Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2018, 07:01:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Whats a better choice antminer l3+ or rig with 6x gtx 1080 ti?  (Read 460 times)
Miningtry
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 27, 2017, 04:36:16 PM
 #1

Hi guys. I want to start mining so what is a better option antminer l3+ or rig with 6x gtx 1080 ti? I know hard is hard to predict the future but i also need something future proof that will still able to mine something in year or two.
There are also option to make 2 rigs with 6x  Asus MINING-P106-6G-V2 or Asus MINING-RX470-4G cards.
I am new in waters so any suggestion is welcome.
The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1526886107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526886107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526886107
Reply with quote  #2

1526886107
Report to moderator
1526886107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526886107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526886107
Reply with quote  #2

1526886107
Report to moderator
Vann
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 572


View Profile
August 27, 2017, 04:59:10 PM
 #2

While ASIC's are great for accumulating lots of coins in a short period, there always new and better models coming out. Since ASIC's are single purpose mining hardware, once they have been replaced by more powerful models they are pretty much obsolete. A GPU rig is a much better long term hedge, since it can mine almost any POW algorithm. It also has a purpose other than mining and can always be resold.

For the same price as a 6 1080 ti rig you could build two AMD RX 570 rigs (or one with the new Asus 19 PCI-E motherboard coming out) with a total of 16-17 cards that would be substantially more profitable.

Miningtry
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 27, 2017, 05:24:52 PM
 #3

One more question. Iet's say i go for a 570 rigs i need to choose one with samsung memory i suppose. How i will know which manufacturer puts best memory on they gpu-s?
cashen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 251


View Profile
August 27, 2017, 05:25:43 PM
 #4

Go with 21 x 1060 3gb

Vann
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 572


View Profile
August 27, 2017, 05:35:46 PM
 #5

One more question. Iet's say i go for a 570 rigs i need to choose one with samsung memory i suppose. How i will know which manufacturer puts best memory on they gpu-s?

It's definitely not necessary to have Samsung memory with AMD cards. Most of my 10 RX 4XX/5XX cards have Hynix memory and after a simple 1500 MHz strap mod, they do just as well the cards I have with Samsung memory. In fact, the Powercolor Red Dragon RX 570 4GB cards with Hynix memory I bought for $190 are the best and most stable overclocking RX 570's I have. Though the Sapphire cards have better cooling. RX 580's are also better dual mining cards compared to RX 570's, though they cost about $50 more.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!