Bitcoin Forum
January 19, 2020, 08:16:24 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Pruned node on a Raspberry Pi 2 B  (Read 621 times)
miguelmorales85
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 04:17:29 PM
 #1

I had to create a new post because moderator erase my replies in post older than 120 days.

With this sad introduction I am here to ask the following:


I would like to start running a pruned node with 1000 MB of pruning and set in a Raspberry Pi 2 B. I wonder if someone has set it with this level of pruning at the present size of the blockchain.

I'm updating the node pruned in my laptop and I'm planning to move everything to an microsd of 16 GB and class 10.
Do you think the raspberry pi will handle the load?

1579421784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579421784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579421784
Reply with quote  #2

1579421784
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1579421784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579421784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579421784
Reply with quote  #2

1579421784
Report to moderator
1579421784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579421784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579421784
Reply with quote  #2

1579421784
Report to moderator
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1425


https://bit.ly/387FXHi ← a fortnight of the


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 04:29:16 PM
 #2

I know this topic is 120 old and so and so.. but I would like to start running a pruned node with 1000 MB of pruning and set in a Raspberry Pi 2 B. I wonder if someone has set it in these days of 2017 not in the past.

Im updating the node pruned in my laptop and Im planning to move everything to an microsd of 16 GB and class 10.
Do you think the raspberry pi will handle the load?

thanks

I think electrum might be more suitable for this: electrum.org/#download. In my experience it's very secure (well just as secure as core). And if you're pruning it anyway, no one can use the block chain to sync with the network (although you can still scan the last blocks with it).

I'm sure the raspberry pi should handle the load (might take about 200 hours to sync) and the ad card might not be very productive after the entire block chain has passed through it. [/quote]

miguelmorales85
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 05:06:54 PM
 #3

I know this topic is 120 old and so and so.. but I would like to start running a pruned node with 1000 MB of pruning and set in a Raspberry Pi 2 B. I wonder if someone has set it in these days of 2017 not in the past.

Im updating the node pruned in my laptop and Im planning to move everything to an microsd of 16 GB and class 10.
Do you think the raspberry pi will handle the load?

thanks

I think electrum might be more suitable for this: electrum.org/#download. In my experience it's very secure (well just as secure as core). And if you're pruning it anyway, no one can use the block chain to sync with the network (although you can still scan the last blocks with it).

I'm sure the raspberry pi should handle the load (might take about 200 hours to sync) and the ad card might not be very productive after the entire block chain has passed through it.
[/quote]

Hi jackg, can you please confirm me if Electrum can be set to work in pruned mode?
I have not found clear information about this.
I want my Raspberry Pi to work with the capacity it has on the MicroSD memory (16GB class10)
I dont want to mess with an external hard drive.

thanks
TryNinja
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1755



View Profile
September 24, 2017, 05:54:21 PM
 #4

Hi jackg, can you please confirm me if Electrum can be set to work in pruned mode?
I have not found clear information about this.
I want my Raspberry Pi to work with the capacity it has on the MicroSD memory (16GB class10)
I dont want to mess with an external hard drive.

thanks
Electrum is a SPV wallet, which means that you don't need to download the Blockchain before using it. You can just download the software and use it instantly.

If you really want a full node instead of just a wallet, Electrum won't help you.

miguelmorales85
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 06:03:33 PM
 #5

Hi jackg, can you please confirm me if Electrum can be set to work in pruned mode?
I have not found clear information about this.
I want my Raspberry Pi to work with the capacity it has on the MicroSD memory (16GB class10)
I dont want to mess with an external hard drive.

thanks
Electrum is a SPV wallet, which means that you don't need to download the Blockchain before using it. You can just download the software and use it instantly.

If you really want a full node instead of just a wallet, Electrum won't help you.

all right, that is what I thought...

I want a pruned node to help the Bitcoin core network. So Electrum is discarded for me.
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1425


https://bit.ly/387FXHi ← a fortnight of the


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 06:27:19 PM
 #6

Hi jackg, can you please confirm me if Electrum can be set to work in pruned mode?
I have not found clear information about this.
I want my Raspberry Pi to work with the capacity it has on the MicroSD memory (16GB class10)
I dont want to mess with an external hard drive.

thanks
Electrum is a SPV wallet, which means that you don't need to download the Blockchain before using it. You can just download the software and use it instantly.

If you really want a full node instead of just a wallet, Electrum won't help you.

all right, that is what I thought...

I want a pruned node to help the Bitcoin core network. So Electrum is discarded for me.

