Bitcoin Forum
February 25, 2018, 05:56:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does 1 Corsair RM550 can power 1 Antminer S3+?  (Read 1672 times)
BTC-TMXSTAR
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100

My English is very BAD, Sorry :<


View Profile
November 22, 2014, 01:00:21 PM
 #1

Good Day!!!!!
First of all sorry for my BAD English

I will buy 1 Antminer S3+ this monday, and im going to prepare before it arrive.

Does 1 Corsair RM550 can power 1 Antminer S3+?
This is the power supply, rated 80+ Gold Cheesy
http://www.corsair.com/en/rm-series-rm550-80-plus-gold-certified-power-supply

If you cant understand, just quote me. I will do my best to explain it to you Smiley

Thanks advance
and
God Bless!!!!!
1519538183
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519538183

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519538183
Reply with quote  #2

1519538183
Report to moderator
1519538183
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519538183

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519538183
Reply with quote  #2

1519538183
Report to moderator
1519538183
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519538183

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519538183
Reply with quote  #2

1519538183
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
aurel57
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 22, 2014, 01:17:07 PM
 #2

yes

any more questions about S3 should be done here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.0
BTC-TMXSTAR
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100

My English is very BAD, Sorry :<


View Profile
November 22, 2014, 11:38:29 PM
 #3

Thanks!!!!!  Grin
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 20, 2014, 12:09:28 AM
 #4

Lots of head room.
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 20, 2014, 12:18:10 AM
 #5

It only has 1 PCIE 6+2 cable,you need 2 seperate cables,1 per board.Drawing 400 watts on one cable is NOT good,the cable CAN burn up  Roll Eyes

Go with the CX 600,it has 2 PCIE cables & is ALOT cheaper  Wink

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139028&cm_re=CX_600-_-17-139-028-_-Product

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 20, 2014, 12:54:03 AM
 #6

It only has 1 PCIE 6+2 cable,you need 2 seperate cables,1 per board.Drawing 400 watts on one cable is NOT good,the cable CAN burn up  Roll Eyes

Go with the CX 600,it has 2 PCIE cables & is ALOT cheaper  Wink

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139028&cm_re=CX_600-_-17-139-028-_-Product

If you do not mind refurb you can actually get the CX 750 cheaper then the new 600.   http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139112&cm_re=cx750-_-17-139-112-_-Product

I have two and both worked fine.
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1613
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 20, 2014, 01:15:48 AM
 #7

If you insist on getting the RM-550 (perhaps because it is modular) then you'd need to get one of these to convert the EPS-12V to a PCIe:

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/8687/cab-158/8_8-pin_EPS_to_62-Pin_PCI-Express_Adapter_Cable_CB-E8-P68F.html?gclid=Cj0KEQiAts-kBRCbgrXc1rnXw7MBEiQAnFqTdhei3FWTs90FxH2Z2jHLl85Fx4Cfz8byG53hFesTqVsaAnCK8P8HAQ
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 20, 2014, 05:43:14 AM
 #8


Nice find!!!!  Wink

The problem with most PSU's is ALL wires are black.................got to use a voltmeter to be SURE of + & -  Roll Eyes

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
Zich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
December 20, 2014, 05:54:44 AM
 #9


Nice find!!!!  Wink

The problem with most PSU's is ALL wires are black.................got to use a voltmeter to be SURE of + & -  Roll Eyes

Not quite true. The connector shape can not fit if plug it in wrong direction.
siampumpkin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 260


View Profile
December 20, 2014, 06:03:21 AM
 #10

It won't work. I had one of these. With only one cable, the cable gets too hot and the unit shuts down or it will just melt the cable and connector. You need a unit with 2 PCIE cables. I would suggest more wattage as well just to have some buffer.

Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 20, 2014, 07:28:22 AM
 #11


Nice find!!!!  Wink

The problem with most PSU's is ALL wires are black.................got to use a voltmeter to be SURE of + & -  Roll Eyes

Not quite true. The connector shape can not fit if plug it in wrong direction.

Maybe so,BUT,have YOU made your own cables Huh  I have & am anal about getting it right the FIRST time  Wink

Not all PSU's have the 8 pin CPU pinouts the same as PCIE,some actually reverse the wires outside the PSU (the cables),some reverse the wires inside.

Remember I didn't say all,I said most  Roll Eyes  & there's no way to tell if the wires are all black,except with a volt meter.

If you want to just plug & hope it's correct,be my guest,I can't afford to "experiment" with several thousand dollars worth of mining gear.

@ siampumpkin: Thanks for the info,I'll just make my cables,if needed  Wink

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
Zich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
December 20, 2014, 08:08:18 AM
 #12


Maybe so,BUT,have YOU made your own cables Huh  I have & am anal about getting it right the FIRST time  Wink

.............

Yes, i always make my own cable  Cool
Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas, Ho Ho Ho. I hope all of you enjoy this holiday  Grin

While waiting for my HEX16A2, i make power connector for the miner which will get power from EPS 12V connector from PSU.
I use EPS 12 V because my PSU not fully modular & come with 2X EPS 12V connector, so waste to not use them Grin


Seasonic M12II Bronze 620W                                            Buy cheap ATX 20 to 24 pin converter on ebay to make the connector

                                         


Then cut down the require segment that match EPS 12V connector, replace the cable to meet power requirement.
Base on observation with HEX16A, using only 1 wire, the yellow wire on PSU side is little warm.
So i decided to use two wire & use 1,5 mm2 wire on miner side so loshia won't scold me  Cheesy

 

So whenever the HEX16A2 come with molex or terminal screw, it's doesn't matter  Grin



................

Not all PSU's have the 8 pin CPU pinouts the same as PCIE,some actually reverse the wires outside the PSU (the cables),some reverse the wires inside.

..........

EPS & PCIEX had different shape. They should not had same shape pinout.
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 20, 2014, 11:14:37 AM
 #13


Maybe so,BUT,have YOU made your own cables Huh  I have & am anal about getting it right the FIRST time  Wink

.............

Yes, i always make my own cable  Cool
Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas, Ho Ho Ho. I hope all of you enjoy this holiday  Grin

While waiting for my HEX16A2, i make power connector for the miner which will get power from EPS 12V connector from PSU.
I use EPS 12 V because my PSU not fully modular & come with 2X EPS 12V connector, so waste to not use them Grin


Seasonic M12II Bronze 620W                                            Buy cheap ATX 20 to 24 pin converter on ebay to make the connector

                                         


Then cut down the require segment that match EPS 12V connector, replace the cable to meet power requirement.
Base on observation with HEX16A, using only 1 wire, the yellow wire on PSU side is little warm.
So i decided to use two wire & use 1,5 mm2 wire on miner side so loshia won't scold me  Cheesy

 

So whenever the HEX16A2 come with molex or terminal screw, it's doesn't matter  Grin



................

Not all PSU's have the 8 pin CPU pinouts the same as PCIE,some actually reverse the wires outside the PSU (the cables),some reverse the wires inside.

..........

EPS & PCIEX had different shape. They should not had same shape pinout.


Good for you making cables too  Cheesy

But it's not about the plugs,it's about adapting those EPS to PCIE,just sayin.I've seen the aftermath of folks not paying attention or just not knowing about the differences  Sad

Not all PSU makers wire their units the same,so the diagram you posted is kinda null in the grand scheme of PSU's.

Some folks have forced those plugs & made them connect,only to set the magic smoke free.....be careful folks!!!  Wink

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!