Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2018, 09:25:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Lost Another S9 Board... ^%#@$@!^&*:-(  (Read 410 times)
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 09:09:01 PM
 #1

So yeah, the subject says it all.  Angry

I'm gonna have to cannibalize a board from another S9 whose controller has gone bad.

Here's my question:

The S9 that lost the board is an older S9 rated at 550 Mhz. I'm gonna pull the 550 bad board and replace it with a board from a 600 Mhz S9.

I'm almost 99.9% sure that putting a faster rated board (600mhz) into a 550Mhz miner will not cause any problems. I am still going to only run it at 550.

Any of you "pros" see any problems? I almost feel that it's a stupid question... but better safe than sorry!  Roll Eyes

Thanks for the input!
~wp

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
1531733124
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531733124

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531733124
Reply with quote  #2

1531733124
Report to moderator
1531733124
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531733124

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531733124
Reply with quote  #2

1531733124
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1264


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 10:06:31 PM
 #2

So yeah, the subject says it all.  Angry

I'm gonna have to cannibalize a board from another S9 whose controller has gone bad.

Here's my question:

The S9 that lost the board is an older S9 rated at 550 Mhz. I'm gonna pull the 550 bad board and replace it with a board from a 600 Mhz S9.

I'm almost 99.9% sure that putting a faster rated board (600mhz) into a 550Mhz miner will not cause any problems. I am still going to only run it at 550.

Any of you "pros" see any problems? I almost feel that it's a stupid question... but better safe than sorry!  Roll Eyes

Thanks for the input!
~wp

should be good

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 10:19:09 PM
 #3

should be good

Thanks for the reply.
That is pretty much what I thought and my diminishing common sense agrees. (Getting Old. LOL) Shocked

danke schön!

(I know it's the wrong thread,.... but we need it!)

COMEONBLOCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wink Cheesy Grin Cool Wink Cheesy Grin Cool Wink Cheesy Grin Cool

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1064


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 11:47:26 PM
 #4

Thanks for reminding me... I have a dead s9 B11 board I gotta sent to CO for repair. Together with a Gimpy R4 that's over 8THs down...
I keep putting it off/forgetting...

Whoda thunk when I started in Feb 2014 with 2 lil' 10GHs BLF Jalas I'd ever say that about 8THs but now is still just blip in the total mining away for me. Dumbfounding that after the first 500GHs worth of s1's (and $4k for a long-delayed 1TH rig from AMT) ALL expansion and upgrades were paid from farm income (with a tidy bit left over Wink ) !

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
September 02, 2017, 09:10:28 PM
 #5

So yeah, the subject says it all.  Angry
I'm gonna have to cannibalize a board from another S9 whose controller has gone bad.
Here's my question:
The S9 that lost the board is an older S9 rated at 550 Mhz. I'm gonna pull the 550 bad board and replace it with a board from a 600 Mhz S9.
I'm almost 99.9% sure that putting a faster rated board (600mhz) into a 550Mhz miner will not cause any problems. I am still going to only run it at 550.
Any of you "pros" see any problems? I almost feel that it's a stupid question... but better safe than sorry!  Roll Eyes
Thanks for the input!
~wp
Cannibalization of my S9 from the bone-yard and transplantation into a 550 MHz (11.85 TH/s) miner has completed successfully! The patient has fully recovered and is hashing away at a relaxing 11.82TH/s  Grin  Shocked Cheesy Shocked

The newly installed 600 MHz board removed from a downed miner is being made to feel right at home by his 550 MHz little brothers.  Kiss Kiss

The chip temps at 550 MHz are so low that I'm tempted to bump up the frequency to 575 MHz...  Shocked  But I will resist the temptation. I'd much rather extend the miner life-span than get a few more MHz out of it in the short-term.

My baby mining farm is cruising along at a blazing ~60 TH/s. LOL Cheesy Shocked Wink Roll Eyes Smiley
Back to work! Smiley

COMEONBLOCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!

MINE ON, FOLKS!!!!  Cool Cool Cool Cool

{ Hope I don't have to perform any more surgeries until I can get some of this hardware repaired or replaced. The parts and pieces are becoming scarce }

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!