
 #15

I am currently getting almost 500kH from one.

I am setting up another in the same box today. They are "identical" but we all know how that works right?

Anyway my config for ONE is as follows

--intensity 14 --gpu-threads 1 --shaders 1564 --worksize 256 --gpu-engine 900 --thread-concurrency 8128 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-memclock 1550 -D

Win 7 Ultimate X64,,,,SDK 2.7,,,13.1 drivers.

Hit
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!