Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 04:53:34 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrical Question Please  (Read 870 times)
kritment
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 08:58:46 PM
 #1

Hey Gents,
Appreciate the patience as I go through this.
This could also be a noob question so please bear with me.
I have access to an Industrial Site with a 600 AMP Single Phase Power in the US with very favourable power costs.
I am trying to figure out how many 1KWh Miners I can put on this service without killing/burning anyone.
I will need 10 KWh for support equipment such as switches, routers, monitors etc.
Thanks once again, I have tried to look for answers online but getting a little confused with line voltage etc.
Thanks
 

1512968014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512968014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512968014
Reply with quote  #2

1512968014
Report to moderator
1512968014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512968014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512968014
Reply with quote  #2

1512968014
Report to moderator
1512968014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512968014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512968014
Reply with quote  #2

1512968014
Report to moderator
FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
9 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1512968014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512968014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512968014
Reply with quote  #2

1512968014
Report to moderator
1512968014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512968014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512968014
Reply with quote  #2

1512968014
Report to moderator
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 09:54:49 PM
 #2

watts = amp x voltage

600 amp @ 208v is just a hair under 125kw. Id say you can safely run 100 1kw miners. Dont forget you will need ventilation and other things also on that same power to make it work. More than just a few switches and whatnot.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 09:59:48 PM
 #3

Any simple google search regarding converting electric power will tell you that:
Watts = Volts x Amps
Plan on each miner taking 1,500w + another 15-20% reserve added because is a constant 24x7 load.
Do math.

-Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats http://bit.ly/1Qjt6lj
-For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself.
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
fusion0389
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 10:32:27 PM
 #4

Hey Gents,
Appreciate the patience as I go through this.
This could also be a noob question so please bear with me.
I have access to an Industrial Site with a 600 AMP Single Phase Power in the US with very favourable power costs.
I am trying to figure out how many 1KWh Miners I can put on this service without killing/burning anyone.
I will need 10 KWh for support equipment such as switches, routers, monitors etc.
Thanks once again, I have tried to look for answers online but getting a little confused with line voltage etc.
Thanks
 



The electrician that i consulted stated that when calculating 24/7 loads one should not exceed 80% of their rated max capacity. So take 600amps x .80 = 480amps of absolute max 24/7 capacity. If you're running 3 phase 208v power, multiply 208v X 480 = 99,840 MAX 24/7 load. S9's realistically pull 1350-1400 watts so 99,840/1400 = 70 S9's safely. However, that does not account for cooling and\or ventilation, lighting, networking equipment, etc. so you probably need to shave a little out of there to account for those loads.
kritment
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 10:50:01 PM
 #5

Thanks guys appreciate the replies.
US is 120v power supply, not sure if I should calculate at 208v
Thanks anyways
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 10:57:38 PM
 #6

When talking non-office space commercial power in the US it will be 208 or higher at the main panel. Probably single phase and split into 2x 110v branches at the main panel just like in homes. Just as with the home panels, remove any 2 adjacent single-pole breakers (110v each) and replace with single 2-pole breaker. Instant 208v circuit now ready to be wired correctly to a 208 plug.

When talking that kind of miner loads using 208 should be a no-brainer as there are several excellent choices for using low(ish) cost server PSU's and they are are all >208V in.

-Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats http://bit.ly/1Qjt6lj
-For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself.
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
kritment
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 11:27:48 PM
 #7

Thanks NotFuzzyWarm
No wonder you are legendary
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 08, 2017, 12:11:38 AM
 #8

Thx  Grin
As mentioned earlier, do keep in mind that all the power used ends up as heat and you must be sure to get rid of it. By and large, direct ventilation sucking the heat outside with large fans or blowers is most common and certainly the cheapest route.

-Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats http://bit.ly/1Qjt6lj
-For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself.
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
fusion0389
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
August 08, 2017, 12:46:47 AM
 #9

I second what notfuzzywarm said. I assumed you had 208 because that is what most commercial\industrial sites have. i have 240v at the panel that is split into (2) 120v phases. i'd suggest you get a commercial electrician out to your site for an eval. That'll tell you alot more about your current situation than anyone here can.
kritment
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
August 08, 2017, 01:45:14 AM
 #10

I second what notfuzzywarm said. I assumed you had 208 because that is what most commercial\industrial sites have. i have 240v at the panel that is split into (2) 120v phases. i'd suggest you get a commercial electrician out to your site for an eval. That'll tell you alot more about your current situation than anyone here can.

Thanks fusion0389
agree will get an electrician. just doing some initial feasibility to see if its even worth putting 100 miners.
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212



View Profile
August 08, 2017, 07:14:48 AM
 #11

Be sure to check the wires coming into your building from the pole,just because your panel has room for say 200 amps,if that drop from your pole is only rated at 100 amps (and I have seen MANY like this in homes) you will definitely not like the results  Wink

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
oawan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
August 08, 2017, 07:52:49 AM
 #12

Hey Gents,
Appreciate the patience as I go through this.
This could also be a noob question so please bear with me.
I have access to an Industrial Site with a 600 AMP Single Phase Power in the US with very favourable power costs.
I am trying to figure out how many 1KWh Miners I can put on this service without killing/burning anyone.
I will need 10 KWh for support equipment such as switches, routers, monitors etc.
Thanks once again, I have tried to look for answers online but getting a little confused with line voltage etc.
Thanks
 



The electrician that i consulted stated that when calculating 24/7 loads one should not exceed 80% of their rated max capacity. So take 600amps x .80 = 480amps of absolute max 24/7 capacity. If you're running 3 phase 208v power, multiply 208v X 480 = 99,840 MAX 24/7 load. S9's realistically pull 1350-1400 watts so 99,840/1400 = 70 S9's safely. However, that does not account for cooling and\or ventilation, lighting, networking equipment, etc. so you probably need to shave a little out of there to account for those loads.

