Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 10:36:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help with bitcoin transfer mistake  (Read 605 times)
plamb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 08:07:38 PM
 #1

I mistakenly sent the wrong amount of bitcoin from my Coinbase account to Electrum?

Instead of sending a total of .655 to Electrum from Coinable, which is the total I have in Coinable, I wrote a total 655 to be received by Electrum in Electrum. 655 BTC is now what shows up in the “History” in Electrum, even though I don’t have that amount of bitcoin and didn't send it.  I tried to delete the transaction in Electrum but it still shows up in my history. Will Electrum automatically correct this error? If not, can you tell me what I can do?

Thanks, in advance, for your help.
1513118171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118171
Reply with quote  #2

1513118171
Report to moderator
1513118171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118171
Reply with quote  #2

1513118171
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
HabBear
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 08:28:33 PM
 #2

You'll probably have to wait a day or two for this to get sorted out. Most exchanges (if not all) are suspending trading until the dust settles from August 1.

The exchanges aren't going to front you money, so as long as the two addresses you've used are correct (i.e., yours) you should eventually get them to match the exact amount of bitcoin you had, rather than the 655 you typed in error. And if you end up with 655BTC be a good lad and own up to it to get the error resolved with Coinbase.

Be patient, good luck. At least you're the error doesn't leave you with less bitcoin.

klarki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 08:43:20 PM
 #3

Do not worry. Everything will be okay.

.
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.LIVECOIN.NET.......
.
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
......SIMPLE.  ★  .RELIABLE.  ★  .QUICK......
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
plamb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 08:55:27 PM
 #4

Thanks for the helpful responses. I feel much better, and a little embarrassed  Smiley
BitcoinNewsMagazine
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 994



View Profile WWW
July 31, 2017, 09:01:15 PM
 #5

Surprised that Coinbase did not reject the withdrawal outright. Their automated systems should have told you 'sorry that is more bitcoin than you have in your account try again'. Servers must be overloaded.

plamb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 09:13:13 PM
 #6

I sent the right amount from Coinbase (.655) to the Electrum address but it was Electrum where I incorrectly inputted 655 as the receiving amount. Electrum now shows 655 as my balance. That being the case I am thinking that Coinbase did their job and therefore I wouldn't get any rejection of my withdrawal of the .655 from them? I'm a newbie so maybe I have it wrong?
Minecache
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
July 31, 2017, 09:18:48 PM
 #7

I mistakenly sent the wrong amount of bitcoin from my Coinbase account to Electrum?

Instead of sending a total of .655 to Electrum from Coinable, which is the total I have in Coinable, I wrote a total 655 to be received by Electrum in Electrum. 655 BTC is now what shows up in the “History” in Electrum, even though I don’t have that amount of bitcoin and didn't send it.  I tried to delete the transaction in Electrum but it still shows up in my history. Will Electrum automatically correct this error? If not, can you tell me what I can do?

Thanks, in advance, for your help.

Be careful moving any amount right now. At least until the dust settles.

           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
       ▄▄█▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀█▄▄
     ▄█▀ ▄▄█████████████▄▄ ▀█▄

    █▀ ▄███████▀   ▀███████▄ ▀█
   █ ▄████████▀     ▀████████▄ █
  █ ▄████████▀       ▀████████▄ █

 █ ▄████████▀    █    ▀████████▄ █
▄▀▄█████        ▄█▄        █████▄▀▄
█ ██████▀▀▀     ███     ▀▀▀██████ █

█ ██████▄▄     ▄███▄     ▄▄██████ █
█ ███████▀     ▀▀▀▀▀     ▀███████ █
▀▄▀█████▀                 ▀█████▀▄▀

 █ ▀███▀      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄      ▀███▀ █
  █ ▀██      █████████      ██▀ █
   █ ▀██▄  ▄███████████▄  ▄██▀ █

    █▄ ▀███████████████████▀ ▄█
     ▀█▄ ▀▀█████████████▀▀ ▄█▀

       ▀▀█▄▄ ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ▄▄█▀▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
AppCoins










.
0WHITEPAPER0
.
0CROWDSALE0
batang_bitcoin
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 09:29:37 PM
 #8

I assume that you are not informed about the fork and you shouldn't do any transactions for now. Why did coinbase allowed you to do such transactions as they are aware of what's going to happen.

I sent the right amount from Coinbase (.655) to the Electrum address but it was Electrum where I incorrectly inputted 655 as the receiving amount. Electrum now shows 655 as my balance. That being the case I am thinking that Coinbase did their job and therefore I wouldn't get any rejection of my withdrawal of the .655 from them? I'm a newbie so maybe I have it wrong?

