Bitcoin Forum
August 14, 2022, 07:09:58 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Version field in the getheaders message  (Read 736 times)
TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1014


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 09:03:22 PM
 #1

What is the purpose of this field?  Was it intended to only get headers of a particular version?

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
1660460998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660460998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660460998
Reply with quote  #2

1660460998
Report to moderator
1660460998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660460998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660460998
Reply with quote  #2

1660460998
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1660460998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660460998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660460998
Reply with quote  #2

1660460998
Report to moderator
1660460998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660460998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660460998
Reply with quote  #2

1660460998
Report to moderator
jgarzik
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1048


View Profile
July 31, 2013, 10:49:59 AM
 #2

What is the purpose of this field?  Was it intended to only get headers of a particular version?

Where do you see a version field in the "getheaders" message?

"getheaders" has two parameters, locator and hashStop.

Of course, each block header has the block header version.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1014


View Profile
July 31, 2013, 10:58:12 AM
 #3

Where do you see a version field in the "getheaders" message?

"getheaders" has two parameters, locator and hashStop.

It says there is a version field in the protocol spec.

However, I should have read it more closely, version means the protocol version, so nevermind.

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
jgarzik
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1048


View Profile
July 31, 2013, 06:43:50 PM
 #4

Where do you see a version field in the "getheaders" message?

"getheaders" has two parameters, locator and hashStop.

It says there is a version field in the protocol spec.

However, I should have read it more closely, version means the protocol version, so nevermind.

No, it is the version of the block-locator object.

The wiki is unclear.  "getheaders" receives two parameters, a block-locator object and a hashStop.  Inside the block-locator object, there is a version for that locator data structure only.  The version applies to the locator object, not getheaders message as a whole or hashStop parameter.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!