Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 12:58:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [YAC] Illustrated, step-by-step guide to starting your own AWS YAC server farm!  (Read 13350 times)
cycloid
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile WWW
May 12, 2013, 05:18:39 PM
 #61

Amazing guide and although not profitable now ... I see how it can be profitable long term

The forum was founded in 2009 by Satoshi and Sirius. It replaced a SourceForge forum.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508720305
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508720305

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508720305
Reply with quote  #2

1508720305
Report to moderator
vlaoou321
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 05:33:44 PM
 #62

Amazing guide and although not profitable now ... I see how it can be profitable long term
SUP

Reputation https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=198808.new#new
Tip: 1CtNCGTyhVkp6AzRwhTsqjkWgwCqk1vSjA
Vycid
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


♫ the AM bear who cares ♫


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 10:51:47 PM
 #63

100 YACs on your way Smiley

Thanks!  Grin

cycloid
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2013, 08:07:25 AM
 #64

Just incase anyone runs in to problems with this command :

Code:
sudo apt-get install libcurl4-openssl-dev automake make

Run this first :

Code:
sudo apt-get update

Try again Smiley

Kept getting 403 Forbidden errors .


Also this gets the highest hashrate :

Code:
screen -S miner ./minerd -o http://yac.dontmine.me:8080 -u user -p pass -a scrypt-jane -r 9999

dont add -t argument

ElusiveMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 10:39:32 AM
 #65

Hello, I just order 4 servers, and followed the guide precisely. How do I know if they are running, They are all in the same security and placement group, I connected to solo mining using one of the instances, does this mean all the 4 servers are connected and mining?
ElusiveMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 10:45:25 AM
 #66

Or in other words, when ive started mining on one SSH session can I close it down, or do I need to have 4 SSH clients running?
Quartx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


Verify Bitcoin Signature @ https://tools.qz.sg


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2013, 10:58:16 AM
 #67

Or in other words, when ive started mining on one SSH session can I close it down, or do I need to have 4 SSH clients running?

Just to add to this guide, if anyone tried this, you would have noticed that when you are mining , if you close the ssh session, when you ssh back in, u realise that the mining stops, the solution :

Use tmux, it allows you to continue mining even if ssh is off.

Before you type in the mining code type this

Code:
tmux

You should see a windows with a green line at the bottom of your ssh window

Proceed to type your normal mining code

If you want to close your ssh session, press the following keyboard keys

CRTL-B followed by D

You should see the green bottom bar disappear, do not worry, your mining is still running in the back end

now close your ssh session

When you ssh back in, type the following to reopen the tmux window that is still running your mining

Code:
tmux attach -t 0

RUNNING MINING EVEN WHEN YOU ARE NOT SSHing IN WILL EAT UP ALOT OF "COMPUTE HOURS", if YOU GET CHARGED ALOT BY AMAZON,  I BEAR NO RESPONSIBILITIES.




snipsnoop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 11:10:54 AM
 #68

Aye, make sure you understand how AWS works.
Could end up costing a you a LOT of $$ if you are not careful.

I was experimenting a fair bit over the weekend and ended up with 800 spot instances running the miner spread out over the 8 data centers.
Now this was just an experiment and I knew it was going to cost me a fair whack..

End result : Around 500 yac.
End cost : $234.

Only ran it for 2 hours.

Now I could have done it a lot cheaper, but I really just wanted to play around with it. Fun fun fun Smiley


ElusiveMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 11:32:55 AM
 #69

Everything is working great, thanks for the help! Just one last question if I decide to stop mining and terminate these servers completely(so I dont have to pay hourly) Do I just right click on the instance and terminate? or can I pause it somehow. And can I also turn off my computer while these instances are running using the tmux method?
ImI
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1666



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 11:37:30 AM
 #70


I ran 10 instances for 2 hours on saturday but wasnt getting anything. Blocks per day should have been 40 at that time.

Is there any way to check if its working as it should? I had the impression that while it was compliling i saw some error messages.
anonynonanony
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 02:43:19 PM
 #71

Is this deal still profitable?

right now it seems 750kh/s will yield 1.875 yacs/hr.  or roughly $0.15 /hr.  If you're paying more than that, then no.

BTC: 1QA7EMB5vPDJqhUWeXa6krppMa7DLsZVkF
YAC: YKos57wCeV2gdQJmwGsGFCZgcu3rGStYJD
blazin8s
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 08:12:39 PM
 #72

If this guide helped you, maybe kick some of the YAC you mine over to me at Y2JcwhZu9m6cqPZ3Jv8iKspcJYNY5wa5zc   Wink

As promised, 100 YAC Sent your way Cheesy  I initially planned to send more but I only got 25% for the estimated rewards from that pool since it was dropping connections constantly.  I should have solo mined! Cheesy

Also Joee I owe you some coins if you post your addy.  Smiley
blazin8s
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 01:10:02 AM
 #73

Now we just need to figure out how to get them deposited automatically to our wallets.

blazin8s
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 02:39:56 AM
 #74

How does one kill all screen sessions?  I accidently started a few sessions per server and they all have different numbers, I want to kill them all in one swoop and start over
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 08:45:05 PM
 #75

How does one kill all screen sessions?  I accidently started a few sessions per server and they all have different numbers, I want to kill them all in one swoop and start over


killall screen

cycloid
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile WWW
May 17, 2013, 09:16:32 PM
 #76

ctrl+c?

truckythin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 724


🌟ATLANT ICO: 7/09/17🌟


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 07:56:00 AM
 #77

anyone still have AWS mining YAC?

my ubuntu instance only got 99kh/s, even that it got 750kh/s before, i stopped mining for few week ago  Cry

i amazon increase the CPU perfomance to prevent this?

SALHERO
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 07:57:22 AM
 #78

the N factor is higher.  Wink
truckythin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 724


🌟ATLANT ICO: 7/09/17🌟


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 08:13:15 AM
 #79

oph, that's why  Grin

ivann
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
November 29, 2013, 03:46:20 PM
 #80

What mean 'capacity-oversubscribed' in status? What I need to do?
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!