Bitcoin Forum
January 20, 2021, 07:48:23 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Good tester for USB3.0 A/M-M cables (for risers) ?  (Read 415 times)
charles2k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 323
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 25, 2017, 09:10:02 PM
 #1

Could you recommend me good tester for USB3.0 A/M-M cables? Inside are 9 wires - http://imgur.com/a/KGTcM

Recently I bought big quantity PCIE USB 1-16x risers from China and I have trouble with them. If more than one card in the rig it is not hashing only pcie errors. When I replace USB cables it works ok. Previous batch from the same supplier was ok.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1611128903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611128903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611128903
Reply with quote  #2

1611128903
Report to moderator
1611128903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611128903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611128903
Reply with quote  #2

1611128903
Report to moderator
1611128903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611128903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611128903
Reply with quote  #2

1611128903
Report to moderator
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1251



View Profile
July 26, 2017, 12:05:24 AM
 #2

Just take a multimeter and see if you have conductivity with both ends





.
.




░██████████████████░
████████████████████
█████████▀░░░███████
█████████░░▄████████
███████▀▀░░▀▀███████
███████▄▄░░▄▄███████
█████████░░█████████

█████████░░█████████

█████████▄▄█████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
░██████████████████░
████████████████████
████████████▀▀▀█▀███
███░▀█████▀░░░░░▀███
███▌░░░▀▀▀░░░░░░████
████▄░░░░░░░░░░░████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░█████

██████▄░░░░░▄▄██████

█████▄▄▄▄███████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
░██████████████████░
████████████████████
████████████████████
███████████▀▀░░▐████
███████▀▀░░░░░█████
████▀░░░▄█▀░░░▐█████
█████▄▄█▀░░░░░██████

███████▌▄▄▄▐██████

████████████████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
charles2k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 323
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 09:00:00 AM
 #3

Just take a multimeter and see if you have conductivity with both ends
But I need to test 1000 cables...
JustCauseBIH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 12:48:53 PM
 #4

Well pay then to someone. In every case you need to test one by one.
dtmcnamara
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 03:43:37 PM
 #5

Just take a multimeter and see if you have conductivity with both ends
But I need to test 1000 cables...

I just ended up throwing all the Chinese cables away and buying some off amazon. I got tired of troubleshooting things only to find out it was a crap cable the entire time. The extra $9 per 2 GPU pays for itself in no time at all. Also im sure if you contact a supplier and tell them you need 1000 cables you will get a better deal. Below is what I bough

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HSS9K8U/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Helping stop scammers by giving negative trust thats visible.
Tips always accepted -
BTC 16BebiEjTEoZrd4MNyiHKyfEz9UMSeNoGH DOGE DKrXgYyrw4cNfv4sKkWs7oyTXaXVCqP23X
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 03:50:54 PM
 #6

Just keep a few known good cables on hand and when you think you might have a bad cable swap it with the known good cable.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
charles2k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 323
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 04:55:57 PM
 #7

It is strange. With Asrock H81-BTC Pro MB it seems it works with this "bad" cables and also it is working with more cards in the rig.
But with Biostar TB250-BTC and GTX1060 cards it works usually only with 1 card, with 2 cards max. 10 minutes, with 3 and more only pcie errors. But with other (good) USB cables the same risers work ok also on Biostar...
Tested aprox. on 60 cards.
charles2k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 323
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 04:59:23 PM
 #8

Just take a multimeter and see if you have conductivity with both ends
But I need to test 1000 cables...

I just ended up throwing all the Chinese cables away and buying some off amazon. I got tired of troubleshooting things only to find out it was a crap cable the entire time. The extra $9 per 2 GPU pays for itself in no time at all. Also im sure if you contact a supplier and tell them you need 1000 cables you will get a better deal. Below is what I bough

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HSS9K8U/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

But a lot of cables from Amazon are also manufactured in China. And I buy whole riser with/cables cheaper than this Amazon cable, it is very overpriced.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!