Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 07:57:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Dummy plug / multi GPU guide  (Read 3058 times)
statdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 10:22:10 PM
 #1

Hi all,

Couldn't get more than 2x 5970 to work yesterday and I'm assuming its a dummy plug issue.

Card on board w/o monitor plug in would go "SICK"

Can anyone point me in the right direction?



      ███████████████████████████ ███████████████████
      ██████████████████████████ ████████████████████
      █████████████████████████ ▄████████████████████
      ██████                   ▄█████▀        ▐██████
      ██████                  ▄█████▀         ▐██████
▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
      ██████              ██████▀
      ██████             ██████▀
      █████████████████ ██████▀
      ████████████████ ██████▀
      ▀██████████████ ██████▀
.
ETHERPARTY














1508227042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508227042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508227042
Reply with quote  #2

1508227042
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508227042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508227042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508227042
Reply with quote  #2

1508227042
Report to moderator
induktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 681


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 05:33:25 AM
 #2

Hi all,

Couldn't get more than 2x 5970 to work yesterday and I'm assuming its a dummy plug issue.

Card on board w/o monitor plug in would go "SICK"

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

windows or linux?
statdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 11:58:22 PM
 #3

Windows... two cards on board, one on riser. Whichever card on board isn't plugged into monitor, gets "Sick"



      ███████████████████████████ ███████████████████
      ██████████████████████████ ████████████████████
      █████████████████████████ ▄████████████████████
      ██████                   ▄█████▀        ▐██████
      ██████                  ▄█████▀         ▐██████
▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
      ██████              ██████▀
      ██████             ██████▀
      █████████████████ ██████▀
      ████████████████ ██████▀
      ▀██████████████ ██████▀
.
ETHERPARTY














induktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 681


View Profile
May 26, 2013, 01:14:16 AM
 #4

Windows... two cards on board, one on riser. Whichever card on board isn't plugged into monitor, gets "Sick"

Install trixx and check in settings> Disable ULPS
that should do it.

make sure your motherboard likes the risers!, I have an ASUS M4N75TD that refuses to work with pcie risers at all, all of my other motherboards has no problem, but this one has a serious attitude! Smiley
qbits
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 10:17:57 AM
 #5

Windows... two cards on board, one on riser. Whichever card on board isn't plugged into monitor, gets "Sick"

Put at least video cable into the card with no monitor. You should have those laying around right?
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 03:33:36 PM
 #6

video cable is no good, but you can use a single 75 ohm resistor from radioshack to jump pins on the plug inplace of a dummy plug(cheaper and easier to get resistors)

Directions: http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=11

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
statdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 03:23:02 AM
 #7

Windows... two cards on board, one on riser. Whichever card on board isn't plugged into monitor, gets "Sick"

Install trixx and check in settings> Disable ULPS
that should do it.

make sure your motherboard likes the risers!, I have an ASUS M4N75TD that refuses to work with pcie risers at all, all of my other motherboards has no problem, but this one has a serious attitude! Smiley

worked! youre a genius!



      ███████████████████████████ ███████████████████
      ██████████████████████████ ████████████████████
      █████████████████████████ ▄████████████████████
      ██████                   ▄█████▀        ▐██████
      ██████                  ▄█████▀         ▐██████
▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
      ██████              ██████▀
      ██████             ██████▀
      █████████████████ ██████▀
      ████████████████ ██████▀
      ▀██████████████ ██████▀
.
ETHERPARTY














kodo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 04:58:36 AM
 #8

very good information in this thread, thanks!

Just A Guy Interested In Bitcoins
TiborB
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:40:11 PM
 #9

Just for your info, this is merely a windows issue - a dummy plug is not necessary when you run Linux. Multiple GPUs hashing fine without anything connected.

Hope this helps,
   T
MrBilling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 02:27:13 AM
 #10

All of my GPUs run fine in both Windows 7 and 8 with no dummy plugs.  No crossfire either.


And I have two different rigs on two different mobos.  One is a five 7950 rig and one is a three 7950 rig.

I have two five 7950 rigs running BAMT that also do not need dummy plugs.



So it must be certain mobos require it.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!