Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 02:54:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MSI Armor RX470 8GB Doesn't Act Right.  (Read 241 times)
philejmath
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 02:08:16 AM
 #1

I got what I thought was a good deal on 10 MSI RX 470 8GB cards, expecting ~22Mh/s ETH

Well it's more like ~18Mh/s. No biggy? probably the AMD DAG Epoch issue I guess...

So I tried some Monero mining and I'm getingt ~500H/s per card

Seems very low compared to what I've been seeing for these cards.

I want to put them all into the 13 GPU ASRock board but now I'm wondering if I should just return them...

-phil
1512960862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512960862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512960862
Reply with quote  #2

1512960862
Report to moderator
1512960862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512960862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512960862
Reply with quote  #2

1512960862
Report to moderator
1512960862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512960862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512960862
Reply with quote  #2

1512960862
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Vann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 02:20:23 AM
 #2

It's normal for AMD cards right out of the box. You have to Bios mod them and find the best settings for the cards. Using the PolarisBiosEditor v1.6 'one-click timing patch' will automatically detect the memory type and apply the bundled performance straps. Then just save the Bios and flash it to the cards. With a Bios mod and 1200 MHz core clock and 1975 MHz overclock for the memory should get you to 28+ MH/s on ETH and 740 MH/s on XMR.

https://github.com/jaschaknack/PolarisBiosEditor
philejmath
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 02:26:45 AM
 #3

Thank you. I've been searching for the Linux version of this advice. That looks like it will work.

-phil
Vann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 02:37:45 AM
 #4

Yes, it should work with Linux. PBE will work under Linux using mono and there is also a Linux version of Atflash. Backup your original Bios before flashing the modded one.
Jdope
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 02:50:10 AM
 #5

I have one, its currently running at 23 with the bios mod and the dag issue driver, and i've not overclocked it alot, just at 1750, it was running for 26 at some times but i don't know what i changed and it got back to 23-24, i used anorak's bios, you can do it yourself too.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!