Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 02:57:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wallet restore using seed showing pay history, but no BTC  (Read 429 times)
Tatuanec
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 11:43:20 PM
 #1

Hey guys,
In March, I´ve got into crypto and buyed some bitcoins. I made a Multibit HD wallet where I kept them. I wrote down the seed words, as they said on their webpage, that its the key to restore my wallet and BTc in it in case of somehow losing it. In May, I had 5,16 BTC in my wallet when my HDD started to causing troubles. So I decided to send 5 BTC into my friends wallet, just for sure. About week after, HDD was gone and I buyed a new computer. I didnt restore wallet immediately, as I was thinking like, theres only 0,16 BTC in it, so I am kinda lazy and I left it be, enjoying summer. But now when i finally decided to restore that wallet, I can only see transaction history but 0 BTc balance.
Can someone gimme some suggestion if theres anything I can do to get them, or is it lost for good?
I used Electrum for restoring.
Thanks
1513306673
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513306673

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513306673
Reply with quote  #2

1513306673
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513306673
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513306673

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513306673
Reply with quote  #2

1513306673
Report to moderator
1513306673
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513306673

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513306673
Reply with quote  #2

1513306673
Report to moderator
Swagtoshi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 03:46:26 AM
 #2

You should restore the seed using the Multibit HD wallet and then sweep the bitcoins into your electrum wallet. The way the seeds are restored may be different for different wallets.

Tatuanec
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 02:42:56 PM
 #3

Cant.  Multibit wallet does no longer exist. They send me this email.

Dear Multibit user-

Unfortunately, Multibit is no longer supported. For details, more details, please visit https://multibit.org/blog/2017/07/26/multibit-shutdown.html

The Multibit wallet no longer receives maintenance or support. Multibit is outdated and has features/functions that do not work anymore. It is HIGHLY advised that all Multibit users discontinue use and move to another wallet.

Videos that demonstrate how to move your wallet to Electrum are available on YouTube.

Multibit HD: https://youtu.be/E-KcY6KUVnY
Multibit Classic: https://youtu.be/LaijbTcxsv8

Electrum is available for download at https://electrum.org/#download

If you are having problems logging into Multibit, there is a utility to export the keys from your Multibit wallet file. Instructions for how to install and use it are at https://github.com/Multibit-Legacy/read-multibit-wallet-file

Regards,
The former Multibit Support Team
jackg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

1JRmjyGo3kpdXcQeAeTBmGtgkC1AomHKED


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 07:05:14 PM
 #4

Hey guys,
In March, I´ve got into crypto and buyed some bitcoins. I made a Multibit HD wallet where I kept them. I wrote down the seed words, as they said on their webpage, that its the key to restore my wallet and BTc in it in case of somehow losing it. In May, I had 5,16 BTC in my wallet when my HDD started to causing troubles. So I decided to send 5 BTC into my friends wallet, just for sure. About week after, HDD was gone and I buyed a new computer. I didnt restore wallet immediately, as I was thinking like, theres only 0,16 BTC in it, so I am kinda lazy and I left it be, enjoying summer. But now when i finally decided to restore that wallet, I can only see transaction history but 0 BTc balance.
Can someone gimme some suggestion if theres anything I can do to get them, or is it lost for good?
I used Electrum for restoring.
Thanks

Can you post the address(s) these coins were sent from/are on?
Also, what derivation path did you use with the BIP39 seed when you imported it - it's unlikely but possible you could get similar history by importing the change addresses instead of the regular addresses?

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
September 02, 2017, 01:52:06 AM
 #5

see if this works:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1459567.msg21368842#msg21368842

Also verify that the circle icon in the bottom right of the electrum window is green coloured?

Tatuanec
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
September 02, 2017, 12:46:59 PM
 #6

Adresses are here

https://ulozto.net/!E2Vh3toTM3ia/19679598-1725182954161822-687119038-n-png

I used everything as said in the YT video Multibit HD restoration tutorial as I posted above. That means - BIP 39 option and derivation path - m/0´

im using 2.9.0 electrum wallet
jackg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

1JRmjyGo3kpdXcQeAeTBmGtgkC1AomHKED


View Profile
September 02, 2017, 01:17:32 PM
 #7

Adresses are here

https://ulozto.net/!E2Vh3toTM3ia/19679598-1725182954161822-687119038-n-png

I used everything as said in the YT video Multibit HD restoration tutorial as I posted above. That means - BIP 39 option and derivation path - m/0´

im using 2.9.0 electrum wallet

I tried that with a bitcoinj seed (extracted from an Android wallet) and got that the derivation path was m/0'/0' (oddly from a video who's channels channel's name was multibit hd). Could your coins be stored on a change address (m/0'/1)? If you've sent all your coins to an address and signed a transaction without specifying where you want the coins to end up, they'll be on the change part instead.


Although, if it imports all of the addresses correctly then it's possibly a problem with a peer your connecting to? Can you go on network setting and ensure the height of that peer is the highest on the list. (Also, the link you added does not show a full address).

HCP
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 448

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
September 03, 2017, 01:14:26 AM
 #8

The correct Derivation Path is definitely m/0' for importing MultiBit HD seeds into Electrum.

I think that what has happened is that the change address "1NJGvFX..." that received the 0.16 BTC from your transaction may be past the "Gap Limit" in Electrum for change addresses (by default I think it is only 5)...

Open the console tab (you may need to use "View -> Show Console" if you can't see the console tab)... and then type:

print wallet.create_new_address(True)

This will generate the next change address in the sequence, you may need to do this several times depending on how far down the list that address is. You can also try and bulk generate them 50 at a time by using:

Code:
for x in range(0, 50):
     print wallet.create_new_address(True)
Note that the text is case sensitive (True not true), the spaces before the "print" command are required, and that you need to press ENTER after you type in each line

jackg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

1JRmjyGo3kpdXcQeAeTBmGtgkC1AomHKED


View Profile
September 03, 2017, 02:52:24 PM
 #9

The correct Derivation Path is definitely m/0' for importing MultiBit HD seeds into Electrum.

I think that what has happened is that the change address "1NJGvFX..." that received the 0.16 BTC from your transaction may be past the "Gap Limit" in Electrum for change addresses (by default I think it is only 5)...

Open the console tab (you may need to use "View -> Show Console" if you can't see the console tab)... and then type:

print wallet.create_new_address(True)

This will generate the next change address in the sequence, you may need to do this several times depending on how far down the list that address is. You can also try and bulk generate them 50 at a time by using:

Code:
for x in range(0, 50):
     print wallet.create_new_address(True)
Note that the text is case sensitive (True not true), the spaces before the "print" command are required, and that you need to press ENTER after you type in each line

These commands may be slightly simpler:
wallet.storage.put('gap_limit', 70)
wallet.storage.write()

I assume in this case that the derivation path is the same for change addresses, I thought electron scanned more than the first 20 addresses though by sending the public key to the server to check its balance (but I may be wrong).

Tatuanec
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 10:39:06 AM
 #10

Oh, got it ! Smiley Thank you very much guys. I used "print wallet.create_new_address(True)" and my 0,16BTC suddenly shows in the balance.

Solved.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!