Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2018, 03:42:55 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CGMiner Help  (Read 2706 times)
CRkfx1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 03:14:08 AM
 #1

I'm unable to get cgminer working on a debian cpu only system.  When I use the readme file's recommended configure line:

CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-scrypt

I get this in the summary when the configure script completes:

Quote
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 3.1.0
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lncurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in

And it just stops.  If I make install anyway, it doesn't want to work.  Thanks in advance for any help!
1540136575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540136575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540136575
Reply with quote  #2

1540136575
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540136575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540136575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540136575
Reply with quote  #2

1540136575
Report to moderator
1540136575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540136575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540136575
Reply with quote  #2

1540136575
Report to moderator
1540136575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540136575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540136575
Reply with quote  #2

1540136575
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 03:54:20 AM
 #2

cgminer doesn't support CPU mining.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
CRkfx1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 04:02:31 AM
 #3

Thanks Kano.  Thought it might be something like that.  There's options to disable GPU mining, which made me think it would have cpu only capabilities.

Is cpuminer the only game in town for cpu mining only?
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792
Merit: 1000


Bite me


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 02:22:31 PM
 #4

don't even bother with cpu mining - gpu mining is virtually dead now

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1107



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 05:26:28 AM
 #5

I'm unable to get cgminer working on a debian cpu only system.  When I use the readme file's recommended configure line:

CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-scrypt

I get this in the summary when the configure script completes:

Quote
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 3.1.0
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lncurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in

And it just stops.  If I make install anyway, it doesn't want to work.  Thanks in advance for any help!


try
CFLAGS="-O2" ./configure --enable-cpumining

works for BTC.  Tried it on testnet (win64).  You can use it for testing, but to make real coins you would have to be really lucky or live for a very long time.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 966
Merit: 501



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:00:11 AM
 #6

I'm unable to get cgminer working on a debian cpu only system.  When I use the readme file's recommended configure line:

And it just stops.  If I make install anyway, it doesn't want to work.  Thanks in advance for any help!


try
CFLAGS="-O2" ./configure --enable-cpumining

works for BTC.  Tried it on testnet (win64).  You can use it for testing, but to make real coins you would have to be really lucky or live for a very long time.


Which bit of "cgminer doesn't support CPU mining" don't you understand?  Roll Eyes

CPU mining was removed ages ago.  2.11.4 doesn't even have it, and that's the oldest version I have here.



  ██████████
 ████████▀▀██
 ████▀▀    ██
 █▀    ▄▀  ██
 █▄▄▄ █    ██
 ████  ▄█▄ ██
 ████████████
  ██████████


▄█████████████▄
██▀▀████▀  ▀▀██
██   ▀▀     ▀██
██▄         ███
███▄       ▄███
██▀▀      ▄████
███▄▄▄▄▄▄██████
▀█████████████▀
    |   
    eSPORTS   
ECOSYSTEM "Empowering Gamers!"
|       




▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
█ ███████████████████████ █
█ █████     █ ▀██████████ █
█ █████     █   ▀████████ █
█ █████  ██ █     ▀██████ █

█ █████  ▀▀ █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████             █████ █
█ ███████████████████████ █
▀█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▀
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 966
Merit: 501



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:01:21 AM
 #7

There's options to disable GPU mining, which made me think it would have cpu only capabilities.


No, that's for disabling GPU mining on a machine that's controlling ASICs or similar.



  ██████████
 ████████▀▀██
 ████▀▀    ██
 █▀    ▄▀  ██
 █▄▄▄ █    ██
 ████  ▄█▄ ██
 ████████████
  ██████████


▄█████████████▄
██▀▀████▀  ▀▀██
██   ▀▀     ▀██
██▄         ███
███▄       ▄███
██▀▀      ▄████
███▄▄▄▄▄▄██████
▀█████████████▀
    |   
    eSPORTS   
ECOSYSTEM "Empowering Gamers!"
|       




▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
█ ███████████████████████ █
█ █████     █ ▀██████████ █
█ █████     █   ▀████████ █
█ █████  ██ █     ▀██████ █

█ █████  ▀▀ █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████             █████ █
█ ███████████████████████ █
▀█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▀
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 03:58:59 PM
 #8

I'm unable to get cgminer working on a debian cpu only system.  When I use the readme file's recommended configure line:

CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-scrypt

I get this in the summary when the configure script completes:

Quote
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 3.1.0
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lncurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in

And it just stops.  If I make install anyway, it doesn't want to work.  Thanks in advance for any help!


try
CFLAGS="-O2" ./configure --enable-cpumining

works for BTC.  Tried it on testnet (win64).  You can use it for testing, but to make real coins you would have to be really lucky or live for a very long time.

His post says 3.1.0
3.1.0 doesn't have any cpu mining code in it.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1107



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 04:15:35 PM
 #9

I'm unable to get cgminer working on a debian cpu only system.  When I use the readme file's recommended configure line:

CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-scrypt

I get this in the summary when the configure script completes:

Quote
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 3.1.0
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lncurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in

And it just stops.  If I make install anyway, it doesn't want to work.  Thanks in advance for any help!


try
CFLAGS="-O2" ./configure --enable-cpumining

works for BTC.  Tried it on testnet (win64).  You can use it for testing, but to make real coins you would have to be really lucky or live for a very long time.

His post says 3.1.0
3.1.0 doesn't have any cpu mining code in it.

I missed that part.

Use 2.11.4 with the above configure option.  Problem solved. Next.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!