Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 09:57:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] dstm's ZCash / Equihash Nvidia Miner v0.5.1 (Linux)  (Read 22123 times)
GaryH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 07:37:55 PM
 #281

The GPUs are OC'd to where Claymore and EWBF will run for days.  I restarted the zm miner and it's still mining after 4 hours so I'll let it run and see what it does.  

Also displaying time on each line would be helpful so I can see what time it failed--or maybe just on the total line ===.  I should be logging as that probably has the time...
1508234253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508234253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508234253
Reply with quote  #2

1508234253
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508234253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508234253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508234253
Reply with quote  #2

1508234253
Report to moderator
1508234253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508234253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508234253
Reply with quote  #2

1508234253
Report to moderator
dstm
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 08:23:18 PM
 #282

The GPUs are OC'd to where Claymore and EWBF will run for days.  I restarted the zm miner and it's still mining after 4 hours so I'll let it run and see what it does.  

This doesn't mean it's stable, it's still overclocked. It could crash simply because I'm using different instructions - different compiler - or simply because of different ordering of instructions.

Quote
Also displaying time on each line would be helpful so I can see what time it failed--or maybe just on the total line ===.  I should be logging as that probably has the time...

This was requested several times - so yes there will be timestamps.
GaryH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 11:19:11 PM
 #283

The GPUs are OC'd to where Claymore and EWBF will run for days.  I restarted the zm miner and it's still mining after 4 hours so I'll let it run and see what it does.  

This doesn't mean it's stable, it's still overclocked. It could crash simply because I'm using different instructions - different compiler - or simply because of different ordering of instructions.


yeah that makes sense.  Right now with it overclocked it's running about the same as EWBF, but if I pull the overclocks out it will be slower no doubt.  I want to let it run for as long as it will then I can go back and see about pulling the OC's out.
balkeep
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 08:28:07 AM
 #284

For me your miner is way more stable than ewfb's. While ewfb's simply hangs in 24-48hrs period on Windows and even sooner under Ubuntu, yours working stable. If only I could figure out how to overclock under Linux on a headless rig...

EDIT: However, It disconnected today twice. Once it just said server disconnected (i'm using nanopool) and failed to restore the connection, despite internet was working flawelessly on all other devices in a household. Restart of the miner itself immediately fixed the issue. And the second time it started throwing some connection errors, and again everything else worked like a charm. Restart fixed it as well.
ShowMeCoins
Jr. Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 41


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 02:51:14 PM
 #285

For me your miner is way more stable than ewfb's. While ewfb's simply hangs in 24-48hrs period on Windows and even sooner under Ubuntu, yours working stable. If only I could figure out how to overclock under Linux on a headless rig...

I can help you with that......

Create a new X11/Xorg config using
Code:
nvidia-xconfig -o xorg.conf --enable-all-gpus --cool-bits=28 --allow-empty-initial-configuration
.
Move/copy the config to /etc/X11
Code:
cp ./xorg.conf /etc/X11

Kill all your Xorg/X11 processes (or reboot)

Use the following sequence to OC your cards
Code:
Xorg :0 &
sleep 5
export DISPLAY=:0
/usr/bin/nvidia-settings -a GPUPowerMizerMode=1
/usr/bin/nvidia-settings -a GPUFanControlState=1
/usr/bin/nvidia-settings -a GPUTargetFanSpeed=100
/usr/bin/nvidia-settings -a GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=10
/usr/bin/nvidia-settings -a GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=100

Got my mind on my miner and my miner on my mind
dstm
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 04:11:22 PM
 #286

For me your miner is way more stable than ewfb's. While ewfb's simply hangs in 24-48hrs period on Windows and even sooner under Ubuntu, yours working stable. If only I could figure out how to overclock under Linux on a headless rig...

EDIT: However, It disconnected today twice. Once it just said server disconnected (i'm using nanopool) and failed to restore the connection, despite internet was working flawelessly on all other devices in a household. Restart of the miner itself immediately fixed the issue. And the second time it started throwing some connection errors, and again everything else worked like a charm. Restart fixed it as well.


Thx for reporting. Working internet doesn't mean the server is reachable, the server itself might have issues - however I've fixed a bug in my reconnection procedure which was introduced by a change of error codes in one of my functions. I'm currently testing 0.5.1, if it passes tests I'll upload it today.

