Bitcoin Forum
May 02, 2024, 12:00:06 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: question about intial Bitcoin fork price  (Read 248 times)
eugenedo1206 (OP)

Activity: 3
Merit: 0

View Profile
October 08, 2017, 05:12:36 AM

Hello. I asked the same question on reddit and received a variety of answers, but there wasn't clear consensus among people. Does anybody know what kind of initial price should I expect for the new Bitcoin fork?

--------- original reddit post ---------------
I am relatively new to Bitcoin (new to Reddit too), have learned a lot of Bitcoin and invested some money on Bitcoin. I just have a specific question about Bitcoin fork price. How is the initial price of the coins determined at fork? If Coin A with price 500 forks into Coin A and Coin B, does it get split in two, say two coins with the initial prices 200 and 300, or does the price gets duplicated, Coin A with price 500 and Coin B with Price 500? Or is the initial fork price completely arbitrary, theoretically ranging from 0 to zillion? Or does the developer of the the coins determine the initial fork price? Enlighten me please, Thanks!

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
You get merit points when someone likes your post enough to give you some. And for every 2 merit points you receive, you can send 1 merit point to someone else!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
savioroshan

Activity: 770
Merit: 500

View Profile
October 08, 2017, 08:01:20 AM