Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 01:27:55 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AvalonMiner 741 PSU recommendation please  (Read 2240 times)
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 742


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
September 09, 2017, 10:18:11 PM
 #21

Hi!

I bought 1 miner avalon 741 ando 2 psu evga 650w BQ.

can you explain how it connects?
Please see this for guidance:


Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513474075
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513474075

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513474075
Reply with quote  #2

1513474075
Report to moderator
1513474075
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513474075

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513474075
Reply with quote  #2

1513474075
Report to moderator
1513474075
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513474075

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513474075
Reply with quote  #2

1513474075
Report to moderator
rigooooo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
September 09, 2017, 10:43:17 PM
 #22

Hi!

I bought 1 miner avalon 741 ando 2 psu evga 650w BQ.

can you explain how it connects?
Please see this for guidance:

http://i.imgur.com/KkOQRbA.jpg

hi.. can you explain me?

i am really rookie, and is too much cables.

this is ok??

https://imgur.com/yloSsSY

https://imgur.com/NPuAYqq

https://imgur.com/yloSsSY
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 742


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
September 09, 2017, 10:55:23 PM
 #23

No.

Use invididual PCI-E cables for all connectors.

You should have one more modular PCI-E cable to use it in the power supply's "VGA3" connector

ATCkit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 778


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 08:33:35 PM
 #24

Would this PSU work for 1 Avakon 741?

http://www.parallelminer.com/product/2466/

It has 10 x 6 pin PCI E cables. The  A 741 only needs 6.
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 742


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 09:21:17 PM
 #25

There was a lot of psu issues with the APLUSPOWER power supply back in the Antminer S4 days, I would not recommend it.

You would be much better with the HP DPS-1200 FB A server power supply http://www.parallelminer.com/product/1200watt-psu-kit-for-avalon-721-80-platinum-high-efficiency-at-94-120v-240v/

You need the mains voltage 208 V or higher with this particular power supply.

ATCkit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 778


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 11:38:48 PM
 #26

There was a lot of psu issues with the APLUSPOWER power supply back in the Antminer S4 days, I would not recommend it.

You would be much better with the HP DPS-1200 FB A server power supply http://www.parallelminer.com/product/1200watt-psu-kit-for-avalon-721-80-platinum-high-efficiency-at-94-120v-240v/

You need the mains voltage 208 V or higher with this particular power supply.

Yup- I have 220 volts and a 30 AMP PDU.
Yes, I was considering the HP DPS-1200 FB A server PSU. Does it have enough extra watts to run an 1150 watt rig?

Reason I ask is that with ATX PSUs, most say not to exceed 90 per cent of the PSUs capacity.
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 742


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
October 18, 2017, 02:09:55 PM
 #27

Server power supplies are a different story.
They can actually do the 100% load where as the ATX can't.

ATCkit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 778


View Profile
October 18, 2017, 08:43:10 PM
 #28

Server power supplies are a different story.
They can actually do the 100% load where as the ATX can't.

Good to know. Thx again HaggsFIN.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
October 18, 2017, 10:46:44 PM
 #29

Server power supplies are a different story.
They can actually do the 100% load where as the ATX can't.

Good to know. Thx again HaggsFIN.

Run it a day at -1
Run it a day at -2

Run it a day at 0

I found that with 240 volts

The hps-1200. Likes -1 best


Parallelminer has   slush

As a 5% discount code.

I have an affiliate link you can pm me for it.

But the 5% code works without the affiliate code

Or with it.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
hectorviov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 01:05:39 AM
 #30

First post in the forums

Server power supplies are a different story.
They can actually do the 100% load where as the ATX can't.

Long story short: I bought some Chinese low quality PSUs and the Avalonminer 741 runs fine, but the PSUs are failing very quickly. I proceeded to buy https://www.deepinthemines.com/collections/power-supplies/products/bitmain-antminer-s9-94-platinum-1950w-psu-power-supply-complete-kit-120v-240v from deep in the mines and they are running perfectly.

The question here is: I can power the Avalon741 miners with only the one PSU of 1200W and the breakout board? Did I wasted that extra money  Angry Angry Angry? Also have you tried powering them with that same PSU (only the 1200W one)?

I have 240v outlets.

You need the AvalonMiner controller.

Are you certain I need the controller? I was thinking in setting up a linux server with CGMiner to have more granular control over the miners instead of using the Raspberry Pi.

Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!