Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 12:30:44 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Will a EVGA 850 WATT Platinum be enough for 4 GTX 1060 cards?  (Read 1326 times)
BennyT
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 02:27:36 AM
 #21

Forgot to add.. I originally went wth a celeron. It stinks. I already upgraded it. It's fine for four cards but I couldn't run two miners at the same time without a wildly variable hash rate.
1513125044
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513125044

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513125044
Reply with quote  #2

1513125044
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
faxxer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 04:31:08 AM
 #22

It's more than enough, you can lower from platinum to gold series.

bigjee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
August 15, 2017, 04:52:37 AM
 #23

yes more than enough. i run 4 x 1070's on a 850w corsair which pulls 560w at the wall.
Theoretical tdp is never realistic.
kryptoknightk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 11:28:51 PM
 #24

Thanks for all the help guys, I bought the Asrock H81 PRO BTC instead and switched the PSU from EVGA to Seasonic 860 Platinum since Seasonic got a better reputation. Will probably have some questions while I build my rig since I will be using Linux, will post a different thread if I do. Smiley

▬▬▬ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ E i d o o ▬ your blockchain asset experience ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▬▬▬
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ " Token Sale Raised 82,372.33 ETH " ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
▬▬▬ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ TwitterFacebook  ▰ BountyDiscussion ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▬▬▬
Undefined31415
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 280

Gone phishing...


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2017, 01:08:15 AM
 #25

Thanks for all the help guys, I bought the Asrock H81 PRO BTC instead and switched the PSU from EVGA to Seasonic 860 Platinum since Seasonic got a better reputation. Will probably have some questions while I build my rig since I will be using Linux, will post a different thread if I do. Smiley

EVGA sells good PSUs, and so does Seasonic. Most EVGA PSUs actually have their guts manufactured by Seasonic, so either one is usually a good bet.

Good luck with your rig!

         ▄███████████████▄
       ▄██▀             ▀██▄
    ▄▄██▀                 ▀██▄▄
█████▀▀       ▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄    ▀▀█████
██          ▄▀ ▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▄▀█▄▄      ██
▐█▌       ▄▀ ▄▀ ▄▄▄▀▀▀▄▀▀▀███   ▐█▌
 ██      ▄▀▄▀▄▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▀█ ▄█▀   ██
 ▐█▌    █▄▀▄▀▄█▀▀▀ ▀█▀ ▄▀▄▀█   ▐█▌
  ██    █▄▀▄▀▄▄█▀ ▄▀ ▄▀▄▀▄▀█   ██
  ▐█▌ ▀▄█████▀▄▄▀▀▄▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀█  ▐█▌
   ██▌▀████▀██▄▄▀▀▄▄▀▄▀▄▀▄█▀ ▐██
    ██▌▀█▀▀█▄▀▀▄▀▀▄▄▀▄█▄▄█▀ ▐██
     ██▌ ▀  ▀███▄▄▄█████▀  ▐██
      ██▄      ▀▀▀▀▀      ▄██
       ▀██▄             ▄██▀
         ▀██▄         ▄██▀
           ▀██▄     ▄██▀
             ▀███▄███▀
               ▀███▀
DeepOnion 
★ ★ ★ ★ ★   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED
★  Your Anonymity Guaranteed
★  Your Assets Secured by TOR
★  Guard Your Privacy!
|Bitcointalk
Reddit
Telegram
|                        ▄▄▀▄▄▀▄▄▀▄▀▀
                    ▄▄██▀█▀▄▀▀▀
                  ▄██▄█▄██▀
                ▄██████▀
              ▄██████▀
  ▄█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
██████▀▀▀▀▀██████▀
 ▀█████  ▄███████
  ████████████▀██
  ██▀███████▀  ██
  ██ ▀████▀    ██
  ██   ▀▀      ██
  ▀█████████████▀
ghostwalker.ph
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
August 16, 2017, 02:22:43 AM
 #26

You can try power limit at 60-70% so that lower wattage is consumed. then pump the memory high because mining eth needs hugher memory speeds.

▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
bmartin44
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
August 20, 2017, 07:38:51 AM
 #27

yes more than enough. i run 4 x 1070's on a 850w corsair which pulls 560w at the wall.
Theoretical tdp is never realistic.

Maybe you have under volt your 1070 or the coin that you mined required less power. I have tested with mine at stock clock, pulls ~165w on single 1070 itself.

coinnoob_za
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 03:14:18 PM
 #28

My 6 x GTX1060 Rig uses 640W at the wall measured by power meter on a Corsair 1000X 1000W PSU.

Power limit in AB is 50%

Still getting 23.6MH/s

Always do your best, what you plant now, you will Mine Later.
szafa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 03:30:02 PM
 #29

How much one your gtx 1060 power limit multiply four times plus cpu,hdd etc.
dragonmike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
August 21, 2017, 03:48:59 PM
 #30

Thanks for all the help guys, I bought the Asrock H81 PRO BTC instead and switched the PSU from EVGA to Seasonic 860 Platinum since Seasonic got a better reputation. Will probably have some questions while I build my rig since I will be using Linux, will post a different thread if I do. Smiley

EVGA sells good PSUs, and so does Seasonic. Most EVGA PSUs actually have their guts manufactured by Seasonic, so either one is usually a good bet.

Good luck with your rig!
I'm about to RMA my second EVGA 750GQ. They were powering four RX570's (undervolted to 850mV). The first one died after a month, the second two months later. I am not impressed.

For reference, I've got a 750W XFX PSU that was working for 6 months mining full load 24/7 back in 2014. Then recycled it to power a thin client htpc for 3 years. Now it's powering mobo+cpu+SSD+3xRX570 since April and it hasn't faltered a single time.

    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   
   ████████████████████████████████  
     ▀██████████████████████████▀    
        ▀████████████████████▀       
          ████████████████▀         
            █████████████           
            ▀████████████▀           
             ▀██████████▀            
              ██████████             
               ████████              
               ▀██████▀              
                ██████               
                  ▀                  
.
.trade.io.
██████
██████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
██████
██████

▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
██████
██████
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
██████
██████
.
.Join the Trading Revolution.
jdash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 05:23:52 PM
 #31

more than enough, you can you 750w also
shibob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
August 22, 2017, 06:33:33 AM
 #32

I'm using 850W psu for 6 GTX 1060 without any problem. At my setting Power limit 80%, each card just draws about 95W.

Btw, I gonna build 1 more rig 6 GTX 1070 (each card might consumes about 145W), I'm not sure how much power mobo+riser uses, so is that ok if I use 1 PSU Great Wall 1250W?

Thanks!

                                                                                 Fully scalable freelancing market    ✔︎     ǀ      Follow us & check our whitepaper 
C R Y P T O T A S K     ǀ     Decentralized task market     ǀ     Low fees - no limits - task market    ✔︎     ǀ                                                                           
                                                                                           Earn money by being a reviewer     ✔︎     ǀ      Website    Announcement    Twitter    Facebook
bmartin44
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 11:30:32 AM
 #33

I'm using 850W psu for 6 GTX 1060 without any problem. At my setting Power limit 80%, each card just draws about 95W.

Btw, I gonna build 1 more rig 6 GTX 1070 (each card might consumes about 145W), I'm not sure how much power mobo+riser uses, so is that ok if I use 1 PSU Great Wall 1250W?

Thanks!

If you are going to undervolt 1070 to 145W, then 1250W PSU is enough for your rig. Mobo usually utilize less than 100W, I have measured my mining rig, idle at around ~80W, riser will not draw much power, so don't worry about it.

Isten
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 12:39:03 PM
 #34

 Dont worry its more than enough. Btw you can downvolt your cards if you not sure  Wink
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!