If it starts throwing connections errors pls post them here since I'm unable to fix them otherwise. I'm pretty verbose in my networking code currently some of the messages can be safely ignored, they are there to make debugging easier.
hx0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 10:24:34 PM
 #287

Nice work! But i have some problem with CPU perfomance.
CPU - Intel G3900 / RAM - 4G / GPU - 10 1080ti
left EWBF Miner (10 card) - right dstm (8 card)
https://snag.gy/TRXPJy.jpg
If I run the miner for 10 cards, the performance drops.
Miner version 0.5
dstm
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 12:06:01 AM
 #288

Nice work! But i have some problem with CPU perfomance.
CPU - Intel G3900 / RAM - 4G / GPU - 10 1080ti
left EWBF Miner (10 card) - right dstm (8 card)
https://snag.gy/TRXPJy.jpg
If I run the miner for 10 cards, the performance drops.
Miner version 0.5

Thx for reporting. Seems like I'm heavier on the CPU side. This is partially because of the strict separation of the GPUs and the way I'm preparing work for the GPUs I guess, I don't want to give up both since they have benefits.                                           

This is what I'm getting on a 10GPU system (6*1070 + 4*1080Ti) with an i3-7300T (a 35W CPU).                                   
Code:
1  [||||||||||                                      18.2%]   Tasks: 112, 279 thr; 2 running
2  [||||||||||                                      16.6%]   Load average: 0.80 0.57 0.27
3  [||||||||||||||||||||||||||||                    51.0%]   Uptime: 00:53:42
4  [|||||||||                                       15.3%]

CPU performance isn't currently an issue for most users as you can see how an i3-7300T performs, so I'm not focusing on it now, I'll do more CPU optimization work after I'm done with the current requests. Sry for the delay.
car1999
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 12:17:34 AM
 #289

I can confirm that the CPU load is very low on a 12 gtx1060 rig with Intel G4560.
Nokia555
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182

EthMonitoring.com


View Profile WWW
October 06, 2017, 06:21:15 AM
 #290

I have released EthControl for ZM also. Linux support available and has remote monitoring support. (https://ethmonitoring.com)

Code:
wget https://github.com/JamesSmith2/EthControlLinux/releases/download/1.0/EthControl.gz && gunzip EthControl.gz && chmod +x EthControl

smartieee
Newbie
*
Online Online

Activity: 8


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 08:46:29 AM
 #291

Hi guys,

Are there any timeframes for us windows users at all? As mentioned before in this forum EWBF is nice and fast but not that stable, I am sure that there are more peoples than myself itching to try DSTM and hopefully switch over to DSTM as an alternative :>

Thanks in advance
dstm
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 09:29:44 AM
 #292

Hi guys,

Are there any timeframes for us windows users at all? As mentioned before in this forum EWBF is nice and fast but not that stable, I am sure that there are more peoples than myself itching to try DSTM and hopefully switch over to DSTM as an alternative :>

Thanks in advance


I've done already some porting work, however I had to interrupt the porting work because of some request/issues some users reported. Sry, I have no eta, but yes, I'm working on it.
smartieee
Newbie
*
Online Online

Activity: 8


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 09:34:50 AM
 #293

NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!

Um wait...no probbo, we will get it when we get it, thanks for the quick reply!
kryztoval
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 10:17:02 AM
 #294

Regarding my network issue, it seems it is a problem with linux and TCP_DEFER_ACCEPT

as explained here:
https://labs.ripe.net/Members/gih/the-curious-case-of-the-crooked-tcp-handshake

I'll keep investigating.

balkeep
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 10:28:34 AM
 #295

Also after sorting out overclocking stuff I'm getting this annoying bug that 1 card doesn't get loaded properly (had it with ewfb's under w10 too occasionally).

   GPU0 61°C  Sol/s: 421.3  Sol/W: 3.98  Avg: 417.0  I/s: 227.2  Sh/s: 0.031  +
   GPU1 66°C  Sol/s: 446.8  Sol/W: 3.52  Avg: 439.3  I/s: 235.0  Sh/s: 0.015
   GPU2 64°C  Sol/s: 438.2  Sol/W: 3.52  Avg: 438.6  I/s: 234.8  Sh/s: 0.046
   GPU3 62°C  Sol/s: 305.1  Sol/W: 2.83  Avg: 310.7  I/s: 165.6  Sh/s: 0.015  +
   GPU4 62°C  Sol/s: 314.8  Sol/W: 2.85  Avg: 311.4  I/s: 165.8  Sh/s: 0.038  +
   GPU5 64°C  Sol/s: 492.7  Sol/W: 4.55  Avg: 488.9  I/s: 260.5  Sh/s: 0.038
   ========== Sol/s: 2418.9 Sol/W: 3.54  Avg: 2405.9 I/s: 1289.0 Sh/s: 0.185

Where GPU0 and GPU5 are both identical EVGA 1080 FTW

nvidia-smi also shows gpu utilization of 87% on that card. Anything I can do?

