Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:21:37 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Always only 8 coonnections  (Read 1009 times)
N4rk0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 08:58:51 AM
 #1

My bitcoin client shows always only 8 connections....
Some more details:
my isp doesn't give me a public ip , this means that i'm behind a NAT (some kind of big lan) , ad i can't forward ports to listen for incoming connections.
Is it bad? Is there a way to solve this?
1481199697
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199697

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199697
Reply with quote  #2

1481199697
Report to moderator
1481199697
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199697

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199697
Reply with quote  #2

1481199697
Report to moderator
1481199697
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199697

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199697
Reply with quote  #2

1481199697
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2011, 09:02:01 AM
 #2

It's not bad, but there's no solution. It means you cannot receive incoming connections.

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
LeFBI
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 09:18:59 AM
 #3

Quote from: JoelKatz
It means you cannot receive incoming connections.
If he couldn't receive incoming connections, how come his client shows 8 connections?

N4rk0:
There is nothing wrong with your client. 8 Connections is perfectly right, that's exactly the number of connections the client tries to create. You don't need more than that.
N4rk0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 09:33:19 AM
 #4

I can actually get incoming connections from te other clients that 'live' behind my same NAT.
However the fact that i can't receive incoming connections doesn't mean that i can't make outgoing connections.
N4rk0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 09:37:49 AM
 #5

So if i change the max connections value in the config i can get more connections?
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2011, 09:40:05 AM
 #6

Quote from: JoelKatz
It means you cannot receive incoming connections.
If he couldn't receive incoming connections, how come his client shows 8 connections?
He made 8 connections.

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!