Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 07:54:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 8 GPU rig (RX 570 on Asus Z270-P) with no splitters?  (Read 413 times)
brokenarrow2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 10:14:26 AM
 #1

Did anyone manage to get 8 GPU's (RX 570) working on an Asus Prime Z270-P?

The GPU's I'm using are Sapphire Nitro+ RX 570 (6 hynix + 2 micron).

6 are powered by a EVGA 1200 P2
2 are powered by a EVGA 750 G2

I've got 7 cards working fine, and each of the M.2 slots work fine, and all the risers, by trying them one by one.

But when i use both M.2 slots, to have effectively 8 cards connected to the motherboard, only 5 or 6 cards show up.

I have a PCI-E 1X to 3 Slot Switch Hub Riser Card + Power Connector + USB 3.0 Cable AC816 but I never got it to work in any slots.

So it would be nice if I could get it working without a splitter, since I'd have to wait for a new one to arrive.

Anyone with a similar setup got this working?
1511164461
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164461

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164461
Reply with quote  #2

1511164461
Report to moderator
1511164461
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164461

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164461
Reply with quote  #2

1511164461
Report to moderator
Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! With Bitcoin-Qt, it needs to be backed up at least as often as every 100 transactions (both sends and receipts) or new addresses.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511164461
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164461

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164461
Reply with quote  #2

1511164461
Report to moderator
h311m4n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 11:38:10 AM
 #2

Did anyone manage to get 8 GPU's (RX 570) working on an Asus Prime Z270-P?

The GPU's I'm using are Sapphire Nitro+ RX 570 (6 hynix + 2 micron).

6 are powered by a EVGA 1200 P2
2 are powered by a EVGA 750 G2

I've got 7 cards working fine, and each of the M.2 slots work fine, and all the risers, by trying them one by one.

But when i use both M.2 slots, to have effectively 8 cards connected to the motherboard, only 5 or 6 cards show up.

I have a PCI-E 1X to 3 Slot Switch Hub Riser Card + Power Connector + USB 3.0 Cable AC816 but I never got it to work in any slots.

So it would be nice if I could get it working without a splitter, since I'd have to wait for a new one to arrive.

Anyone with a similar setup got this working?

8 GPUs work perfectly fine on the Z270-A using all available pci-e slots + 1 m2 to pci-e and just setting 4G decoding enabled in the bios.

I'm honestly not sure of this, but I think you can't use both m2 slots for risers, I think I read that once but I might be wrong. Or maybe you need some hockus-pockus. Updated the bios to the latest version?

Why use 2 PSUs? A 1200W PSU can perfectly handle 8 undervolted and modded 570 nitro+' at 1150W total, that's what I have at least.

EDIT: nevermind 8 GPUs work on this board https://www.reddit.com/r/ethtrader/comments/6djmnf/how_to_build_an_8_gpu_mining_rig_z270p_rx580_8g/
brokenarrow2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 11:52:13 AM
 #3

Z270-P only has 6 PCIe slots and 2 M.2 slots, so that's the problem...

Not sure about the wattage, but my 1200W only has 6 GPU out slots, so I don't know how to connect 8 of them. Is it safe to split one VGA power out to drive 2 GPU's and 2 risers?

I currently power each card with the 8-pin, and continue the 6-pin to the riser.
h311m4n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 11:59:54 AM
 #4

Yeah, the A has one more pci-e 1x slot. I don't have the P so I can't really help you further or confirm 8 GPUs work on it.

Have you tried to DDU and then reinstall the driver? Inserting each GPU one by one and rebooting each time? Enabled 4G decoding? Windows in UEFI?

As for the PSU, I only use corsair. Usually, one PCI-E to 2x PCI-e 8pin cable powers 2 cards and I power 2 risers per molex cables. I just avoid the sata to molex adapters.
brokenarrow2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 02:16:31 PM
 #5

Yes, that's what I did, one by one until 7. Then at 8 it starts to freak out, and going to 5 cards Tongue

Hoping to see if anyone else succeeded. Cryptomined on Youtube did a video on 8 gpus on Z270-P with RX 580 but he's using some 1 to 3 pci splitters, which I never got working in my case.

Not sure exactly which version of the splitter he has, only that he only uses 2 risers in each 3-way splitter. I saw someone with a 4-way splitter using all cards. Is Cryptomined here on bitcointtalk maybe? Smiley

But none of the cards really have any brands so it's hard to find the exact right one, and even if you do, it might be DOA Tongue
h311m4n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 02:30:30 PM
 #6

Yes, that's what I did, one by one until 7. Then at 8 it starts to freak out, and going to 5 cards Tongue

Hoping to see if anyone else succeeded. Cryptomined on Youtube did a video on 8 gpus on Z270-P with RX 580 but he's using some 1 to 3 pci splitters, which I never got working in my case.

Not sure exactly which version of the splitter he has, only that he only uses 2 risers in each 3-way splitter. I saw someone with a 4-way splitter using all cards. Is Cryptomined here on bitcointtalk maybe? Smiley

But none of the cards really have any brands so it's hard to find the exact right one, and even if you do, it might be DOA Tongue

Dunno mate, never used the splitters as success seemed to rely solely on luck lol. I did not see many miners using them. This is why I went with the Prime A and not the P because I knew it would natively accept 8 GPUs with an M2 adapter. It was really a no fuss install.

I think you can reach cryptomined on the zcash forums pretty easily per PM (I was actually reading a thread on the zcash forums where he was talking about being reachable through there).

I would either stick with 7 GPUs on the P and mine away or return the board and pay the few extra $$$ for the A. I know how frustrating it is sometimes to want something to work, but you end up wasting so much fucking time trying that in the end, it's just not worth it. I had such an issue with an asrock board once, I think it was a z97 anniversary or whatever. It had a total of 6 pcie slots and I got it working with 6 GPUs after a lot of trial and error (and luck probably). Then I wanted to upgrade the drivers and it just fucked it all up. Never got 6 cards working on it again. As I knew it was a pain the first time, I spent maybe 30mins trying but eventually just replaced it with a spare pro btc which worked immediately.

Your own time is money too you know :p
brokenarrow2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 02:41:27 PM
 #7

Thanks, if I had known that about the P-board I would have bought A right away, but now I would spend 5+ hours disassembling everything, reinstalling windows, and I'm not sure that my store would even accept a return when it's used. I'm happy for you guys that are able to do that. Smiley

Maybe rather save the extra cards as a backup if something breaks with the others, or build a new smaller rig with them Smiley

I more limited on the amount of power, so even 2 rigs with 7 cards in each will be pretty heavy on my power lines, without paying an electrician some more to fix it Tongue

But you are so right that we spend so much time with things that I imagined that I wanted, instead of just moving on.. just 1 more Mh/s... an another one.. Wink
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!