Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2024, 10:07:51 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Grounding your rig  (Read 443 times)
Grim (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 252


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 12:34:51 AM
 #1

I noticed most pictures out there of rigs show the hardware is not grounded.

Are modern PSUs that much safer?
1713953271
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713953271

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713953271
Reply with quote  #2

1713953271
Report to moderator
1713953271
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713953271

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713953271
Reply with quote  #2

1713953271
Report to moderator
1713953271
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713953271

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713953271
Reply with quote  #2

1713953271
Report to moderator
Activity + Trust + Earned Merit == The Most Recognized Users on Bitcointalk
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
AzureEngineer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 12:37:39 AM
 #2

I don't see why the entire unit would need to be grounded. No one is rubbing a balloon on their hair and then manhandling their computer. At least, I hope not.

My name was simply a play on "Blue Engineer" from Team Fortress. I am not affiliated with Microsoft or the Azure project.
cobrabyte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 12:38:51 AM
 #3

Yeah, modern PSUs are pretty good at grounding-out the entire rig. Can't say they were always like that. Never liked the smell of popped-silicon.

http://sbc.blockexplorer.io/ - saRcSpjGxGWk9mGwFSpNTRbwjDvwLmqSkz
tekknik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 12:44:25 AM
 #4

It is grounded, your case is grounded to the PSU via the mounting screws, and your PSU is grounded via it's third prong.
AzureEngineer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 12:46:32 AM
 #5

It is grounded, your case is grounded to the PSU via the mounting screws, and your PSU is grounded via it's third prong.

I think he is referring to individuals whose "case" consists of a plastic milk crate.

My name was simply a play on "Blue Engineer" from Team Fortress. I am not affiliated with Microsoft or the Azure project.
Grim (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 252


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 12:50:03 AM
 #6

It is grounded, your case is grounded to the PSU via the mounting screws, and your PSU is grounded via it's third prong.

I think he is referring to individuals whose "case" consists of a plastic milk crate.


exactly
greenbacksummit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 01:26:31 AM
 #7

 Grounding is not needed for modern up to date hardware.
stephengillon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 01:33:31 AM
 #8

Gounding is always needed but it is all done with the wires
loudpete
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 01:33:46 AM
 #9

It is grounded, your case is grounded to the PSU via the mounting screws, and your PSU is grounded via it's third prong.

I think he is referring to individuals whose "case" consists of a plastic milk crate.


huge fire hazzard
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!