Bitcoin Forum
May 13, 2024, 08:14:53 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gekko - a javascript trading bot and backtesting platform  (Read 147807 times)
Darksoulsong
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 02:05:38 PM
 #581

I'm having issues to config Gekko properly. In fact, I'm trying to reproduce the same MACD settings I use on TradingView to monitor the market. For example:

Fast length: xx
Slow length: yy
Signal Smoothing: 9

Now, translating this to Gekko:

config.MACD = {
  short: xx,
  long: yy,
  signal: 9
};

Moreover, I'm using an interval of 30 minutes, and I'm not sure how can I set this in Gekko's configuration. Would it be the "candleSize" property of the tradingAdvisor object?

And more: Gekko advices are very different from the TradingView ones. It's telling me to GO LONG when the price is HIGH and GO SHORT when the price is LOW, most of the time. Does Gekko need some time to analize the market and store prices to advice effectively?

Thanks in advance for any insights.
1715588093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715588093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715588093
Reply with quote  #2

1715588093
Report to moderator
1715588093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715588093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715588093
Reply with quote  #2

1715588093
Report to moderator
In order to get the maximum amount of activity points possible, you just need to post once per day on average. Skipping days is OK as long as you maintain the average.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715588093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715588093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715588093
Reply with quote  #2

1715588093
Report to moderator
1715588093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715588093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715588093
Reply with quote  #2

1715588093
Report to moderator
1715588093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715588093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715588093
Reply with quote  #2

1715588093
Report to moderator
hashpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 22, 2015, 08:28:53 PM
 #582

I'm having issues to config Gekko properly. In fact, I'm trying to reproduce the same MACD settings I use on TradingView to monitor the market. For example:

Fast length: xx
Slow length: yy
Signal Smoothing: 9

Now, translating this to Gekko:

config.MACD = {
  short: xx,
  long: yy,
  signal: 9
};

Moreover, I'm using an interval of 30 minutes, and I'm not sure how can I set this in Gekko's configuration. Would it be the "candleSize" property of the tradingAdvisor object?

And more: Gekko advices are very different from the TradingView ones. It's telling me to GO LONG when the price is HIGH and GO SHORT when the price is LOW, most of the time. Does Gekko need some time to analize the market and store prices to advice effectively?

Thanks in advance for any insights.



HI mate,
did you manage to pass the step in which he starts to advice? i am currently stuck there for a week. keep telling it doesnt have enough data.
anyone managed to pass this step?
lyn168
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 04, 2015, 06:19:59 PM
 #583

Hi guys

anyone care to share your advisor setting for BTCe and Bitfinex?

Thank you
hashpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 05, 2015, 04:59:55 PM
 #584

I managed to get it working with bitstamp.
does anyone have a good configuration for the trading? candle length?
thanks
juiced
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 12:53:41 AM
 #585

Is anybody still using this? I'm testing it... I was wondering how to get some backtesting data from the past few weeks/months, anybody any tips?  Roll Eyes
n3lz0n
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 618
Merit: 500

Go Bitcoin


View Profile
November 09, 2015, 10:07:07 PM
 #586

hmmm.......testing for 2 weeks and all I get is crashes.........

- re-installed
- disabled add-ons

all same issue...will keep trying... LOL...

Go Bitcoin !!!!!!!!!!!
maokoto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


✪ NEXCHANGE | BTC, LTC, ETH & DOGE ✪


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2015, 12:57:44 AM
 #587

will keep an eye to see if someone gets it working recently...

c275
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 25, 2015, 07:22:43 PM
 #588

Hi,
so this tradeing bot works or not?   Roll Eyes
c275
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 29, 2015, 03:54:56 PM
 #589

Hi,
so this tradeing bot works or not?   Roll Eyes

Ok installed and running. Now I have to figure out how to set correctly the config file.
I'm new with DEMA, MACD, PPO concept so maybe someone have a good references or can post their own configuration , thanks!
Cr4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2016, 07:26:02 PM
 #590

Hi Guys, I want to try this out but getting an error with the gmail mailer;

"throw new TypeError('msecs must be a number')"
TypeError: msecs must be a number

Anyone know how to resolve this?
Thanx
theclai
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 08:28:09 AM
 #591

I hope Gekko will be next MT 4 like in Forex world  Grin
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 13, 2017, 12:00:26 PM
 #592

I try and run Gekko 0.3.4 with node v7.4.0 trading just on BTC-e with pretty much the default settings, it can paper trade, and it works fine in trader mode until it actually wants to do a trade, then it crashes every time. Sometimes with a nonce error, other times something like:

/gekko/node_modules/btc-e/btc-e.js:79
      return callback(new Error(result.error));
             ^


Do other people have Gekko 0.3.4 trading ok on BTC-e ?

