Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 01:48:43 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Should I RMA this 7950  (Read 369 times)
jimbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 08:19:29 PM
 #1

I have just built a rig with 4 x 7950 (Gigabyte WF3).

3 out of the four are absolutely solid, but one gives persistent hw errors.

I've moved it to other slots to rule out the mb (the hw errors follow the card).

Tried reducing the intensity, but end up with  poor hashrates on the card (and still get hw errors)

Should I rma it?  And if so, what do I give as the reason for returning it?  Are hw errors on mining a valid reason for return?

Only other thing I can think of is taking all the other cards out and running some kind of stress test on it to try and make it throw an error (suggestions as to best program?)

thanks for reading

J
1508204923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508204923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508204923
Reply with quote  #2

1508204923
Report to moderator
1508204923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508204923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508204923
Reply with quote  #2

1508204923
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
chalupa_batman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 09:08:37 PM
 #2

run it on its own, see if there are any errors. try running a game on it, if it has issues then you can rma

BTC: 1MgMoJ3HADZEAwaCvkeh2kiFCYUGyGQx5z
LTC: LTTyUrMQVedq52CmbqgYq9mQ3Py6eyuQmW
NMC: NHAco5Z5N1YdPhtCxZL1GUmMrR3Ya4sQcK

Need help with I.T.? Let me know, I can help with hardware/software problems/questions, have worked in windows server/linux environments, currently going for my MCSA, have my CompTIA A+
cardcomm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 09:12:52 PM
 #3

You don't say whee you bought it, but most retailers won't give you trouble replacing a defective card. I usually just say I'm getting screen artifacts.

Easily see your cgminer status with my cgminerLCDStats app:  http://cardcomm.github.io/cgminerLCDStats/
Did my post help you or make you laugh? Let me know with Bitcoins at: 1CQfpMHQ5zVuZ5i9uxSHSSx4J8ZhehSjn3  Smiley
Kaepora
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 10:27:31 PM
 #4

I have just built a rig with 4 x 7950 (Gigabyte WF3).

3 out of the four are absolutely solid, but one gives persistent hw errors.

I've moved it to other slots to rule out the mb (the hw errors follow the card).

Tried reducing the intensity, but end up with  poor hashrates on the card (and still get hw errors)

Should I rma it?  And if so, what do I give as the reason for returning it?  Are hw errors on mining a valid reason for return?

Only other thing I can think of is taking all the other cards out and running some kind of stress test on it to try and make it throw an error (suggestions as to best program?)

thanks for reading

J

run OCCT http://www.ocbase.com/ and stress test the GPU make sure to check off scan for errors. In the progroam just go to GPU:3D set complexity to 7 and check off scan for errors. Let it run for a while maybe 10,20 or 30+ minutes to make sure.

Cant decide what to mine? Check here: http://www.wheretomine.com/
LTC & BTC Profit Calculator: http://ltc.kattare.com/calc.php | Coin to Coin Currency Converter: http://coins2coins.com/
Think you have a virus, keylogger or trojan use Malware Bytes Free: http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/
jimbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 01:23:41 PM
 #5

Great - will do, thanks for the info.
jimbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 26, 2013, 04:00:47 PM
 #6

I have just built a rig with 4 x 7950 (Gigabyte WF3).

3 out of the four are absolutely solid, but one gives persistent hw errors.

I've moved it to other slots to rule out the mb (the hw errors follow the card).

Tried reducing the intensity, but end up with  poor hashrates on the card (and still get hw errors)

Should I rma it?  And if so, what do I give as the reason for returning it?  Are hw errors on mining a valid reason for return?

Only other thing I can think of is taking all the other cards out and running some kind of stress test on it to try and make it throw an error (suggestions as to best program?)

thanks for reading

J

run OCCT http://www.ocbase.com/ and stress test the GPU make sure to check off scan for errors. In the progroam just go to GPU:3D set complexity to 7 and check off scan for errors. Let it run for a while maybe 10,20 or 30+ minutes to make sure.

Quick question - when you say "check off scan for errors" do you mean leave it checked (default) or take the check off (unchecked)?
jimbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 26, 2013, 04:02:23 PM
 #7

..also,  DX11 or DX9 test.

(I get what looks like a stationary image on both - should it be moving?)
Kaepora
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 26, 2013, 04:05:32 PM
 #8

..also,  DX11 or DX9 test.

(I get what looks like a stationary image on both - should it be moving?)

DX11 and leave scan for errors checked

Cant decide what to mine? Check here: http://www.wheretomine.com/
LTC & BTC Profit Calculator: http://ltc.kattare.com/calc.php | Coin to Coin Currency Converter: http://coins2coins.com/
Think you have a virus, keylogger or trojan use Malware Bytes Free: http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!