Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2018, 06:41:57 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Just a quick question about S9  (Read 757 times)
Zionistic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 09:42:00 PM
 #1

Hello guys,since i am completely new into bitcoin minning(i actually know about it for a long time but never had the time/money for it). Now i finally got the important part for the start.. Money..

So im using a pretty okay pc(intel i7 6700k 4.0 ghz,nvidia 1070 8gb,and 16 gigs of ram). Im mostly using this pc for playing videos games surfing the web and stuff like that.
Im in a dilema for just one reason. Im thinking about buying the Antminer S9,the question that i have is,when i hook up the Antminer S9 with my current pc,will that pc be usable still for playing video games and other stuff? Cuz i wont use pcs gpu and stuff for minning since i will have the minning machine.

Thank you in advance. Zion!(and no im not a jew,if ur wondering cuz of name)  
1542782517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542782517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542782517
Reply with quote  #2

1542782517
Report to moderator
1542782517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542782517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542782517
Reply with quote  #2

1542782517
Report to moderator
1542782517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542782517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542782517
Reply with quote  #2

1542782517
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
xhomerx10
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1670



View Profile
August 08, 2017, 03:22:59 AM
 #2

You only need the computer to access the S9 control panel to set it up.

NiHaoMike
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
August 08, 2017, 03:34:51 AM
 #3

If he's going to solo mine (would need a lot of miners for that to make sense), wouldn't he need to run a full node on his PC? Not that it would be of any problem - any remotely modern PC would run a full node no problem.

I use cryptocurrency and solar power to help my best friend Naomi Wu... And I'm proud of it!
xhomerx10
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1670



View Profile
August 08, 2017, 03:52:50 AM
 #4

If he's going to solo mine (would need a lot of miners for that to make sense), wouldn't he need to run a full node on his PC? Not that it would be of any problem - any remotely modern PC would run a full node no problem.

 Yes if he was going to solo mine on his computer but that would be wasteful when he can solo mine on CK's pool for 1% of this winnings.  This is a highly speculative venture though and I would not recommend purchasing and operating an S9 as a solo miner.


jaki10
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 08, 2017, 06:48:18 AM
 #5

if you are going to mine i suggest you build your separate mining rig because if you mine with your own pc the life span of you computer will shorten. And if you build your own RIG you can have a bigger ROI
khaled0111
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 108


NHCT (NanoHealthCare Token)A blockchain powered ec


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2017, 04:56:34 PM
 #6

if your are going to use just the antminer s9 to mine then it's ok, you can use your pc normally. because you just need it to access your antminer and that dont require huge resources.
but if you intend to use your graphic card to mine too you will have some problem playing games wih high graphic or using sofisticated softwares such as image iditing softwares.
you can plug more than one graphic card that will help.

▄██ NanoHealthcare Token ██▄
  ▄ A Blockchain powered ecosystem of Total Health ▄
Gintama214
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250

DONATION SENPAI PLEASE <3 <3


View Profile
August 08, 2017, 05:36:36 PM
 #7

Well if your going to have Antminer S9 then you don't need to worry about you computer being laggy and slow because the rig is the only that is running but if you are going to use your GPU for mining then that well affect you computers system. Me myself mine in 1050 Ti GPU i know its really not much but I can't afford to have antminer so that's why I'm mining GPU but if I do mine in GPU my computer gets laggy and you can't do gaming while mining. So if you really are buying antminer S9 that's really a good thing and you make profit in your mine.  Smiley
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1022


View Profile
August 08, 2017, 06:43:43 PM
 #8

The S9 does not use your computer for it's mining work - it is a self-contained unit with it's own small computer (Rasperry Pi or similar) to handle network connections and such.

 If you solo mine, you would have to run a wallet on your computer to mine against, and that MIGHT affect your gaming some.

 If you pool mine, it's not an issue at all - you only use a browser on your computer when you set up or change the setup on your miner, and to keep an eye on the pool stats and such.


I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!