Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2018, 12:33:18 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does motherboard chipset type matter for mining?  (Read 380 times)
Snow_Dog
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2017, 09:26:45 PM
 #1

After buying a 570 and a 1060 card to try mining I am ready to build a dedicated rig and just ordered two 1070's.  Most of the build videos I have watched always seem to use newer motherboards (Prime 270's, 1151 CPUs...).  Since I have a G3258 and 2 4Gb sticks of Corsair ram just collecting dust I though I would just pick up an older 1150 motherboard and use that.  Is there any reason NOT to use an older motherboard?  I don't plan on adding more than five (or possibly six depending on which model I can find) GPU's.
1544445198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544445198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544445198
Reply with quote  #2

1544445198
Report to moderator
The trust scores you see are subjective; they will change depending on who you have in your trust list.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544445198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544445198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544445198
Reply with quote  #2

1544445198
Report to moderator
1544445198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544445198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544445198
Reply with quote  #2

1544445198
Report to moderator
Undefined31415
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 253

Gone phishing...


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2017, 09:31:41 PM
 #2

When you start adding many cards, the chipset (in combination with the CPU) can become a limitation to the number of PCIe lanes you can have. However, you would usually run into problems with the driver/OS prior to this becoming a problem.

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   Anonymity Guaranteed
   Anonymous and Untraceable
   Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
Supercoiner111
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 09:58:16 AM
 #3

mining support on older mobo is limited with bios support for multi-gpu that why more use new mobo....

WWW.MYNODE.ROCKS
Bustart
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 507
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 31, 2017, 10:58:43 AM
 #4

mining support on older mobo is limited with bios support for multi-gpu that why more use new mobo....

I think as long as the number of PCIE lanes is guarranteed, the speed should be fine.

       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████
  ▄████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
 ▄███████▀   ▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄████████▄▄▄████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  █████████
█████████   ▄▄▄▄   ▀███████
█████████   █████   ███████
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   █████   ██████▀
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   ███▀▀   █████▀
      ▄▄▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄█████▀
     █████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
Bitcoin Air 
 
.
█      ███
█      ███
  ██
  ██  ███
  ██  ███
  ██  ███
      ███
█  ██
  ███
█  ██
  ███
   ██
  ███
█  ██  ███
█  ██  ███
█  ██
     ██  █
███  ██  █
███  ██
███  ██  █
███  ██  █
███  ██  █
███      █
███  ██ 
███  ██ 
     ██ 
███
  ██ 
███
  ██ 
     ██
 
.
.
Jdope
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 755
Merit: 501


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 11:00:52 AM
 #5

Not really, i think the great h81 pro btc was built on 1150 but i'm not sure, anyway, as long as your PCIE lanes exist, you're most likely not going to face any trouble
Snow_Dog
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
September 01, 2017, 01:17:08 AM
 #6

The ASRock H81 pro BTC R2 is $200 CAD from NewEgg but they have a GIGABYTE GA-H110-D3A for $105 so I will just buy that and pick up a cheap 1151 CPU.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!