Bitcoin Forum
August 16, 2018, 06:29:42 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Extra beginner questions  (Read 151 times)
DarrenJC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 06:03:38 PM
 #1

So mining on pools, do i still need to download and sync the node/blockchains or is that just for solo mining?

I know the next question runs the risk of going slightly off-topic, but here goes....

I dont have a multi-GPU mining rig or ASIC equipment. I am only looking into mining at the moment as a hobby/interest. I have used several CPU/GPU mining programs without success. Both the GPU mining programs Ive used (Ethminer and Claymore) fail to detect/recognize my GTX 260... (all my drivers are up to date) any ideas?

Single GPU Miner - Zotac GTX1070 8GB Mini
Still early days, aiming bigger in time
1534400982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534400982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534400982
Reply with quote  #2

1534400982
Report to moderator
BOUNTY PORTALS
BLOG
WHERE BOUNTY MANAGEMENT
MEETS AUTOMATION
SIGNATURE CAMPAIGNS
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
MEDIA CAMPAIGNS
AND MORE!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534400982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534400982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534400982
Reply with quote  #2

1534400982
Report to moderator
1534400982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534400982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534400982
Reply with quote  #2

1534400982
Report to moderator
unholycactus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1021


https://reg-charity.org/


View Profile WWW
September 01, 2017, 06:31:09 PM
 #2

Having a node is only required if you're mining by yourself.

As for your other point, the fact that you are using a card that dates back to before cryptocurrency was a thing might be why.

DarrenJC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 06:33:52 PM
 #3

Having a node is only required if you're mining by yourself.

As for your other point, the fact that you are using a card that dates back to before cryptocurrency was a thing might be why.

Im 99.99% sure the GTX 260 is a mine-able card as its been named in other sections of this forum for its good performance for its age and low power consumption... I think i need older version of the mining programs but who knows...

Single GPU Miner - Zotac GTX1070 8GB Mini
Still early days, aiming bigger in time
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 09:14:34 PM
 #4

The GTX 260 is OLD. Honestly its not worth trying to mine on it for anything more than a laugh. I think you might be confusing it with a GTX 1060 as a cheaper card that is good to mine on. Nobody is mining on a card as old as that 260.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!