Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2019, 11:20:02 AM *
News: Help collect the most notable posts made over the last 10 years.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Very cheap hosting and support for mining in Iceland, opinions?  (Read 3126 times)
ThorinIceland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 11:46:06 AM
 #1

I have a unique opportunity to offer a service helping miners from around the world host and support their mining operation.

The data center I work for is a very cheap option for those wanting to co-locate their mining rigs, and I would be then available for tech support for those who run into issues with their miners.

I would take a small fee to be on call, the DC would hold the contract with you of course (large Icelandic IT company) and this would be from my early research a very low cost option for serious miners.

Does anyone have any tips or advice, and questions on this idea?

1574076002
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574076002

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574076002
Reply with quote  #2

1574076002
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1002


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 11:49:13 AM
 #2

Does this datacenter also have a web presence that we could check out?

https://www.coinlend.org <-- automated lending at various exchanges.
https://www.bitfinex.com <-- Trade BTC for other currencies and vice versa.
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
ThorinIceland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 11:51:06 AM
 #3

http://www.advania.com/datacentres/
ThorinIceland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 12:03:34 PM
 #4

Will be based on rack space requirements, I am going down today to get exact measurements and figure out the typical BFL and avalon space requirements. 1 rack space costs 53 eu with all power costs included, and 2 rack space costs 85 eu.

The question will be how much can we fit depending on your setup in one rack or two, the key being no extra costs for heavy power usage, which if you fill lots of avalon or BFLs in the rack space could be very very cheap in the scheme of things.
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1110
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 12:14:23 PM
Last edit: May 04, 2013, 12:35:13 PM by SolarSilver
 #5

Will be based on rack space requirements, I am going down today to get exact measurements and figure out the typical BFL and avalon space requirements. 1 rack space costs 53 eu with all power costs included, and 2 rack space costs 85 eu.

Hey,

a 4 slot Avalon is about 17 cm high, it's 39.5 cm wide and 45 cm deep

It consumes 650 watts of power (max). Data traffic is negligible

Can you specify what you mean by 1 rack space, 1 U of rack space or one full 42 U rack? And that a cost per day or per month?

I guessed from the website:

Quote
Colocation package - 2U
2U in 3 T enviroment, Power included

Physical Ethernet port 1 Gb RJ45

/29 5 IP addresses

2TB of internet traffic included

Physical Ethernet port 1 Gb RJ45

Ethernet management port for servers
Order Now
Price: 85 EUR per month

You can stack officially 6 units of Avalon on top of each other but I guess if they are within a rack, you could
stack 11 units high without any tables or mounts.

A typical setup would be 10 units + a firewall running p2pool and a switch, the firewall and switch would fit into
the top 1 U

Estimates?
ThorinIceland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 12:26:30 PM
 #6

Just talking to our hosting guy on lync, I'm going down soon to the DC to get some better measurements. I'll let you know what he says.
ThorinIceland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 01:58:31 PM
Last edit: May 04, 2013, 02:18:05 PM by ThorinIceland
 #7

Here's the height per rack, I measured the depth to be 70cm as well as 50 cm wide for these racks.

http://i.imgur.com/vNtSYh5l.jpg

Ok so lets say if your talking 10 Avalons, roughly 170 CM high, plus 1u additional,  maybe a roundup to 5cm per space x 10 avalons 35-37 racks. Oh and yes the prices on the website are per month, I will ask our hosting sales guy what he would offer for a 10 stack of avalons, will let you know when I hear back.

Edit: Hmm looking closer again, 4.5cm per rack seems to be what we should be going by..
ThorinIceland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 02:10:29 PM
Last edit: May 04, 2013, 02:21:31 PM by ThorinIceland
 #8

42 is the whole full rack, so the most you would pay for 10 would be this, but likely you would then want to just add 2 more avalons to use up the space.

Colocation package - Full rack up to 7 KW

Rack in 3 T enviroment, full rack, up to 7 KW
4KW power included

Physical Ethernet port 1 Gb RJ45

/29 5 IP addresses

2TB of internet traffic included

Physical Ethernet port 1 Gb RJ45

Ethernet management port for servers 1

1 hour remote hands included per month

Price: 990 EUR per month
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1110
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:05:06 PM
Last edit: May 04, 2013, 10:40:45 PM by SolarSilver
 #9

Edit: Hmm looking closer again, 4.5cm per rack seems to be what we should be going by..

I don't know how long you have been working in IT, but 1 U is 1.75 inch, thus 4.445 cm
(cm, not mm, thank you for pointing that out malevolent)

No need to measure that ;-)
ThorinIceland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:07:54 PM
 #10

Haha yeah never been involved in hardware side, I actually currently work only with our IBM mainframe.
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1110
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:10:56 PM
 #11

Rack in 3 T enviroment, full rack, up to 7 KW
4KW power included

it all depends on how expensive it is to go from 4 kW to the needed > 7 kW

11 units @ 650 Watts= 7150 Watts

Perhaps the EUR 1390 option for a full 42U rack with 8 kW included would be cheaper
cedivad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:15:57 PM
 #12

4kW @ 1000? Its not cheap. At least, not as cheap as you would expect with almost free energy.
I was quoted 1200€/42u/11kW @ Thor data center, and I declined cause its not cheap...

Also, you had to go to the datacenter to measure the rack? Seriously?

My anger against what is wrong in the Bitcoin community is productive:
Bitcointa.lk - Replace "Bitcointalk.org" with "Bitcointa.lk" in this url to see how this page looks like on a proper forum (Announcement Thread)
Hashfast.org - Wiki for screwed customers
ThorinIceland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:18:32 PM
 #13

This is Thor DC, we bought them over (advania did) last year.

cedivad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:22:11 PM
 #14

This is Thor DC, we bought them over (advania did) last year.



Well, ask for a better price.

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1229324


Quote
Full Rack colo specials
Full 42U Rack
8kW Redundant Power
Only €1100 per month – and yes, that says €1100 for an 8kW rack including all power charges!!!!!!

My anger against what is wrong in the Bitcoin community is productive:
Bitcointa.lk - Replace "Bitcointalk.org" with "Bitcointa.lk" in this url to see how this page looks like on a proper forum (Announcement Thread)
Hashfast.org - Wiki for screwed customers
ThorinIceland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:25:14 PM
 #15

Oh snap, thanks for posting that!

ThorinIceland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 05, 2013, 03:34:14 PM
 #16

Well after a lot of very helpful and interesting private messages I think the direction I want to go is to setup a small colocation for people looking for low cost kWh within a secure location.

Gives me a lot to research and do for the next while, I will certainly post when I have something serious to offer if its worth doing.
papamoi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 01:18:12 PM
 #17

hi guys

i could be interested also

do you have an idea of what customs tax we ll have to pay if the company is outside eu and want it to have the miners hosted with you?

thanks
raidersan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2015, 05:24:18 PM
 #18

Has any better options been discovered since?
With a limit of <10kW, you won't fit many modern miners in that rack. A Spondoolies SP31 uses 3000Wh, and at a size of 2U, you could fit 21 of them, but you would need 63kW for that rack. I am still looking....
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!