Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2018, 04:33:08 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Stuck building database?  (Read 570 times)
toshiva
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 10:22:11 PM
 #1

Hello,
Wondering if this is genuinely stuck (has read 4%, building database, for the last six hours). The python2 and bitcoind processes are still alive. I am on a relatively old machine. Logs are as follows:
https://pastebin.com/iee51Ec7
Thank you.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1545150788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545150788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545150788
Reply with quote  #2

1545150788
Report to moderator
1545150788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545150788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545150788
Reply with quote  #2

1545150788
Report to moderator
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1101

Armory Developer


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 11:56:59 PM
 #2

Update to this:

https://github.com/goatpig/BitcoinArmory/releases/tag/v0.96.0.3-testing

toshiva
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2017, 01:31:15 AM
 #3

Thanks for the response. I get a "dependency not satisfiable" error re: libstdc++  (>=5.2) when I try that. This is running Ubuntu 14.04 and claims the version of libstdc++ that I have is the latest version. Must I upgrade to 16.04, or is there some other workaround?
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1101

Armory Developer


View Profile
June 25, 2017, 03:08:35 AM
 #4

These binaries are built on a gcc that's too recent for 14.04.

You don't need to upgrade however, you can just build yourself, it's fairly easy on ubuntu.

toshiva
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2017, 09:36:50 PM
 #5

Building a binary sounds complicated (to me — I have not done that before). I upgraded and broke a bunch of packages. Okay, now rolling back — any pointers on how to do this would be much appreciated!
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1101

Armory Developer


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 01:12:48 AM
 #6

Pick a folder in which which the code is to be downloaded to, let's call it "Code".

First, make sure you have these packages installed:

Quote
git
autoconf
libtool

You can install packages running this command:

Code:
sudo apt-get install [package name]

To download the source (from within the "Code" folder):

Code:
git clone https://github/goatpig/BitcoinArmory.git
cd BitcoinArmory
git checkout testing
git submodule init
git submodule update

To configure the project (from within the /Code/BitcoinArmory folder):

Code:
sh autogen.sh
./configure

The configure script may fail, telling you you are missing certain packages. In this case, you want to install the package, using apt-get.

Finally to build and install (still from the same folder):

Code:
make -j8
sudo make install

Casimir1904
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 209
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 01:19:36 AM
 #7

required packages for me was:
libqt4-dev libqtcore4 pyqt4-dev-tools swig
Code:
apt-get install libqt4-dev libqtcore4 pyqt4-dev-tools swig -y
toshiva
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 03:55:41 AM
 #8

...
To configure the project (from within the /Code/BitcoinArmory folder):

Code:
sh autogen.sh
./configure

The configure script may fail, telling you you are missing certain packages. In this case, you want to install the package, using apt-get.


It did fail, but not for reasons of missing packages (so far as I can tell). The error message(s) that I got were:
Code:
Preparing build .... Warning: autoreconf failed
Attempting to run the preparation steps individually

Preparing build .... ERROR: aclocal failed

Hmmm...
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1101

Armory Developer


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 03:59:55 AM
 #9

Run this:

Code:
autoconf

And post the error output.

toshiva
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 04:39:17 AM
 #10

Code:
configure.ac:4: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_INIT_AUTOMAKE
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.
configure.ac:8: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_PROG_AR
configure.ac:45: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_CONDITIONAL
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1101

Armory Developer


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 04:51:41 AM
 #11

Oh wow, what is your automake version?

toshiva
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 04:52:41 AM
 #12

1.14.1
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1101

Armory Developer


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 04:56:09 AM
 #13

I'll have to create a 14.04 vm to look at this directly, this is too messy to be dealt with remotely. Will get back to you.

toshiva
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 04:38:27 PM
 #14

Okay, thanks, I'll wait to hear from you.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!