Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2017, 08:59:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Advise please  (Read 753 times)
ajg007
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 10:26:22 AM
 #1

I'm currently GPU mining bitcoin in slush's pool.

Now i have a meaty ATI gpu coming and want to build a dedicated rig for it.

I have an old pc with the specs below:

3800xp
4gb ram
pcie (not sure of the speed)

Now i know its not gonna break the sound barrier but Bitcoin mining is (mostly) about the GPU?

So would it be ok.

Now as to operating system,  i've been looking at Bamt,  would that be a good operating system for it?


So what you think?   Scrap the idea and go back to the drawing board?

http://litepool.in  <----an easy to understand, helpful and friendly, ltc mining pool.
1508489955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508489955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508489955
Reply with quote  #2

1508489955
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508489955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508489955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508489955
Reply with quote  #2

1508489955
Report to moderator
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 12:17:16 PM
 #2

What's the GPU you are using? And only one?

1 GB of RAM is enough for BAMT it spares you the need to use a HDD as you can boot it from a cheap memory stick, run headless (without a monitor) and control through SSH.
ajg007
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 08:41:45 AM
 #3

Jusat one 5830 card at the moment.   Will add new cards each month.  It only has 1xpcie anyway.

I have BAMT installed now.


Just a question.  Riser cables.  I know they allow you to have the cards outside the system but would they convert normal pci connectors for use with more graphics cards?


http://litepool.in  <----an easy to understand, helpful and friendly, ltc mining pool.
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 10:34:12 AM
 #4

Jusat one 5830 card at the moment.   Will add new cards each month.  It only has 1xpcie anyway.
I have BAMT installed now.
Just a question.  Riser cables.  I know they allow you to have the cards outside the system but would they convert normal pci connectors for use with more graphics cards?

Yes, there are PCI to PCI-E risers but I wouldn't risk it. PCI can provide 25W max. while PCI-E can provide up to 75W (this only according to specifications, exceptions occur). If you use your GPU for SHA hashing it doesn't really use memory much and you can underclock it so it takes less power. You can also mitigate the risk of overstraining your motherboard by using powered risers but I don't recommend doing so. Also last time I checked PCI to PCI-E risers where at least $40-50 each. It would be better to buy a new motherboard.

Of course you are aware that you can connect your GPUs to PCI-E slots of any size? (with risers ofc; x1, x4, x8 and x16) Smiley
Biomech
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


Anarchy is not chaos.


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 11:49:05 AM
 #5

Jusat one 5830 card at the moment.   Will add new cards each month.  It only has 1xpcie anyway.
I have BAMT installed now.
Just a question.  Riser cables.  I know they allow you to have the cards outside the system but would they convert normal pci connectors for use with more graphics cards?

Yes, there are PCI to PCI-E risers but I wouldn't risk it. PCI can provide 25W max. while PCI-E can provide up to 75W (this only according to specifications, exceptions occur). If you use your GPU for SHA hashing it doesn't really use memory much and you can underclock it so it takes less power. You can also mitigate the risk of overstraining your motherboard by using powered risers but I don't recommend doing so. Also last time I checked PCI to PCI-E risers where at least $40-50 each. It would be better to buy a new motherboard.

Of course you are aware that you can connect your GPUs to PCI-E slots of any size? (with risers ofc; x1, x4, x8 and x16) Smiley

No, I wasn't, and I thank you for the tip!

Buy Bitcoins with Paypal, Credit card, or other methods. Send me a PM or a text to 208-451-2665.
ajg007
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 06:55:48 PM
 #6

Thanks for the reply and info.   Ive decided to ditch the board and get one with 2xpcie slots of fleabay.  One i'm looking at uses a sempron processor and a meaty heatsink and no fan!




http://litepool.in  <----an easy to understand, helpful and friendly, ltc mining pool.
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 08:57:45 PM
 #7

Thanks for the reply and info.   Ive decided to ditch the board and get one with 2xpcie slots of fleabay.  One i'm looking at uses a sempron processor and a meaty heatsink and no fan!

What is your budget? Most miners throw in 4-6 cards 1-2 GPU each (but no more than 8 GPUs in total (more than that is possible but very difficult and not worth spending time on with current mining profitabilities).

P.S. Just a reminder - it might not be the best moment to invest in GPU farms now as the difficulty is increasing very quickly and the price stays more or less at the same level; unless you have free or very cheap electricity or only doing it for fun (or for mining other SHA or scrypt based altcoins).
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!