Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 11:15:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].

Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is bitcoin mining dangerous?  (Read 11401 times)
Raffy11

Activity: 17

View Profile
September 18, 2017, 03:40:55 AM

Because i am new at bitcoin i'm wondering what is bitcoin mining and how it is done.
Is it dangerous for us people?? I want to know more about bitcoin mining.

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
eth888

Activity: 28

View Profile WWW
September 18, 2017, 05:01:30 AM

Because i am new at bitcoin i'm wondering what is bitcoin mining and how it is done.

What kind of "hazard" you mean? Harmful to environment or health, or ROI?
HeRetiK

Activity: 560

the forkings will continue until morale improves

View Profile
September 18, 2017, 07:38:18 AM

Bitcoin mining is done using specialized mining hardware. Think of them as high-powered, industrial PCs which can only be used for Bitcoin mining and nothing else.

So what is there to look out for if you're a miner?

1) Financial risk, ie. the Bitcoin network grows faster than you expected, so you don't mine enough to get the money back you paid for the machine.

2) Physical risk, ie. if the mining hardware doesn't get properly cooled or the location where you mine at has bad wiring there's a certain fire hazard.

What is there to know for the general populace?

3) Impact on the environment, ie. the whole of the Bitcoin network uses a lot of electrical energy.

Does this answer your question?

eth888

View Profile WWW