Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 07:10:46 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux Driver for Blockchain Compute 17.30.1029  (Read 14739 times)
fenixlz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 04:11:45 PM
 #61

AMDGPU-PRO Beta Mining Driver 17.40 is released.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2285186.0
Very interesting, did anyone try it? The main question is - does it allow downvolt cards?

Русскоязычный Bitcoin-чат в Telegram | Обсуждаем трейдинг, биржи, новости. Рады всем Wink
1513105846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513105846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513105846
Reply with quote  #2

1513105846
Report to moderator
1513105846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513105846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513105846
Reply with quote  #2

1513105846
Report to moderator
1513105846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513105846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513105846
Reply with quote  #2

1513105846
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


View Profile
October 31, 2017, 01:16:23 AM
 #62

amdgpu-pro 17.40 is a disaster, at least on my 16.04.3 machine.

will probably have to reinstall the system.

In short:
uninstalled prior driver
installed 17.40 driver
modified grub as indicated
Used AMD commands (described in their file) to install Rocm stuff:
Code:
sudo apt install -y rocm-amdgpu-pro
used AMD commands to make all users use it (also there)
Code:
echo 'setenv LLVM_BIN /opt/amdgpu-pro/bin' | sudo tee /etc/profile.d/amdgpu-pro.csh

perhaps, the last two were a mistake (I have no idea), but they don't provide any info on whether to use those two or not, so i decided to use them.

Now the darned thing is at a prompt with blinking cursor and when I try ctrl/alt/f2, it says that it is a low graphic mode.

Disaster.

EDIT: it's the messed up driver (at least for my mobo-processor combo), now I am certain as I uninstalled the driver and Ubuntu boots just fine on rocm kernel. Final test-will remove non-Vega GPU, maybe this is what matters for some reason. Probably tomorrow.
ngdias
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 07:35:50 PM
 #63

I tested the drivers in Ubuntu 16.04.3, from http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMDGPU-Pro-Beta-Mining-Driver-for-Linux-Release-Notes.aspx
The test GPU was a Radeon R9 Fury X, which is listed as compatible.

At first the drivers were breaking boot (tried 2 versions in different AMD support pages), there was no GUI. To uninstall, you can press Ctrl+Alt+F1, login with your credentials and run
Code:
amdgpu-pro-uninstall
.

Then I started googling and found https://askubuntu.com/questions/880523/cant-login-after-installing-amdgpu-pro-16-60 other people that were able to get the drivers working by using one of the options of the install script, either
Code:
./amdgpu-pro-install --px
or
Code:
./amdgpu-pro-install --compute

Everything else was working as per the official AMD support pages.
CoinTradeProfit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
November 07, 2017, 12:59:42 AM
 #64

AMDGPU-PRO Beta Mining Driver 17.40 is released.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2285186.0

Is it possible to get this working on a downgraded laptop with Ubuntu 14.04? I have a very limited install just for Mining. I don't care if I won't get much out of it, i just want to see what I am able to accomplish with it. Specifically for xmr-stak-amd or xmr-stak-cpu miner... Any help would be appreciated guys  thank you
higi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 02:56:44 AM
 #65

Great let me know!

yup.  It seems like the card is hashing ~0.5 lower on Linux.  My RX570 Gaming X does 29.1 on Win10.  Same is doing ~28.7 in Linux.  Must be the drivers.

same here Sad

tested on AMDGPU-PRO Beta Mining Driver 17.40

anyone got it working? (+0.5mhs)
ronnylov
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 08:43:33 AM
 #66

AMDGPU-PRO Beta Mining Driver 17.40 is released.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2285186.0

Is it possible to get this working on a downgraded laptop with Ubuntu 14.04? I have a very limited install just for Mining. I don't care if I won't get much out of it, i just want to see what I am able to accomplish with it. Specifically for xmr-stak-amd or xmr-stak-cpu miner... Any help would be appreciated guys  thank you

No ubuntu 14.04 is not supported by the driver.

hozerdev
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
November 12, 2017, 04:35:49 PM
 #67

amdgpu-pro 17.40 is a disaster, at least on my 16.04.3 machine.