Slight correction, max load would be 208 * 480 * 1.73 (the 1.73 accounts for the fact that the power coming in is 3 phase).
fusion0389
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
August 08, 2017, 12:01:52 PM
 #13

Hey Gents,
Appreciate the patience as I go through this.
This could also be a noob question so please bear with me.
I have access to an Industrial Site with a 600 AMP Single Phase Power in the US with very favourable power costs.
I am trying to figure out how many 1KWh Miners I can put on this service without killing/burning anyone.
I will need 10 KWh for support equipment such as switches, routers, monitors etc.
Thanks once again, I have tried to look for answers online but getting a little confused with line voltage etc.
Thanks
 



The electrician that i consulted stated that when calculating 24/7 loads one should not exceed 80% of their rated max capacity. So take 600amps x .80 = 480amps of absolute max 24/7 capacity. If you're running 3 phase 208v power, multiply 208v X 480 = 99,840 MAX 24/7 load. S9's realistically pull 1350-1400 watts so 99,840/1400 = 70 S9's safely. However, that does not account for cooling and\or ventilation, lighting, networking equipment, etc. so you probably need to shave a little out of there to account for those loads.

Slight correction, max load would be 208 * 480 * 1.73 (the 1.73 accounts for the fact that the power coming in is 3 phase).

Thanks for catching that error
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
August 08, 2017, 06:34:23 PM
 #14

Thanks guys appreciate the replies.
US is 120v power supply, not sure if I should calculate at 208v
Thanks anyways


 Single phase power in the US and Canada (not sure on Mexico) is normally supplied at a nominal 220 volts, but center-tapped to allow easy installation of 110 volt circuits.

 80% of 600 amps - 480 amps x 220 volts = 105.6 KW (appx), so that place should be able to handle 95 or so miners that soak 1KW from the wall comfortably, with some left over for fans lighting network gear and such (you stated 10kw, which should be a reasonably safe assumption if you don't use mechanical A/C to try to cool the miners).


 OP DID state "single phase power" - ignore the 3-phase calculations.

 600 amp service standard "split phase" 220 is pretty common for buildings.

 DO check the wiring though - it's COMMON for a panel to be rated higher than the actual power feed can handle.
 The MAIN BREAKER should be properly sized for the feed, but I've seen rare cases where some moron swapped it out for a higher-capacity breaker because they were overloading the original without bothering to check that the actual WIRING was rated for that capacity.

kritment
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
August 09, 2017, 04:04:32 AM
 #15

Thanks guys appreciate the replies.
US is 120v power supply, not sure if I should calculate at 208v
Thanks anyways


 Single phase power in the US and Canada (not sure on Mexico) is normally supplied at a nominal 220 volts, but center-tapped to allow easy installation of 110 volt circuits.

 80% of 600 amps - 480 amps x 220 volts = 105.6 KW (appx), so that place should be able to handle 95 or so miners that soak 1KW from the wall comfortably, with some left over for fans lighting network gear and such (you stated 10kw, which should be a reasonably safe assumption if you don't use mechanical A/C to try to cool the miners).


 OP DID state "single phase power" - ignore the 3-phase calculations.

 600 amp service standard "split phase" 220 is pretty common for buildings.

 DO check the wiring though - it's COMMON for a panel to be rated higher than the actual power feed can handle.
 The MAIN BREAKER should be properly sized for the feed, but I've seen rare cases where some moron swapped it out for a higher-capacity breaker because they were overloading the original without bothering to check that the actual WIRING was rated for that capacity.




Thanks QuintLeo
Yea not using AC, so 10 KW should be good.
One last question promise Smiley
On 3 Phase 600A how much would be the KWs? 316KW?
thanks
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
August 09, 2017, 08:46:15 PM
 #16

Depends on how the 3-phase feed is set up, between Delta Wye or that one wierd semi-Delta type setup nobody puts into new installations any more.

I've not worked directly with 3-phase in decades, so I don't remember exact details any more.

kritment
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
August 09, 2017, 09:19:18 PM
 #17

Depends on how the 3-phase feed is set up, between Delta Wye or that one wierd semi-Delta type setup nobody puts into new installations any more.

I've not worked directly with 3-phase in decades, so I don't remember exact details any more.


Thanks buddy appreciate the wisdom words
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 10, 2017, 12:45:12 AM
 #18

As mentioned earlier by folks talking 3-phase, it is V x A x1 .73 to give available 3-phase kw so 220v @ 600A is 228kW available. Not even going to get into the old but still common wild-leg 3-phase (no-no for miners) vs 'real' delta or wye...

-Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats http://bit.ly/1Qjt6lj
-For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself.
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
FUKT
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443



View Profile
August 10, 2017, 01:35:37 PM
 #19

agree will get an electrician. just doing some initial feasibility to see if its even worth putting 100 miners.
Please do spend a few bucks asking for the professional electrician advise, who will do all the necessary measurements and provide you with the maximum viable constant load, as QuintLeo is right in that real numbers can be much different from the nominal, and in reality your net could support only 30 miners plus cooling equipment (if you need one).
kritment
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
August 10, 2017, 09:57:05 PM
 #20

Thanks you all for your input.
QuintLeo and fuzzywarm do you have donation address? so i can drop something in there wont be big.... im a newbie Smiley
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!