Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2018, 05:54:13 AM *
News: Electrum users must upgrade to 3.0.5 if they haven't already. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: M.2 on MSI Z170A M5 not showing up  (Read 365 times)
themonkii
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


DeepOnion TOR Integrated - No ICO & FREE airdrops


View Profile
July 17, 2017, 03:50:02 PM
 #1

Hey guys!

I hope someone can help. I'm running an MSI z170A M5 Motherboard. I have the most recent BIOS installed, running 8 GPU's now 7 via PCIE + 1 via M.2 to PCIE adapter. I'm not having any luck getting a 9th via the second M.2 -- PCIE. I'm wondering if I'm fighting a lost cause here? Has anyone had any success with this setup? Running Windows 10, have verified that the adapter, riser, and card are working. Just not when plugged into the second M.2 slot.

Any help would be great, thanks!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion    Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency    TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️        VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
1516254853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516254853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516254853
Reply with quote  #2

1516254853
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kodokbuduk
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 220


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 01:31:54 AM
 #2

May be just bad M.2 adapter?
car1999
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 04:23:18 AM
 #3

i have the exactly same issue, don't know why.
maybe this mobo is too old, i will use asus prime z270A next time.
kodokbuduk
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 220


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 04:33:18 AM
 #4

I tried it on MSI Z97 gaming 5 doesnt work..
themonkii
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


DeepOnion TOR Integrated - No ICO & FREE airdrops


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 10:32:51 PM
 #5

May be just bad M.2 adapter?

Adapter/riser/card works - tried in the other M.2 spot, and it worked. Seems to be the one M.2 spot - Wondering if I should be enabling it in BIOS, or something.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion    Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency    TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️        VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
themonkii
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


DeepOnion TOR Integrated - No ICO & FREE airdrops


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 10:34:35 PM
 #6

i have the exactly same issue, don't know why.
maybe this mobo is too old, i will use asus prime z270A next time.

Same board? Also the 2nd M.2 doesn't work, but the 1st one works?

Wondering if this board just maxes out at 8 GPU

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion    Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency    TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️        VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
N0pr3s3n7
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 10:42:48 PM
 #7

Hey guys!

I hope someone can help. I'm running an MSI z170A M5 Motherboard. I have the most recent BIOS installed, running 8 GPU's now 7 via PCIE + 1 via M.2 to PCIE adapter. I'm not having any luck getting a 9th via the second M.2 -- PCIE. I'm wondering if I'm fighting a lost cause here? Has anyone had any success with this setup? Running Windows 10, have verified that the adapter, riser, and card are working. Just not when plugged into the second M.2 slot.

Any help would be great, thanks!

I think you cannot run more than 8 on windows UEFI 10 . Disable in build graphic cards from bios -> set graphic card -> PCIE  , restart , add the 9th ( guess you are calling it this way since you havent disabled the inbuilt card ? ) . Otherwise install linux or other OS that can run more than 8 cards.
iamnoobplzhelp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 11:46:18 PM
 #8

2 issues:

1) Windows can only support 8 of any type of card at one time (8 AMD + 8 nVidia possible)

2) That board can only support max of 8 cards, anyway. The 2nd M.2 is not connected to the PCIe bus. Only the SSD bus.
themonkii
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


DeepOnion TOR Integrated - No ICO & FREE airdrops


View Profile
July 19, 2017, 12:40:29 AM
 #9

2 issues:

1) Windows can only support 8 of any type of card at one time (8 AMD + 8 nVidia possible)

2) That board can only support max of 8 cards, anyway. The 2nd M.2 is not connected to the PCIe bus. Only the SSD bus.

Thank you! So, I can save myself the hassle of installing EthOS? Like, 100% the second is only on SSD bus? It mentions in the manual an option to connect two PCIE devices to it.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion    Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency    TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️        VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!