Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 03:04:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How many cards can a GA-EP45-UD3 handle? (PCIe x1)  (Read 4793 times)
nookiegirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 11:36:41 AM
 #1

Hey everybody,

I am planning on buying a couple of GIGABYTE GV-R797OC-3GD Radeon HD 7970.


My current Mobo is a Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3:


It has the following
  • 3 x PCI Express x1 slots
  • a single PCI Express x16 slot
  • CPU: Core2Duo E8400 @3.6Ghz
  • RAM: 8GB


Regardless of space or heat, can I put 4 of the above 7970's on that board?
If yes, will the cards on the x1 Slot mine slower than the one on the x16 slot?
1508425494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508425494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508425494
Reply with quote  #2

1508425494
Report to moderator
1508425494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508425494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508425494
Reply with quote  #2

1508425494
Report to moderator
1508425494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508425494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508425494
Reply with quote  #2

1508425494
Report to moderator
Bitcoin mining is now a specialized and very risky industry, just like gold mining. Amateur miners are unlikely to make much money, and may even lose money. Bitcoin is much more than just mining, though!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508425494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508425494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508425494
Reply with quote  #2

1508425494
Report to moderator
1508425494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508425494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508425494
Reply with quote  #2

1508425494
Report to moderator
Ultraviolet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 01:32:01 PM
 #2

It should work unless that MB has some notorious issue. An hour of forum/Google/Reddit searching should confirm/deny that though.

You'll need to use risers because of the heat. One of them will have to be powered. The 1x will mine at the same speed as 16x.
nookiegirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 03:34:15 PM
 #3

It should work unless that MB has some notorious issue. An hour of forum/Google/Reddit searching should confirm/deny that though.

You'll need to use risers because of the heat. One of them will have to be powered. The 1x will mine at the same speed as 16x.

Thank you :-)

So why does only one have to be powered? And does it matter which slot (x16 or x1) ?
gisfrancisco
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 01:21:05 AM
 #4

Having one or more risers powered takes some of the load off the motherboard.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!