Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2021, 07:59:35 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Issues unlocking Sapphire 6950 shaders  (Read 4541 times)
autonomous42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 08:19:10 PM
 #1

Hi there

I am using a Sapphire 6950 2GB but even after trying the traditional methods of shader unlocking, it remains steadfast at 1408. I've come this close to sacrificing a lamb but that involves too much blood. There were some techniques on other sites those people were successful with but I've had no luck. Flashing a 6970 firmware also doesn't work; in fact it bricks the card.

Any tips/voodoo I may try?
1638561575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638561575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638561575
Reply with quote  #2

1638561575
Report to moderator
1638561575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638561575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638561575
Reply with quote  #2

1638561575
Report to moderator
1638561575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638561575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638561575
Reply with quote  #2

1638561575
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: the cutting edge of begging technology." -- Giraffe.BTC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 08:39:42 PM
 #2

Is it a reference design?


 
Only the reference design have a chance of unlocking shaders but it's not guaranteed.
autonomous42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 08:44:52 PM
 #3

It's this one:
http://www.pureoverclock.com/wp-content/uploads/images/review/video_cards/sapphire_6950d/sapphire_6950d_4.jpg
I'm pretty sure those other guys had success with it... What makes a reference design more likely to unlock than a "non-reference"? Any other tips?
fgkrew
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 11:34:37 PM
 #4

From my knowledge reference designs use the same pcb and schematics provided from amd for that 6950 chip. Its basically an amd/ati board with the brand sticker and sometimes a little different cooler.

Other brands use the same chip but a diferent pcb layout and components. So the shaders could be hardware locked instead of software locked like reference design.

But i am not an expert on this.
autonomous42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 12:21:46 AM
 #5

Thanks for the help. I don't suppose hardware unlocking is something that can be done, is it?
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 12:36:18 AM
 #6

I've unlocked a Sapphire card that looks very similar to that.  I booted into a dos prompt using a usb boot disk (make sure you load your flashing program and modded bios onto it too), then flashed the bios using ATIFlash.  Don't flash it in Windows, I could never get it to work right.

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 12, 2013, 01:47:54 AM
 #7

It's this one:

I'm pretty sure those other guys had success with it... What makes a reference design more likely to unlock than a "non-reference"? Any other tips?

Reference design were software locked. Non reference had the shaders laser cut so there's nothing you can do about that. If it doesn't say AMD on the board above the pcie connection, then it's non reference.
Hektek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 04:12:55 PM
 #8

Have you checked if it has the second Bios switch ?
The second Bios has per default the shaders unlocked.

best regards

autonomous42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 02:40:14 AM
 #9

Yes, It does. The left side is unwritable and the right side's firmware suggests (via RBE) that it already has the 6970 shaders unlocked but GPU-z does not corroborate this.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!