Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 11:58:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Will a EVGA 850 WATT Platinum be enough for 4 GTX 1060 cards?  (Read 1205 times)
BennyT
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 02:27:36 AM
 #21

Forgot to add.. I originally went wth a celeron. It stinks. I already upgraded it. It's fine for four cards but I couldn't run two miners at the same time without a wildly variable hash rate.
1508759896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508759896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508759896
Reply with quote  #2

1508759896
Report to moderator
1508759896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508759896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508759896
Reply with quote  #2

1508759896
Report to moderator
1508759896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508759896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508759896
Reply with quote  #2

1508759896
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
faxxer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 04:31:08 AM
 #22

It's more than enough, you can lower from platinum to gold series.
bigjee
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 04:52:37 AM
 #23

yes more than enough. i run 4 x 1070's on a 850w corsair which pulls 560w at the wall.
Theoretical tdp is never realistic.
kryptoknightk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 11:28:51 PM
 #24

Thanks for all the help guys, I bought the Asrock H81 PRO BTC instead and switched the PSU from EVGA to Seasonic 860 Platinum since Seasonic got a better reputation. Will probably have some questions while I build my rig since I will be using Linux, will post a different thread if I do. Smiley

▬▬▬ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ E i d o o ▬ your blockchain asset experience ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▬▬▬
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ " Token Sale Raised 82,372.33 ETH " ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
▬▬▬ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ TwitterFacebook  ▰ BountyDiscussion ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▬▬▬
Undefined31415
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224

Gone phishing...


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2017, 01:08:15 AM
 #25

Thanks for all the help guys, I bought the Asrock H81 PRO BTC instead and switched the PSU from EVGA to Seasonic 860 Platinum since Seasonic got a better reputation. Will probably have some questions while I build my rig since I will be using Linux, will post a different thread if I do. Smiley

EVGA sells good PSUs, and so does Seasonic. Most EVGA PSUs actually have their guts manufactured by Seasonic, so either one is usually a good bet.

Good luck with your rig!

████→→       ● DeepOnion                                                                       ✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯ 
████→→       ● Tor integrated, 100% anonymous!                                       Get Your FREE Coins NOW!     
████→→       ● Free Airdrop! (No ICO, No Crowdfund)                       ✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯


BTC: 1M6hTGmfh7dgwKFdE28TmKdoHBrBUusPvs

Thank you!
ghostwalker.ph
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 16, 2017, 02:22:43 AM
 #26

You can try power limit at 60-70% so that lower wattage is consumed. then pump the memory high because mining eth needs hugher memory speeds.

████→→       ● DeepOnion                                                                       ✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯ 
████→→       ● Tor integrated, 100% anonymous!                                ✯     Get Your FREE Coins NOW!        ✯
████→→       ● Free Airdrop! (No ICO, No Crowdfund)                        ✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯
bmartin44
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78

oneK token, 1000 token only, Less is More!


View Profile
August 20, 2017, 07:38:51 AM
 #27

yes more than enough. i run 4 x 1070's on a 850w corsair which pulls 560w at the wall.
Theoretical tdp is never realistic.

Maybe you have under volt your 1070 or the coin that you mined required less power. I have tested with mine at stock clock, pulls ~165w on single 1070 itself.

🔥🔥🔥  oneK  🔥🔥🔥
🔥 1,000 token only . Less is More 🔥
Annoucement
coinnoob_za
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 03:14:18 PM
 #28

My 6 x GTX1060 Rig uses 640W at the wall measured by power meter on a Corsair 1000X 1000W PSU.

Power limit in AB is 50%

Still getting 23.6MH/s

Always do your best, what you plant now, you will Mine Later.
szafa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
August 21, 2017, 03:30:02 PM
 #29

How much one your gtx 1060 power limit multiply four times plus cpu,hdd etc.


▄████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
███████                █████████     █████████         ███████████
███████                  ███████     ███████             █████████
███████     ████████      ██████     █████      █████      ███████
███████     ████████      ██████     █████     ███████     ███████
███████     ████████     ███████     █████     ███████     ███████
███████                 ████████     █████     ███████     ███████
███████                 ████████     █████     ███████     ███████
███████     ████████     ███████     █████     ███████     ███████
███████     ████████      ██████     █████     ███████     ███████
███████     ████████      ██████     █████      █████      ███████
███████                  ███████     ███████             █████████
███████                █████████     █████████         ███████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▀████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
Coin





● Official site
● Facebook
● Telegram


PRESALE:
25 September, 2017
dragonmike
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Genesis Vision - ICO is live!


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 03:48:59 PM
 #30

Thanks for all the help guys, I bought the Asrock H81 PRO BTC instead and switched the PSU from EVGA to Seasonic 860 Platinum since Seasonic got a better reputation. Will probably have some questions while I build my rig since I will be using Linux, will post a different thread if I do. Smiley

EVGA sells good PSUs, and so does Seasonic. Most EVGA PSUs actually have their guts manufactured by Seasonic, so either one is usually a good bet.

Good luck with your rig!
I'm about to RMA my second EVGA 750GQ. They were powering four RX570's (undervolted to 850mV). The first one died after a month, the second two months later. I am not impressed.

For reference, I've got a 750W XFX PSU that was working for 6 months mining full load 24/7 back in 2014. Then recycled it to power a thin client htpc for 3 years. Now it's powering mobo+cpu+SSD+3xRX570 since April and it hasn't faltered a single time.

jdash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 05:23:52 PM
 #31

more than enough, you can you 750w also
shibob
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 84


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 06:33:33 AM
 #32

I'm using 850W psu for 6 GTX 1060 without any problem. At my setting Power limit 80%, each card just draws about 95W.

Btw, I gonna build 1 more rig 6 GTX 1070 (each card might consumes about 145W), I'm not sure how much power mobo+riser uses, so is that ok if I use 1 PSU Great Wall 1250W?

Thanks!
bmartin44
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78

oneK token, 1000 token only, Less is More!


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 11:30:32 AM
 #33

I'm using 850W psu for 6 GTX 1060 without any problem. At my setting Power limit 80%, each card just draws about 95W.

Btw, I gonna build 1 more rig 6 GTX 1070 (each card might consumes about 145W), I'm not sure how much power mobo+riser uses, so is that ok if I use 1 PSU Great Wall 1250W?

Thanks!

If you are going to undervolt 1070 to 145W, then 1250W PSU is enough for your rig. Mobo usually utilize less than 100W, I have measured my mining rig, idle at around ~80W, riser will not draw much power, so don't worry about it.

🔥🔥🔥  oneK  🔥🔥🔥
🔥 1,000 token only . Less is More 🔥
Annoucement
Isten
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 12:39:03 PM
 #34

 Dont worry its more than enough. Btw you can downvolt your cards if you not sure  Wink
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!