You sure that you got 655? not .655? you should make some screenshots so that we can understand it lighter.

plamb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 10:14:43 PM
 #9

I am aware of the Fork, and Coinbase said it will handle transactions through midnight PT today. Not sure exactly how to imbed screenshots, sorry.

the .655 BTC transfer is confirmed on Coinbase and the Electrum wallet says "Balance: 655.00303 mBTC"

Minecache
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
July 31, 2017, 10:36:19 PM
 #10

I am aware of the Fork, and Coinbase said it will handle transactions through midnight PT today. Not sure exactly how to imbed screenshots, sorry.

the .655 BTC transfer is confirmed on Coinbase and the Electrum wallet says "Balance: 655.00303 mBTC"


It's  655.00303 mBTC not 655 BTC.

           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
       ▄▄█▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀█▄▄
     ▄█▀ ▄▄█████████████▄▄ ▀█▄

    █▀ ▄███████▀   ▀███████▄ ▀█
   █ ▄████████▀     ▀████████▄ █
  █ ▄████████▀       ▀████████▄ █

 █ ▄████████▀    █    ▀████████▄ █
▄▀▄█████        ▄█▄        █████▄▀▄
█ ██████▀▀▀     ███     ▀▀▀██████ █

█ ██████▄▄     ▄███▄     ▄▄██████ █
█ ███████▀     ▀▀▀▀▀     ▀███████ █
▀▄▀█████▀                 ▀█████▀▄▀

 █ ▀███▀      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄      ▀███▀ █
  █ ▀██      █████████      ██▀ █
   █ ▀██▄  ▄███████████▄  ▄██▀ █

    █▄ ▀███████████████████▀ ▄█
     ▀█▄ ▀▀█████████████▀▀ ▄█▀

       ▀▀█▄▄ ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ▄▄█▀▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
AppCoins










.
0WHITEPAPER0
.
0CROWDSALE0
Taras
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile WWW
July 31, 2017, 10:39:29 PM
 #11

I am aware of the Fork, and Coinbase said it will handle transactions through midnight PT today. Not sure exactly how to imbed screenshots, sorry.

the .655 BTC transfer is confirmed on Coinbase and the Electrum wallet says "Balance: 655.00303 mBTC"


mBTC is a unit of bitcoin equal to 1/1000. If Electrum says you have 655 mBTC, that converts to .655 BTC. There is probably a setting somewhere where you can determine whether to display mBTC or BTC.

It looks like there wasn't any transfer mistake, just a simple misunderstanding!

plamb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 10:42:31 PM
 #12

Boy, am I a dummy Embarrassed

Thanks for helping to clarify what mBTC means. Looks like I am good to go.

Thanks everyone for all of the rapid responses and helpful info. What a great community!
Minecache
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
July 31, 2017, 10:47:29 PM
 #13

Boy, am I a dummy Embarrassed

Thanks for helping to clarify what mBTC means. Looks like I am good to go.

Thanks everyone for all of the rapid responses and helpful info. What a great community!
You are new and learning. We all have to start somewhere. Main point is that you are now onboard the moonship. Time to pass on the crypto love to your frineds and family.

           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
       ▄▄█▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀█▄▄
     ▄█▀ ▄▄█████████████▄▄ ▀█▄

    █▀ ▄███████▀   ▀███████▄ ▀█
   █ ▄████████▀     ▀████████▄ █
  █ ▄████████▀       ▀████████▄ █

 █ ▄████████▀    █    ▀████████▄ █
▄▀▄█████        ▄█▄        █████▄▀▄
█ ██████▀▀▀     ███     ▀▀▀██████ █

█ ██████▄▄     ▄███▄     ▄▄██████ █
█ ███████▀     ▀▀▀▀▀     ▀███████ █
▀▄▀█████▀                 ▀█████▀▄▀

 █ ▀███▀      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄      ▀███▀ █
  █ ▀██      █████████      ██▀ █
   █ ▀██▄  ▄███████████▄  ▄██▀ █

    █▄ ▀███████████████████▀ ▄█
     ▀█▄ ▀▀█████████████▀▀ ▄█▀

       ▀▀█▄▄ ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ▄▄█▀▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
AppCoins










.
0WHITEPAPER0
.
0CROWDSALE0
plamb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 11:02:44 PM
 #14

Will do! Smiley
Lancusters
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
July 31, 2017, 11:28:15 PM
 #15

You feel like a millionaire? 655 bitcoin is $ 1.5 million. God forbid that in a few years you could really carry out such a transaction. I too at first was confused in these figures. They are all different sites. Be careful and don't worry more than you have coins website not translate.

.

███████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
█████████████
██████████████
██████████████
██████████████
██████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
██████████████
███████████████
█████████
███████████████
████████
████████████████████
█████████
██████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████












plamb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
August 01, 2017, 04:40:09 PM
 #16

BTW, if anyone wants to convert mBTC to BTC in Electrum, here is how:

You can change the display to BTC from Tools > Preferences > Appearance > Base Unit. Select BTC instead of mBTC.
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
August 01, 2017, 06:58:59 PM
 #17

FYI the amount you enter in the receive tab does not affect how much someone can send you. It's only for your own reference. The same goes for the description. It is not shared with anyone.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!