I have tried LTC/BTC, ETH/RUR both crash.
36524s
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 28, 2017, 12:23:07 AM
 #593

I try and run Gekko 0.3.4 with node v7.4.0 trading just on BTC-e with pretty much the default settings, it can paper trade, and it works fine in trader mode until it actually wants to do a trade, then it crashes every time. Sometimes with a nonce error, other times something like:

/gekko/node_modules/btc-e/btc-e.js:79
      return callback(new Error(result.error));
             ^


Do other people have Gekko 0.3.4 trading ok on BTC-e ?

I have tried LTC/BTC, ETH/RUR both crash.


Only tried backtesting and paper trading so far but given Mike is active amd trading is fundamental to the bot I cant imagine why it would t work. Have you tried btc usd?
whydifficult (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
April 17, 2017, 03:41:24 PM
 #594

I'm really inactive here nowadays, just want everyone to know that right now Gekko I am heavily developing new features into Gekko. But please check out the website for up to date details:

https://gekko.wizb.it/

Gekko a nodejs bitcoin trading bot!
Realtime Bitcoin Globe - visualizing all transactions and blocks
Tip jar (BTC): 1KyQdQ9ctjCrGjGRCWSBhPKcj5omy4gv5S
whydifficult (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
April 20, 2017, 01:04:11 PM
 #595

Here is a video explaining how to install on windows, meant for users not very experienced with commandlines / terminals.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R68IwVujju8

Gekko a nodejs bitcoin trading bot!
Realtime Bitcoin Globe - visualizing all transactions and blocks
Tip jar (BTC): 1KyQdQ9ctjCrGjGRCWSBhPKcj5omy4gv5S
iMaster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 135
Merit: 14


View Profile
April 20, 2017, 06:50:16 PM
 #596

Just a idea. Detect mtgox lag and sell when it is hi enough and buy when it is low enough + some time as a additional strategy. Of course not on a mtgox but on some other exchange...
whydifficult (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
April 21, 2017, 10:55:00 AM
 #597

Interesting idea, right now Gekko focusses purely on raw market data (eg. candle data). Would be great if we can add and try to correlate external data sources (exchange lag, tweets, whatever) in a way.

----

For everyone running windows: Gekko supports a huge number of indicators (100+) via a library called TAlib. Which works great but is almost impossible to compile on windows. I just created a proposal for a similar library (tulip indicators) that has precompiled windows binaries available. If you would like to see this soon in Gekko, please +1 the proposal here: https://github.com/askmike/gekko/issues/708

Gekko a nodejs bitcoin trading bot!
Realtime Bitcoin Globe - visualizing all transactions and blocks
Tip jar (BTC): 1KyQdQ9ctjCrGjGRCWSBhPKcj5omy4gv5S
sarannah
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 28, 2017, 10:39:11 AM
 #598

I'm way too non-technical gal for this.

Could some one please share some (simple) own made strategy so i could try this thing or are there some site where people have shared their strategies?
xiaohang07
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 253


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
June 09, 2017, 03:25:57 AM
 #599

Here is a video explaining how to install on windows, meant for users not very experienced with commandlines / terminals.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R68IwVujju8

Do you think it will be possible to retrieve the historical data from bittrex using Gekko?

adjed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 400
Merit: 268


View Profile
June 17, 2017, 10:01:48 PM
 #600

Hello there! I just installed gekko on a Raspberry pi 3 armv71

I'm able to open gekko but when I go to local data and I try to import data it gets stuck on importing data.
It doesn't mather if it's from yesterday to today. It will be stuck like it's loading but it never imports anything. Has anyone had this problem?
Thanks mates!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!