Bitcoin Forum
September 28, 2021, 07:57:26 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to resolve connection WiFi issues / stale hashes?  (Read 523 times)
dd2017
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 15, 2017, 05:52:26 PM
 #1

After I built it I had my mining rig sitting in the kitchen. And it worked fine there. Due to the layout of the house I'm in, I can't use wired (Ethernet) connection. Instead I purchased this wireless WiFi adapter that I plugged into the USB port on the mining rig:
OURLINK 600Mbps mini 802.11ac Dual Band 2.4G/5G Wireless Network Adapter USB Wi-Fi Dongle Adapter with 5dBi Antenna Support Windows XP,Win Vista,Win 7,Win 8.1, Win 10,Mac OS X 10.6-10.12.4

It worked fine until I moved the rig into my garage, that is literally 20 feet further out. After that I started getting a ton of stale shares. Here's the stats from the mining pool:

https://image.ibb.co/mrf6vF/stale_hash_rate.png

Now setting up an Ethernet connection to my garage is out of the question.

So I was wondering, if there's any better WiFi adapter that you guys use that may resolve this?
1632815846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632815846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632815846
Reply with quote  #2

1632815846
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1632815846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632815846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632815846
Reply with quote  #2

1632815846
Report to moderator
1632815846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632815846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632815846
Reply with quote  #2

1632815846
Report to moderator
1632815846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632815846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632815846
Reply with quote  #2

1632815846
Report to moderator
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1113


View Profile
July 15, 2017, 06:30:34 PM
 #2

Try putting the wifi adapter on a USB extension cable so you can position the antenna better.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
dd2017
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 15, 2017, 06:39:38 PM
 #3

Thanks. Better is what? Higher up.

PS. Also is there any Windows software to tell the WiFi strength?
fraggyb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 15, 2017, 06:40:44 PM
 #4

As a temp solution, try making a pringles can parabolic reflector!

http://docshare.tips/img/6027/router-parabolic-dish-template_588edae3b6d87ffc638b4cc0.jpg

There are lots of ways make one and they work surprisingly well  Grin

EDIT: Also, you might want to buy a cheap powerline lan set.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 607


View Profile
July 15, 2017, 07:00:10 PM
 #5

I bought an m.2 wifi card and 8inch dual band aerial after having trouble with a usb type one. Works great now.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
systemv
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

StuffGoGo Developer


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2017, 08:03:47 PM
 #6

Had mostly positive experience with tens of:

https://www.netgear.com/support/product/WNCE2001.aspx

over the 2 yr period only one failed

umine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 414
Merit: 136



View Profile
July 15, 2017, 08:18:10 PM
 #7

Try to use legacy wifi standart (b/g without n) It might be more stable than faster n standart

64dimensions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 575
Merit: 508


View Profile
July 15, 2017, 10:58:23 PM
 #8

1) This is your #1 option:

https://www.google.com/shopping/product/15092139859623604658?q=network+cable&lsf=seller:6136318,store:5787680215257193760&hl=en&lsft=gclid:EAIaIQobChMIyMrXpK6M1QIVAWd-Ch3V5gUMEAQYASABEgK98fD_BwE&biw=1536&bih=730&tch=1&ech=1&psi=45pqWc3VGILU0gKLs4WAAg.1500158697229.3&prds=oid:924655698827753376&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiogbrcrozVAhWhgFQKHe6SCfE4FBCcFQhkKAIwCA

2) Powerline internet is your #2 option

3) Wifi is the 3rd option
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 594


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2017, 12:04:29 AM
 #9

I would try Powerline Network Adapters for internet connectivity instead of wifi ... 
with any of this devices setting up an Ethernet connection to ur garage is not out of the question
https://www.amazon.com/Powerline-Computer-Network-Adapters/b?ie=UTF8&node=1194444


if your router using 2.4ghz try to switch to 5ghz if its supported on bothe side ( router and wifi adapter)
There is a lot of things what can kill , weaken your wifi signal .
- if any of your neighbor using the same frequency wifi on the same channel , that can weaken your signal ... all modern routers are multichannel, so they can switch across different channels when communicating to your devices. You tend to use whatever the router default is, but if neighboring wireless networks are also using the same channel, then you are going to encounter signal congestion.



Learn about Merit & new rank requirements , Learn how to use MERIT , make this community better
If you like the answer you got for your question from any member ,
If you find any post useful , informative use the +Merit button.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!