Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 12:43:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: What PSU do you use with a 4 GPU rig?  (Read 10023 times)
gmannn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 03:54:34 AM
 #21

http://www.amazon.com/Diablotek-600-Watt-Power-Supply-PSDA600/dp/B003UWNL2O

a 35 dollar PSU, 600 watts.  powering 2x 5830 and 2x 5770 for a total 1ghash.

Underclocked single core sempron, no hard drives.  running linuxcoin via usb stick and 3x fans to keep things below 70c.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508373780
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508373780

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508373780
Reply with quote  #2

1508373780
Report to moderator
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 05:45:04 AM
 #22

So why couldn't you just use a 6 pin PSU to 6 pin PCIE cable directly,...

I don't know why you are not getting it.  Here's a picture.

I don't KNOW if "they" make a 5pin-molex to 6/8pin-PCIe power cable.  But if not, then one must use an adapter in conjunction with a 5pin-psu(molex) cable.


CENTRA

            ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
      ▄███████▀▀         ▀▀███████▄
    ▄█████▀                  ▀██████
   █████▀      ▄▄▄█████▄▄      ▀█████▄
  █████     ▄██████████████▄     ▀████▄
 █████     ██████▀▀  ▀▀██████▄    ▀████
▐████     █████          █████     █████
█████    ▐████                     ▐████
█████    █████                     ▐████
█████     █████          ▄████▌    █████
 ████▌    ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀    ▄████▌
 ▀████▄     ▀██████████████▀     ▄████▀
  ▀█████▄     `▀████████▀▀     ▄█████▀
   `██████▄                  ▄██████
     ▀███████▄▄          ▄▄███████▀
       ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀

.
.
.
.
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 05:49:43 AM
 #23

a 35 dollar PSU, 600 watts.  powering 2x 5830 and 2x 5770 for a total 1ghash.

How are you powering the four cards? The specs I read show only 2 x PCIe 6+2 cables.  You must be using adapters.

CENTRA

            ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
      ▄███████▀▀         ▀▀███████▄
    ▄█████▀                  ▀██████
   █████▀      ▄▄▄█████▄▄      ▀█████▄
  █████     ▄██████████████▄     ▀████▄
 █████     ██████▀▀  ▀▀██████▄    ▀████
▐████     █████          █████     █████
█████    ▐████                     ▐████
█████    █████                     ▐████
█████     █████          ▄████▌    █████
 ████▌    ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀    ▄████▌
 ▀████▄     ▀██████████████▀     ▄████▀
  ▀█████▄     `▀████████▀▀     ▄█████▀
   `██████▄                  ▄██████
     ▀███████▄▄          ▄▄███████▀
       ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀

.
.
.
.
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 05:54:50 AM
 #24

a 35 dollar PSU, 600 watts.  powering 2x 5830 and 2x 5770 for a total 1ghash.

How are you powering the four cards? The specs I read show only 2 x PCIe 6+2 cables.  You must be using adapters.

better details here:

2x6 and 2x(6+2) connectors

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 06:28:12 AM
 #25

Canary, So you are using TWO rigs to get your 1ghash?

'Cause if you're not using adapters, and your PSU only has four cables (two 6pins, and two 6+2pins), then it can only support two physical cards (not counting on-board GPUs).

CENTRA

            ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
      ▄███████▀▀         ▀▀███████▄
    ▄█████▀                  ▀██████
   █████▀      ▄▄▄█████▄▄      ▀█████▄
  █████     ▄██████████████▄     ▀████▄
 █████     ██████▀▀  ▀▀██████▄    ▀████
▐████     █████          █████     █████
█████    ▐████                     ▐████
█████    █████                     ▐████
█████     █████          ▄████▌    █████
 ████▌    ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀    ▄████▌
 ▀████▄     ▀██████████████▀     ▄████▀
  ▀█████▄     `▀████████▀▀     ▄█████▀
   `██████▄                  ▄██████
     ▀███████▄▄          ▄▄███████▀
       ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀

.
.
.
.
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 06:46:08 AM
 #26

Canary, So you are using TWO rigs to get your 1ghash?

'Cause if you're not using adapters, and your PSU only has four cables (two 6pins, and two 6+2pins), then it can only support two physical cards (not counting on-board GPUs).

I think you are confusing me with gmannn...  and it would be very easy to power his setup... 5830's are clearly covered...

5770 only needs 1 6-pin.  it would be very easy to convert 4 pin molex to 6 pin.  The PSU gmannn is referring to is fully capable of his setup.

Also, cards typically include such molex converters etc...  Don't confuse this with Y-splitters...

Hope this helps.

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
gmannn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 06:50:38 AM
 #27

a 35 dollar PSU, 600 watts.  powering 2x 5830 and 2x 5770 for a total 1ghash.

How are you powering the four cards? The specs I read show only 2 x PCIe 6+2 cables.  You must be using adapters.

Yes the built in pcie cables power the 5830s (2 plugs each card), and I use 2-molex>1-6pin adapters that came with 5770s to power them.  the 5770s only need a single 6pin.  
Mabsark
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 07:05:07 AM
 #28

So why couldn't you just use a 6 pin PSU to 6 pin PCIE cable directly,...

I don't know why you are not getting it.  Here's a picture.

I don't KNOW if "they" make a 5pin-molex to 6/8pin-PCIe power cable.  But if not, then one must use an adapter in conjunction with a 5pin-psu(molex) cable.


I've never seen those 5 pin peripheral sockets before. All the modular PSUs I've seen use 6 pin peripheral connectors that look just like 6 pin PCIE plugs.
melco
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 09:46:56 AM
 #29

Well, I guess the only difference is that you would need a 4pin-Molex-to-6/8pin-PCIe modular cable. Not sure if they make those.

I think they make molex-to-6/8pin adapters. You could use an adapter with a molex-to-molex cable.
This would be a perfect solution.
Why not to use Y-slitter to split 6pin PCIe to 2*6pin PCIe?

PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 11:54:48 AM
 #30

Why not to use Y-slitter to split 6pin PCIe to 2*6pin PCIe?

As I stated in the OP, Y-splitters are not recommended by the video card manufacturers.  That, and I don't have any. Tongue

CENTRA

            ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
      ▄███████▀▀         ▀▀███████▄
    ▄█████▀                  ▀██████
   █████▀      ▄▄▄█████▄▄      ▀█████▄
  █████     ▄██████████████▄     ▀████▄
 █████     ██████▀▀  ▀▀██████▄    ▀████
▐████     █████          █████     █████
█████    ▐████                     ▐████
█████    █████                     ▐████
█████     █████          ▄████▌    █████
 ████▌    ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀    ▄████▌
 ▀████▄     ▀██████████████▀     ▄████▀
  ▀█████▄     `▀████████▀▀     ▄█████▀
   `██████▄                  ▄██████
     ▀███████▄▄          ▄▄███████▀
       ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀

.
.
.
.
Dyaheon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 02:27:00 PM
 #31

So why couldn't you just use a 6 pin PSU to 6 pin PCIE cable directly,...

I don't know why you are not getting it.  Here's a picture.

I don't KNOW if "they" make a 5pin-molex to 6/8pin-PCIe power cable.  But if not, then one must use an adapter in conjunction with a 5pin-psu(molex) cable.


I've never seen those 5 pin peripheral sockets before. All the modular PSUs I've seen use 6 pin peripheral connectors that look just like 6 pin PCIE plugs.




Mine looks like that, all slots are identical. I suppose with a PSU like that, you could try to acquire more cables instead of using molex->6pin adapters. However, it's easier to use adapters than acquire more pci-e cables Smiley
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!