Hi, I've got 9x MSI Armor RX580 8G recently. The cards by itself not really great maybe because of Hynix memory.
I was able to tune them from 21Mhs ETH stock (single mode) to 29.5/930 ETH/Dcr (dual-mode) under Win10, 110/75W GpuChip/GpuCore, 1500W from the wall for 8x cards and 1200W in single mode. The problem with Win10 and Blockchain driver I can't really change the core voltage, whatever I set in bios, the driver sets it to 931, and most importantly Win10 doesn't boot with 9th card.

Anyways, I gave a try to Ubuntu 16.04.2 TLS and the latest AMDGPU-PRO Driver for Linux 17.40 and setup everything as per their manual.
a) It boots with 7xGPUs but with 8x I get 'the system is running in low-graphics mode' and nothing really helps.
b) It gives 23Mhs ETH for a single mode and draws 110/130W, around 250W per GPU, which is really bad. Setting the voltages int Claymore looks like doesn't work, it draws the same from the wall.

Is the previous driver 17.30 better then 17.40?
Are you able to mine on Linux with similar results (+-1/Mgh) as in Win 10? If yes, what drivers do you use, how do you undervolt, any information will be much appreciated.
heavyarms1912
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 11:27:55 PM
 #68

amdgpu-pro 17.40 is a disaster, at least on my 16.04.3 machine.

Hi, I've got 9x MSI Armor RX580 8G recently. The cards by itself not really great maybe because of Hynix memory.
I was able to tune them from 21Mhs ETH stock (single mode) to 29.5/930 ETH/Dcr (dual-mode) under Win10, 110/75W GpuChip/GpuCore, 1500W from the wall for 8x cards and 1200W in single mode. The problem with Win10 and Blockchain driver I can't really change the core voltage, whatever I set in bios, the driver sets it to 931, and most importantly Win10 doesn't boot with 9th card.

Anyways, I gave a try to Ubuntu 16.04.2 TLS and the latest AMDGPU-PRO Driver for Linux 17.40 and setup everything as per their manual.
a) It boots with 7xGPUs but with 8x I get 'the system is running in low-graphics mode' and nothing really helps.
b) It gives 23Mhs ETH for a single mode and draws 110/130W, around 250W per GPU, which is really bad. Setting the voltages int Claymore looks like doesn't work, it draws the same from the wall.

Is the previous driver 17.30 better then 17.40?
Are you able to mine on Linux with similar results (+-1/Mgh) as in Win 10? If yes, what drivers do you use, how do you undervolt, any information will be much appreciated.


17.40 works fine for me.  I use Xubuntu 16.04.3 LTS with rocm kernel.  You also need to set fragment size to 9 the below,

Edit /etc/default/grub as root and modify GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT in order to add "amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9" (without the quotes). The line may look something like this after the change:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9"
Update grub and reboot as root:
update-grub;reboot
hozerdev
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
November 15, 2017, 01:44:11 AM
 #69

17.40 works fine for me.  I use Xubuntu 16.04.3 LTS with rocm kernel.  You also need to set fragment size to 9 the below,

Edit /etc/default/grub as root and modify GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT in order to add "amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9" (without the quotes). The line may look something like this after the change:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9"
Update grub and reboot as root:
update-grub;reboot
Hm, exactly like a did, except I had Ubuntu 16.04.2 LTS upgraded and updated. Wondering if Xubuntu is different someway... Did you follow the guide from github: https://github.com/RadeonOpenCompute/ROCm ?
londreshomme
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 07:07:25 PM
 #70

Does this work if you only have a Celeron CPU? I went to the ROCm site and under system requirements it mentioned a more powerful CPU. Has anyone got this working with a Celeron?

Also, if I install the ROCm kernel and make the mentioned GRUB change... can I still select Ubuntu 16 and have it work like before if this ROCm kernel does not work for me?

Thanks

Here is the solution:
The new ROCm Kernel works great, my hashrate went from 155 > 167Mhs/s with 6*RX470 with Ubuntu 16.4

#Install new ROCm Kernel:

wget -qO - http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/rocm.gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
sudo sh -c 'echo deb [arch=amd64] http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/ xenial main > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/rocm.list'
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rocm

#edit grub
sudo nano  /etc/default/grub
#2MB fragments for Ellesmere are enabled with a grub option:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9"

sudo update-grub
sudo reboot

choose new Kernel and its done!

