Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 02:03:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 0.8.2rc1 ready for testing  (Read 7422 times)
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 04:46:41 AM
 #21

Starts up fine under Windows 8 x64.

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
1508767406
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508767406

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508767406
Reply with quote  #2

1508767406
Report to moderator
1508767406
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508767406

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508767406
Reply with quote  #2

1508767406
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
rme
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 08:02:17 AM
 #22

Testnet splash screen:


Cool  Grin
slothbag
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 12:47:24 PM
 #23

Works fine for me on Win8 64bit.  Startup time seems greatly improved which is nice.

Splash screen behaves a little nicer than the previous one.

Great work.
CryptoPath
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 11:48:41 PM
 #24

Is there a risk for a new fork chain ?
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
May 12, 2013, 12:30:00 AM
 #25

Is there a risk for a new fork chain ?
0.8.2 does not obviously have any high consensus-consistency risk changes.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 04:48:53 AM
 #26

Working great so far, I'm just leaving it running. I guess we will get a release before the 15th?

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
Searinox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


Do you like fire? I'm full of it.


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 06:29:41 PM
 #27

2 days of solid running, 1 instance of qt another of bitcoind, both mining P2Pool on different machines, ATI and nVidia respectively. No crashes, abnormal latency, slow response or anything of the sort. Both machines are running Windows 7 x64 SP1 + all updates.
Kupsi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1191


9.9.2012: I predict that single digits... <- FAIL


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 08:17:33 PM
 #28

Works fine on my Win 7 64 bit. And now I have over 63 connected nodes  Cheesy

Thank you for great work again.
jdbtracker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687


Minimum Effort/Maximum effect


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 11:13:16 PM
 #29

hey just for fun I decided to do a little math and see how much this change would gain the network.

61883 transaction per 24 hour cycle

times .0001 x 120USD/BTC = 742USD/day as it stands now

742USD/day  divided by 24 hours divide that by 6 blocks/hour  = 5.15USD/block divided by .012c/kb= 429kb of transactions

61883/24/6= 429 transactons/block

wow! are people all sending 1kb transactions today?!

LOL!

Now this has me curious, what kind of scale of transactions is the maximum number of transactions

2898 transactions per hour

29,891 BTC sent per hour

120USD/BTC

.17mb / block transaction average

 thats 174kb

 0.36kb/transaction,

so dividing 500kb/.36 = 1388 maximum transations per block =  200,000 maximum transactions per day
x
.0001BTC(.012 cents)

that's 19.9872BTC/day x 120USD=2398.464USD/Day payed in fees

x
.0083BTC(.996 dollars)

thats 1660BTC/Day x 120USD = 200,000USD/Day yeah more or less correct


wow it would be nutty to think that might be possible one day, but the size of some transactions is enormous!
Holy how much are they transferring?

by the way, works great on p2pool windows 7 x64

If you think my efforts are worth something; I'll keep on keeping on.
I don't believe in IQ, only in Determination.
mikeg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 02:01:30 AM
 #30

Initial test results:

Code:
OS: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 64-bit
Memory: 3.9GB
Processor: Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200
Graphics: Vesa Cypress

01) >cp ~/.bitcoin .bitcoin-bak
02) >rm .bitcoin/wallet.dat
03) >rm .bitcoin/addr.dat
04) Built bitcoind, bitcoin-qt
05) Launched bitcoin-qt: [Error:Invalid amount for -mintxfee=<amount>:'0.00000000']
06) >rm .bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
07) Launched bitcoin-qt
---> 8:17pm, Verifying Blocks
---> 8:18pm, Rescanning [no indication anything is happening]
---> 8:24pm, Main Wallet Screen [2 hours behind blockchain]
---> 8:25pm, Sync [OK]
08) quit bitcoin-qt
09) >cp ../.bitcoin-bak/addr.dat .
10) Launched bitcoin-qt, addresses not available
11) Quit bitcoin-qt
12) >cp ../.bitcoin-bak/wallet.dat .
13) Launched bitcoin-qt, addresses and previous balance [OK]
14) Quit bitcoin-qt
15) Launched bitcoind [ran a few commands, OK]
16) Built bitcoin, bitcoin-qt tests
17) ./test_bitcoin [Running 93 test cases... *** No errors detected]
18) ./bitcoin-qt_test [Config: Using QTest library 4.8.1, Qt 4.8.1 -- Totals: 3 passed, 0 failed, 0 skipped]
saddambitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1609



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 02:16:16 AM
 #31

I'm not sure that I like the Bitcoin logo changing color from a pleasant gold to darker orange, reminds me of the color of Triaminic syrup.

gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 04:03:20 AM
 #32

09) >cp ../.bitcoin-bak/addr.dat .
10) Launched bitcoin-qt, addresses not available
Addr.dat has nothing to do with bitcoin addresses. It was a file the older versions of Bitcoin used to keep track of peers. The name refers to IP network addresses. The functionality was replaced by peers.dat several versions ago and current software doesn't read addr.dat at all, so your results there are completely expected.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
jl2012
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 04:14:05 AM
 #33

Is there a risk for a new fork chain ?
0.8.2 does not obviously have any high consensus-consistency risk changes.

