Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 11:19:04 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Keepkey and Electrum - importing wallet  (Read 869 times)
yerpie07
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 28, 2017, 11:08:40 AM
 #1

Keepkey no longer supports Multibit wallet, so I followed their blog instructions & video on transferring my wallet to Electrum using my seed.

I typed the phrase of words to attempt to restore the wallet. It did not work. However, when I plugged my keepkey into Electrum, I was able to restore my wallet from it.

I don't understand why the first option didnt work? Shouldn't I be able to restore my wallet using my seed/phrase of words into another wallet without using the keepkey?  I thought that was one reason why it's important to have one's seed.

Any insight would be highly appreciated!
1537701544
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701544

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701544
Reply with quote  #2

1537701544
Report to moderator
1537701544
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701544

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701544
Reply with quote  #2

1537701544
Report to moderator
1537701544
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701544

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701544
Reply with quote  #2

1537701544
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537701544
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701544

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701544
Reply with quote  #2

1537701544
Report to moderator
1537701544
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701544

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701544
Reply with quote  #2

1537701544
Report to moderator
1537701544
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701544

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701544
Reply with quote  #2

1537701544
Report to moderator
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1090


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2017, 12:24:37 PM
 #2

Not all seeds are the same, some of them are of different standards and/or have different derivation path. You have to notify Electrum of the correct seed format and derivation path for your seed to be successfully imported.

Just to check, are you using Electrum 2.9.0? The latest version allows you to state if the seed is created in a Multibit HD wallet.

Did you follow the steps: In the install wizard, select "Standard Wallet>I already have a seed>Key in your seed phrase AND click on option and select BIP39".

yerpie07
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 28, 2017, 09:27:15 PM
 #3

Not all seeds are the same, some of them are of different standards and/or have different derivation path. You have to notify Electrum of the correct seed format and derivation path for your seed to be successfully imported.

Just to check, are you using Electrum 2.9.0? The latest version allows you to state if the seed is created in a Multibit HD wallet.

Did you follow the steps: In the install wizard, select "Standard Wallet>I already have a seed>Key in your seed phrase AND click on option and select BIP39".


Thankyou so much for replying.

To clarify, yes I used Electrum 2.9.0. 
Where does this version allow me to state if the seed was created in a Multibit HD Wallet? 

I followed their YouTube video instructions step by step:
Standard Wallet>I already have a seed>Key in your seed phrase > Select BIP39 > typed m/0'

I'm not technically minded, but perhaps it didn't work because the original seed was made on the hardware wallet keepkey rather than the software Multibit?  Does the hardware wallet require a different BIP or m/0' 
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 923

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
July 30, 2017, 01:58:49 AM
 #4

That method is for exporting "MultiBit HD" generated wallets ONLY... NOT a wallet from your hardware wallet device. If your wallet was created by the Hardware Wallet... and is already on your hardware wallet... you want to use: "File -> New\Restore -> Standard Wallet -> Use a hardware device"... then connect the hardware wallet (if it isn't already)

Restoring the seed into Electrum effectively removes ALL the safeguards of the hardware wallet and exposes your seed/keys to your computer!! Shocked

However, if you create it as a hardware wallet within Electrum, it will only expose the Master Public Key... which will generate what is effectively a "watching only" wallet... You'll be able to see all your addresses/coins/transactions etc... but to spend, you will still need to use the hardware wallet and your private keys are never exposed to the computer.  Cool

zuzuca
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 31, 2017, 09:21:48 PM
 #5

Not all seeds are the same, some of them are of different standards and/or have different derivation path. You have to notify Electrum of the correct seed format and derivation path for your seed to be successfully imported.

Just to check, are you using Electrum 2.9.0? The latest version allows you to state if the seed is created in a Multibit HD wallet.

Did you follow the steps: In the install wizard, select "Standard Wallet>I already have a seed>Key in your seed phrase AND click on option and select BIP39".
this is a very usefull info. tx for sharing. this way we can easy redeeam our bcc.let's hope it works

 
DNATIX
 



▬▬▬▬▬ ◢ ◣ ▬▬▬▬▬ ◢ ◣ ▬▬▬▬▬ ◢ ◣ ▬▬▬▬▬ ◢ ◣ ▬▬▬▬▬
 



  PRE-SALE START
15 AUGUST 2018
hroub
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 107

BCH Wallet: 1PmR3k4cA4YVy7r7RVgYdSjnon2A1aJSLk


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2018, 08:12:37 PM
 #6

That method is for exporting "MultiBit HD" generated wallets ONLY... NOT a wallet from your hardware wallet device. If your wallet was created by the Hardware Wallet... and is already on your hardware wallet... you want to use: "File -> New\Restore -> Standard Wallet -> Use a hardware device"... then connect the hardware wallet (if it isn't already)

Restoring the seed into Electrum effectively removes ALL the safeguards of the hardware wallet and exposes your seed/keys to your computer!! Shocked

However, if you create it as a hardware wallet within Electrum, it will only expose the Master Public Key... which will generate what is effectively a "watching only" wallet... You'll be able to see all your addresses/coins/transactions etc... but to spend, you will still need to use the hardware wallet and your private keys are never exposed to the computer.  Cool

Sorry, I am also not very technically minded. "create it as a hardware wallet within Electrum", how do I do that? Thanks!

HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 923

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 06:51:16 AM
 #7

Sorry, I am also not very technically minded. "create it as a hardware wallet within Electrum", how do I do that? Thanks!
As I already said: "File -> New\Restore -> Standard Wallet -> Use a hardware device"... connect the hardware wallet and follow the instructions in Electrum.

It will generate what is effectively a "watching-only" wallet... so you'll be able to see all the Transactions/Addresses/Balance etc even if the hardware wallet isn't attached... but you can spend (or sign messages) ONLY if the hardware wallet is attached Wink


hroub
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 107

BCH Wallet: 1PmR3k4cA4YVy7r7RVgYdSjnon2A1aJSLk


View Profile WWW
January 16, 2018, 11:36:08 PM
 #8

Sorry, I am also not very technically minded. "create it as a hardware wallet within Electrum", how do I do that? Thanks!
As I already said: "File -> New\Restore -> Standard Wallet -> Use a hardware device"... connect the hardware wallet and follow the instructions in Electrum.

It will generate what is effectively a "watching-only" wallet... so you'll be able to see all the Transactions/Addresses/Balance etc even if the hardware wallet isn't attached... but you can spend (or sign messages) ONLY if the hardware wallet is attached Wink


I see! Thank you for the clarification good sir/madam!  Smiley

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!