Fri Oct  6 13:32:21 2017
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 384.90                 Driver Version: 384.90                    |
|-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
| GPU  Name        Persistence-M| Bus-Id        Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan  Temp  Perf  Pwr:Usage/Cap|         Memory-Usage | GPU-Util  Compute M. |
|===============================+======================+======================|
|   0  GeForce GTX 1070    On   | 00000000:01:00.0  On |                  N/A |
| 30%   63C    P2   122W / 125W |    569MiB /  8113MiB |    100%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   1  GeForce GTX 1070    On   | 00000000:02:00.0  On |                  N/A |
| 24%   62C    P2   123W / 125W |    528MiB /  8114MiB |    100%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   2  GeForce GTX 106...  On   | 00000000:04:00.0  On |                  N/A |
| 27%   59C    P2   110W / 120W |    506MiB /  6072MiB |    100%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   3  GeForce GTX 106...  On   | 00000000:05:00.0  On |                  N/A |
| 28%   60C    P2   110W / 120W |    506MiB /  6072MiB |    100%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   4  GeForce GTX 1080    On   | 00000000:06:00.0  On |                  N/A |
| 18%   58C    P2    89W / 108W |    555MiB /  8114MiB |     84%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   5  GeForce GTX 1080    On   | 00000000:07:00.0  On |                  N/A |
| 23%   60C    P2   107W / 108W |    555MiB /  8114MiB |    100%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+

+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Processes:                                                       GPU Memory |
|  GPU       PID   Type   Process name                             Usage      |
|=============================================================================|
|    0       992      G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                            33MiB |
|    0      1752      G   compiz                                        13MiB |
|    0      2307      C   /home/leo/mining_soft/zm/zm                  509MiB |
|    1       992      G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                             7MiB |
|    1      2307      C   /home/leo/mining_soft/zm/zm                  509MiB |
|    2       992      G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                             7MiB |
|    2      2307      C   /home/leo/mining_soft/zm/zm                  487MiB |
|    3       992      G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                             7MiB |
|    3      2307      C   /home/leo/mining_soft/zm/zm                  487MiB |
|    4       992      G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                             7MiB |
|    4      2307      C   /home/leo/mining_soft/zm/zm                  535MiB |
|    5       992      G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                             7MiB |
|    5      2307      C   /home/leo/mining_soft/zm/zm                  535MiB |
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+

So far I've been using this settings:

nvidia-smi -pm 1
nvidia-smi -i 0 -pl 125
nvidia-smi -i 1 -pl 125
nvidia-smi -i 4 -pl 108
nvidia-smi -i 5 -pl 108
nvidia-smi -i 2 -pl 120
nvidia-smi -i 3 -pl 120

and

sudo nvidia-settings -a "[gpu:0]/GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=100" -a "[gpu:0]/GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=0"
sudo nvidia-settings -a "[gpu:1]/GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=100" -a "[gpu:1]/GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=0"
sudo nvidia-settings -a "[gpu:2]/GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=100" -a "[gpu:2]/GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=0"
sudo nvidia-settings -a "[gpu:3]/GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=100" -a "[gpu:3]/GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=0"
sudo nvidia-settings -a "[gpu:4]/GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=100" -a "[gpu:4]/GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=0"
sudo nvidia-settings -a "[gpu:5]/GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=100" -a "[gpu:5]/GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=0"
dstm
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 10:46:26 AM
 #296

Regarding my network issue, it seems it is a problem with linux and TCP_DEFER_ACCEPT

as explained here:
https://labs.ripe.net/Members/gih/the-curious-case-of-the-crooked-tcp-handshake

I'll keep investigating.




I don't think it's because of this, since handshaking/connection-establishment is working fine. What is happening is that at some point zm calls recv but the connection has been dropped, most probably by your router. You might log the network traffic with tcpdump for the stratum ports you're connecting to and pm them to me, I'll take a look if I can find something. You could also check kernels tcp keepalive settings in /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_keepalive_..... . they might help with nat-routers.
dstm
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 11:08:13 AM
 #297

Also after sorting out overclocking stuff I'm getting this annoying bug that 1 card doesn't get loaded properly (had it with ewfb's under w10 too occasionally).

Since all the other card are constantly on 100% it seem that it isn't an cpu performance issue - however check your cpu-load to be sure. Most likely it's a pcie-bus issue, the bus that GPU4 is connected to seems to have latencies. If you're unable to find the reason for this, I suggest you to swap the GPUs and put the slower 1060 into the pcie-bus that GPU4 is currently on.
balkeep
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 12:02:43 PM
 #298

CPU load is between 30-40 usually so I guess it's fine.

Concerning the card that yields less Sols, I think it's cuz it's the first one, and it has something to do with Xorg running on it. At least on W10 it behaved the same when I had my monitor connected to it, instead of Intel gpu. Quite a few people complained about the same issue always being with the first card.

Also I noticed that after some time I start getting
msg buffer full
Why is that, is it hurting me somehow?
dstm
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 12:35:10 PM
 #299

CPU load is between 30-40 usually so I guess it's fine.

Concerning the card that yields less Sols, I think it's cuz it's the first one, and it has something to do with Xorg running on it. At least on W10 it behaved the same when I had my monitor connected to it, instead of Intel gpu. Quite a few people complained about the same issue always being with the first card.

Also I noticed that after some time I start getting
msg buffer full
Why is that, is it hurting me somehow?

This might happen if one of your GPUs crashes/gets unresponsive and stops consuming messages - so check your overclocking. I'll add the gpu-id to this message in the next version, this way it will be easier to track the unresponsive GPU.
spark.g
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 01:06:21 PM
 #300

remembered.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!