Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2018, 09:52:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Will a EVGA 850 WATT Platinum be enough for 4 GTX 1060 cards?  (Read 1364 times)
BennyT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 108


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 02:27:36 AM
 #21

Forgot to add.. I originally went wth a celeron. It stinks. I already upgraded it. It's fine for four cards but I couldn't run two miners at the same time without a wildly variable hash rate.
1527069170
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527069170

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527069170
Reply with quote  #2

1527069170
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527069170
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527069170

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527069170
Reply with quote  #2

1527069170
Report to moderator
1527069170
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527069170

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527069170
Reply with quote  #2

1527069170
Report to moderator
1527069170
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527069170

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527069170
Reply with quote  #2

1527069170
Report to moderator
faxxer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 200
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 04:31:08 AM
 #22

It's more than enough, you can lower from platinum to gold series.

bigjee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 107



View Profile
August 15, 2017, 04:52:37 AM
 #23

yes more than enough. i run 4 x 1070's on a 850w corsair which pulls 560w at the wall.
Theoretical tdp is never realistic.
kryptoknightk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 11:28:51 PM
 #24

Thanks for all the help guys, I bought the Asrock H81 PRO BTC instead and switched the PSU from EVGA to Seasonic 860 Platinum since Seasonic got a better reputation. Will probably have some questions while I build my rig since I will be using Linux, will post a different thread if I do. Smiley

Undefined31415
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250

Gone phishing...


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2017, 01:08:15 AM
 #25

Thanks for all the help guys, I bought the Asrock H81 PRO BTC instead and switched the PSU from EVGA to Seasonic 860 Platinum since Seasonic got a better reputation. Will probably have some questions while I build my rig since I will be using Linux, will post a different thread if I do. Smiley

EVGA sells good PSUs, and so does Seasonic. Most EVGA PSUs actually have their guts manufactured by Seasonic, so either one is usually a good bet.

Good luck with your rig!

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   Anonymity Guaranteed
   Anonymous and Untraceable
   Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
ghostwalker.ph
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 102



View Profile
August 16, 2017, 02:22:43 AM
 #26

You can try power limit at 60-70% so that lower wattage is consumed. then pump the memory high because mining eth needs hugher memory speeds.

▐▐   ▬▬▬▬▬   DeepOnion   ▬▬▬▬▬   ▌▌
████    40 PUBLIC AIRDROPS COMPLETED    TOR INTEGRATED    ████
▬▬▬▬   (✔) DeepVault Blockchain File Signatures  •  VoteCentral Your Vote Counts  •  deeponion.org   ▬▬▬▬
bmartin44
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 20, 2017, 07:38:51 AM
 #27

yes more than enough. i run 4 x 1070's on a 850w corsair which pulls 560w at the wall.
Theoretical tdp is never realistic.

Maybe you have under volt your 1070 or the coin that you mined required less power. I have tested with mine at stock clock, pulls ~165w on single 1070 itself.

coinnoob_za
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 03:14:18 PM
 #28

My 6 x GTX1060 Rig uses 640W at the wall measured by power meter on a Corsair 1000X 1000W PSU.

Power limit in AB is 50%

Still getting 23.6MH/s

Always do your best, what you plant now, you will Mine Later.
szafa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 21, 2017, 03:30:02 PM
 #29

How much one your gtx 1060 power limit multiply four times plus cpu,hdd etc.


              ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
     ▄██████▀▀▀          ▀▀▀██████▄
   ▄████▀                      ▀████▄
 ▄███▀                            ▀███▄
 ███                                ███
▐██▌                                ▐██▌
▐██▌                                ▐██▌
 ███                                ███
 ▀███▄                            ▄███▀
 ▄ ▀████▄                      ▄████▀ ▄
 ▀█▄ ▀██████▄▄▄          ▄▄▄██████▀ ▄█▀
   ▀██▄▄ ▀████████████████████▀ ▄▄██▀
      ▀███▄▄▄▄  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  ▄▄▄▄███▀
          ▀▀▀██████████████▀▀▀
████
████
████





████
████
████
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
....Pay anywhere, buy anything with Crypto.....
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
ANN THREAD..WHITEPAPER..BOUNTY THREAD
████
████
████





████
████
████

              ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
     ▄██████▀▀▀          ▀▀▀██████▄
   ▄████▀                      ▀████▄
 ▄███▀             ▄███▌          ▀███▄
 ███               ██▀              ███
▐██▌             ██████             ▐██▌
▐██▌               ██               ▐██▌
 ███               ██               ███
 ▀███▄             ▀▀             ▄███▀
 ▄ ▀████▄                      ▄████▀ ▄
 ▀█▄ ▀██████▄▄▄          ▄▄▄██████▀ ▄█▀
   ▀██▄▄ ▀████████████████████▀ ▄▄██▀
      ▀███▄▄▄▄  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  ▄▄▄▄███▀
          ▀▀▀██████████████▀▀▀

              ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
     ▄██████▀▀▀          ▀▀▀██████▄
   ▄████▀             ▄▄▄ ▄    ▀████▄
 ▄███▀       █▄     ▄█████▄       ▀███▄
 ███         ▐███▄▄▄██████          ███
▐██▌          ▀███████████          ▐██▌
▐██▌           ▄█████████           ▐██▌
 ███            ▀█████▀▀            ███
 ▀███▄         ▀▀▀▀               ▄███▀
 ▄ ▀████▄                      ▄████▀ ▄
 ▀█▄ ▀██████▄▄▄          ▄▄▄██████▀ ▄█▀
   ▀██▄▄ ▀████████████████████▀ ▄▄██▀
      ▀███▄▄▄▄  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  ▄▄▄▄███▀
          ▀▀▀██████████████▀▀▀
dragonmike
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


“Blockchain Connection Framework”


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 03:48:59 PM
 #30

Thanks for all the help guys, I bought the Asrock H81 PRO BTC instead and switched the PSU from EVGA to Seasonic 860 Platinum since Seasonic got a better reputation. Will probably have some questions while I build my rig since I will be using Linux, will post a different thread if I do. Smiley

EVGA sells good PSUs, and so does Seasonic. Most EVGA PSUs actually have their guts manufactured by Seasonic, so either one is usually a good bet.

Good luck with your rig!
I'm about to RMA my second EVGA 750GQ. They were powering four RX570's (undervolted to 850mV). The first one died after a month, the second two months later. I am not impressed.

For reference, I've got a 750W XFX PSU that was working for 6 months mining full load 24/7 back in 2014. Then recycled it to power a thin client htpc for 3 years. Now it's powering mobo+cpu+SSD+3xRX570 since April and it hasn't faltered a single time.

███████████████████████████████████████
███████▀ ▄▄▄ ▀██▌ ███ ▐███ ▀████ ██▌ ██
███████ █████ ██ ▌▐█▌▐ ███ ▄ ▀██ ██▌ ██
███████▄ ▀▀▀ ▄█▌▐█ █ █▌▐██ ██▄ ▀ ██▌ ██
███████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█ ███ ███ ██ ████▄ ██▌ ██
███████████████████████████████████████
███████▄▄▄ ▄▄▄█ ████ ██ ▄▄▄▄▀███ ▄▄▄▄██
██████████ ████ ████ ██ █████ ██ ▀▀▀███
██████████ ████ ████ ██ █████ ██ ██████
██████████ ████▄▀▀▀▀▄██ ▀▀▀▀▄███ ▀▀▀▀██
██████████████████████████████████████▀
████████████████████████████████████▀
██████████████████████████████████▀
OMNITUDE▄████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
▀████
.
TWITTER     REDDIT     LINKEDIN
ANN THREAD
FACEBOOK          TELEGRAM
████▄
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
████▀
  JOINNOW
jdash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 05:23:52 PM
 #31

more than enough, you can you 750w also
shibob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 148


Native Vietnamese, Professional Translator


View Profile WWW
August 22, 2017, 06:33:33 AM
 #32

I'm using 850W psu for 6 GTX 1060 without any problem. At my setting Power limit 80%, each card just draws about 95W.

Btw, I gonna build 1 more rig 6 GTX 1070 (each card might consumes about 145W), I'm not sure how much power mobo+riser uses, so is that ok if I use 1 PSU Great Wall 1250W?

Thanks!

◆  ◆  ◆  ◇      P L A Z A      ◇  ◆  ◆  ◆            The Intersection of Lifestyle & Technology
[ WHITEPAPER ]     PRE-SALE Starts  │  March 15th, 2018     [ ANN THREAD ]
TELEGRAM        GITHUB       MEDIUM        YOUTUBE        TWITTER        FLIPBOARD        REDDIT        LINKEDIN        FACEBOOK        EMAIL
bmartin44
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 11:30:32 AM
 #33

I'm using 850W psu for 6 GTX 1060 without any problem. At my setting Power limit 80%, each card just draws about 95W.

Btw, I gonna build 1 more rig 6 GTX 1070 (each card might consumes about 145W), I'm not sure how much power mobo+riser uses, so is that ok if I use 1 PSU Great Wall 1250W?

Thanks!

If you are going to undervolt 1070 to 145W, then 1250W PSU is enough for your rig. Mobo usually utilize less than 100W, I have measured my mining rig, idle at around ~80W, riser will not draw much power, so don't worry about it.

Isten
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 12:39:03 PM
 #34

 Dont worry its more than enough. Btw you can downvolt your cards if you not sure  Wink
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!