People thought the same when 0.8 was released.  Wink

EDIT: this comment is not accurate. see below

Donation address: 374iXxS4BuqFHsEwwxUuH3nvJ69Y7Hqur3
PGP: D3CC 1772 8600 5BB8 FF67 3294 C524 2A1A B393 6517
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 06:29:30 AM
 #34

People thought the same when 0.8 was released.  Wink
Uh. No. That is entirely untrue. The database and blockchain engine was completely rewritten and, in fact, we had considered releasing 0.8.0 as "not for use by miners". Several severe chain splitting bugs had been introduced in the coarse of 0.8's development and corrected prior to release.   Obviously it wasn't know that there were outstanding ways of trigger inconsistency, but it was certainly known that there were higher risk changes. Please don't rewrite history just to create a forum quip.

Of course, its not possible to be certain that something is bug free: Surprising things happen. But thats why I answered that there were no known high risk changes, rather than responding that there was no risk.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
LightRider
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1495


I advocate the Zeitgeist Movement & Venus Project.


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2013, 07:14:01 AM
 #35

Splash screen does not indicate that bitcoin is now under the microtransaction hating iron fisted tyrannical rule of Gavin the Merciless. Otherwise, works ok.

Thanks devs!

Bitcoin combines money, the wrongest thing in the world, with software, the easiest thing in the world to get wrong.
Visit www.thevenusproject.com and www.theZeitgeistMovement.com.
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 04:24:44 PM
 #36

The "Pay transaction fee" dialog box defaults to a 0.00100000 fee if the up arrow is clicked. It still allows entering a 0.00000001 fee manually. This makes sense as the default policy can be overridden. However perhaps the dialog box should have information about the default fee and how fees are calculated? Or a pop-up to warn if the fee used is too low?

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
jdbtracker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687


Minimum Effort/Maximum effect


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 05:23:51 PM
 #37

Had a crash in Windows 7 x64 fully updated. running p2pool 11.4, I close p2pool and Bitcoind crashes. Just testing on a new build.

If you think my efforts are worth something; I'll keep on keeping on.
I don't believe in IQ, only in Determination.
jgarzik
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 08:07:16 PM
 #38

The "Pay transaction fee" dialog box defaults to a 0.00100000 fee if the up arrow is clicked. It still allows entering a 0.00000001 fee manually. This makes sense as the default policy can be overridden. However perhaps the dialog box should have information about the default fee and how fees are calculated? Or a pop-up to warn if the fee used is too low?

There is near-universal agreement that the fee system -- its calculation, presentation to users, and other details -- are in need of revision.  That is one of the goals of 0.9, hopefully.


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
jdbtracker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687


Minimum Effort/Maximum effect


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 08:50:46 PM
 #39

I'm only a new user, just found out about it from my boss who wanted me to check Bitcoin out see what I thought about it.

but for these features that your talking about they should be up-front in the client, so people can change them on the fly, just like Facebook.

Everyone has seen Facebook, it does everything that e-mail does, it's just in your face, transfer pictures, text,files, etc and make it easy to adjust; A minimum clicks per feature approach. Let the Bitcoin users have easy access in their face to these features.

e.g. put the transaction fee/kb in the front, so it is a visible and changeable on the fly variable.
       when sending a transaction, list the Kb size of that transaction so people know how much they should actually put as a fee; right now people are just guessing and hoping... trial and error on the part of the user = frustration.
      also can it somehow be listed in the client before sending a transaction the likelihood of it being included in the next block according to the fee provided? This can create a market feedback loop as to how fast they want that transaction in the block.

I think the more info the relevant users have in front of them the more likely they will react intelligently to changes in the network.

If you think my efforts are worth something; I'll keep on keeping on.
I don't believe in IQ, only in Determination.
IVIasterZox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 330


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 01:36:02 PM
 #40

Looks verry Good !!!

But why did not you implement Coincontroll?
I wait for this ....
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!