Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:16:58 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Voltage Control of HD5850 in Ubuntu?  (Read 1022 times)
KarlSpaat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 10:07:07 AM
 #1

Hi there,

i have 3 Mining Rigs with 2x5850 and after installing a new cooling setup, i managed to get the temperatures to 69,5 C for the upper cards and 63 C for the lower cards. All Cards running at 880/300 stable 24/7 with 352 MHash/s.

The cards freeze with higher clocks. How can i adjust the Voltage of the cards in Ubuntu?

Another point is, id like to get the temperatures via SSH. aticonfig doesnt work, when there is no X Server active.


Thanks to all repliers and greetz

KarlSpaat
1480846618
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846618

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846618
Reply with quote  #2

1480846618
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480846618
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846618

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846618
Reply with quote  #2

1480846618
Report to moderator
1480846618
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846618

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846618
Reply with quote  #2

1480846618
Report to moderator
Bloodys
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 10:32:01 AM
 #2

You can modify the BIOS of the video card with higher voltage using RBE (Radeon Bios Editor) and then reflash the card with the modified BIOS, after that you can only play with the frequency as the voltage would be higher by default...
qdot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 10:36:32 AM
 #3

And in terms of accessing via SSH:

Install 'screen' - not strictly necessary, but useful in keeping a program running while you logout from shell

run 'screen'
run 'startx' - this startx an X Server on the machine

in a separate screen window ('Ctrl-a c') run:
export DISPLAY=:0
'your-miner-command-line'


1D5yrcmAZzwYTzrDYxNX3SSr19ss2uZx7x
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 987


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 10:53:40 AM
 #4

And in terms of accessing via SSH:

Install 'screen' - not strictly necessary, but useful in keeping a program running while you logout from shell

run 'screen'
run 'startx' - this startx an X Server on the machine

in a separate screen window ('Ctrl-a c') run:
export DISPLAY=:0
'your-miner-command-line'



Don't you need to run xhost + from an xterm before you can just connect to the X11 session?
KarlSpaat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 11:31:46 AM
 #5

The Radeon Bios Editor works perfectly.
Since i also like to observe my Miners from Windows, I installed x11vnc and connect to the machines via VNC. I know this isn't safe and the best way, but for watching the temperatures once a day its doing fine.

Later i test the startx thing from ubuntu.
qdot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 05:27:18 PM
 #6

Don't you need to run xhost + from an xterm before you can just connect to the X11 session?

xhost + applies if you have to use a connection that's missing the MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE - if you're using the same user that the X11 server runs from, the cookies should be sufficient and tasty.

1D5yrcmAZzwYTzrDYxNX3SSr19ss2uZx7x
supersonic3974
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 05:35:10 PM
 #7

If you don't mind me asking, how did you get your to 350 Mh/s without overclocking?  I have a 2x 5850 setup and I can only get them to 297 Mh/s.  Anything tips are greatly appreciated.
KarlSpaat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
July 06, 2011, 10:55:33 AM
 #8

Sorry for replying so late.

I overclocked my HD5850 with the aticonfig tool. The problem was, that i tried to watch temperatures and clock from my working PC, which has Windows installed. I use Putty and XMing to access the miners and have XServer available.

You just have to install xming and set X11 forwarding in Putty Settings. Then i write export DISPLAY=:0 and can use aticonfig.

If you need more detailed informations just write a PM to me.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!