Thx to gstoner from ROCm Github.


Feel free to donate if you happy ;-)

ETH:0xccad3d66b29ae2924df835df1417169ca59943b5
BTC:12F7uXSpTwVhf4ppdh92uieAvrevZ4ShEf

Greetz

It's work! (ubuntu 16.04)
Thank you
CoinsIn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 08:00:35 PM
 #71


wget -qO - http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/rocm.gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
sudo sh -c 'echo deb [arch=amd64] http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/ xenial main > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/rocm.list'
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rocm

I knew I was missing something..
Thanks.  I'll try it today.
heavyarms1912
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 08:16:17 PM
 #72

Does this work if you only have a Celeron CPU? I went to the ROCm site and under system requirements it mentioned a more powerful CPU. Has anyone got this working with a Celeron?

Also, if I install the ROCm kernel and make the mentioned GRUB change... can I still select Ubuntu 16 and have it work like before if this ROCm kernel does not work for me?

Thanks


Yes, it works with Celeron. 
Yes, you can revert back to older kernel.  In fact you can choose to boot with specific kernel in linux.
degenerate17
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
December 08, 2017, 10:04:05 PM
 #73

Does this work if you only have a Celeron CPU? I went to the ROCm site and under system requirements it mentioned a more powerful CPU. Has anyone got this working with a Celeron?

Also, if I install the ROCm kernel and make the mentioned GRUB change... can I still select Ubuntu 16 and have it work like before if this ROCm kernel does not work for me?

Thanks


Yes, it works with Celeron.  
Yes, you can revert back to older kernel.  In fact you can choose to boot with specific kernel in linux.

Are you sure on this?  I tried this out since currently my cards are running around ~25 Mh/z, and haven't really seen the expected increase.  Boot is also unpredictable/takes a long time to display after installation.  After going to the full installation documentation I saw that Pentiums aren't supported...oops.  Since I'm using a Biostar TB250-BTC 6x with a Intel Pentium G4400 Skylake it looks like that's the issue.  Would switching to a Celeron be a viable fix, since I don't see it explicitly supported on the installation guide: http://rocm-documentation.readthedocs.io/en/latest/Installation_Guide/Installation-Guide.html?  
heavyarms1912
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
December 08, 2017, 10:31:39 PM
 #74

Does this work if you only have a Celeron CPU? I went to the ROCm site and under system requirements it mentioned a more powerful CPU. Has anyone got this working with a Celeron?

Also, if I install the ROCm kernel and make the mentioned GRUB change... can I still select Ubuntu 16 and have it work like before if this ROCm kernel does not work for me?

Thanks


Yes, it works with Celeron.  
Yes, you can revert back to older kernel.  In fact you can choose to boot with specific kernel in linux.

Are you sure on this?  I tried this out since currently my cards are running around ~25 Mh/z, and haven't really seen the expected increase.  Boot is also unpredictable/takes a long time to display after installation.  After going to the full installation documentation I saw that Pentiums aren't supported...oops.  Since I'm using a Biostar TB250-BTC 6x with a Intel Pentium G4400 Skylake it looks like that's the issue.  Would switching to a Celeron be a viable fix, since I don't see it explicitly supported on the installation guide: http://rocm-documentation.readthedocs.io/en/latest/Installation_Guide/Installation-Guide.html?  

I missed the only part there.  If you check my response I meant it also works on Celeron.  In fact I run on G3900 with 9 gpus and linux 16.04.03 LTS.  i don't think there should be an issue with Skylake cpus.
Rickirs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
Today at 04:27:20 PM
 #75

I have been directed to this thread as trying to configure Asus Dual RX580 O8G (Here is thread : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2567650.0 )

Since this thread is little old, out of box without modding and proper driver, I can only get ~22MH/s only on my RX580

I found that using AMDGPU-Pro beta mining (amdgpu-pro-17.40-483984) and current stable AMDGPUR-Pro (amdgpu-pro-17.40-492261) gives me same result stock ie. ~22 MHs

1. Have enabled large page support
2. Have installed ROCm kernel already

I suppose without bios modding I should be able to get ~25 Mhz .

And where can I get good settings for my gpu bios ?
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!