I'm not sure pruned helps the network.
You'd need an entire download of the blockchain as a user would have to start a download from the block after genesis (as the geneis block comes with the download).
Therefore, an SPV wallet is probably the best option, of course unless you need it for something like mining or for other nodes to attempt to get the latest blocks from the core. Although this is as far as I understand it, maybe others will know different as to how this can work when you only have part of the blockchain.

miguelmorales85
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 08:21:00 PM
 #7

Hi jackg, can you please confirm me if Electrum can be set to work in pruned mode?
I have not found clear information about this.
I want my Raspberry Pi to work with the capacity it has on the MicroSD memory (16GB class10)
I dont want to mess with an external hard drive.

thanks
Electrum is a SPV wallet, which means that you don't need to download the Blockchain before using it. You can just download the software and use it instantly.

If you really want a full node instead of just a wallet, Electrum won't help you.

all right, that is what I thought...

I want a pruned node to help the Bitcoin core network. So Electrum is discarded for me.

I'm not sure pruned helps the network.
You'd need an entire download of the blockchain as a user would have to start a download from the block after genesis (as the geneis block comes with the download).
Therefore, an SPV wallet is probably the best option, of course unless you need it for something like mining or for other nodes to attempt to get the latest blocks from the core. Although this is as far as I understand it, maybe others will know different as to how this can work when you only have part of the blockchain.

It has been said before that pruned nodes help the network because they can relay transactions. They just cant (obviously) send the whole blockchain to new nodes, but they work on the last blocks and help distribute them, they store transactions in the mempool and that is what I understand helps the bitcoin network  = to distribute the last block.
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1425


https://bit.ly/387FXHi ← a fortnight of the


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 10:16:20 PM
 #8

~

It has been said before that pruned nodes help the network because they can relay transactions. They just cant (obviously) send the whole blockchain to new nodes, but they work on the last blocks and help distribute them, they store transactions in the mempool and that is what I understand helps the bitcoin network  = to distribute the last block.

Ah yes then that is what it would be good for. Transacting the mempool and the latest blocksare a good example of what that would do.

As I said before, your raspberry pi will be able to handle it. You may as well try it and see (but you might want to keep it running for a week or so just to syncronise as they're not that fast - don't overclock it though, you might just end up burning the SD card instead)...

miguelmorales85
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 25, 2017, 06:54:24 PM
 #9

I come here to share my happiness!
The pruned raspberry pi 2B experiment is a success!

I have transfered the .bitcoin folder from my laptop to my Raspberry Pi 2 B and after setting on bitcoin.conf the maxmempool parameter to 150 (just in case) , it started and its working.

I would like to know why it is still down in the website bitnodes.21.co

I have run the open port checker and its OK but in the statistics it appears offline  Huh

Can somebody explain?
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1425


https://bit.ly/387FXHi ← a fortnight of the


View Profile
September 25, 2017, 09:23:34 PM
 #10

I come here to share my happiness!
The pruned raspberry pi 2B experiment is a success!

I have transfered the .bitcoin folder from my laptop to my Raspberry Pi 2 B and after setting on bitcoin.conf the maxmempool parameter to 150 (just in case) , it started and its working.

I would like to know why it is still down in the website bitnodes.21.co

I have run the open port checker and its OK but in the statistics it appears offline  Huh

Can somebody explain?

Do you have to register it with them?
Also, just as a point, maybe they don't think it's powerful enough to receive a status update every few minutes and be able to transmit that without taking up a substantial amount of its resources.

It's great to hear you got it working! Also, if you store any bitcoin on your computer and copied over the wallet.dat, you might want to move those coins or delete the file from your raspberry pi - to make your keys a bit more secure.

miguelmorales85
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 26, 2017, 06:41:56 PM
 #11

I come here to share my happiness!
The pruned raspberry pi 2B experiment is a success!

I have transfered the .bitcoin folder from my laptop to my Raspberry Pi 2 B and after setting on bitcoin.conf the maxmempool parameter to 150 (just in case) , it started and its working.

I would like to know why it is still down in the website bitnodes.21.co

I have run the open port checker and its OK but in the statistics it appears offline  Huh

Can somebody explain?

Do you have to register it with them?
Also, just as a point, maybe they don't think it's powerful enough to receive a status update every few minutes and be able to transmit that without taking up a substantial amount of its resources.

It's great to hear you got it working! Also, if you store any bitcoin on your computer and copied over the wallet.dat, you might want to move those coins or delete the file from your raspberry pi - to make your keys a bit more secure.

You just have to go to bitnodes21.co and check if your current node has incoming open ports. They you can search by your node public IP and subscribe to receive alert about such node.

The Raspberry Pi 2B has 24 hours up and it is working 100%, I would like to highlight that it is also hosting my OpenBazaar store to keep it online always.

I dont store any coins in the Raspberry Pi 2B , I have compiled a walletless bitcoin core so no problem with that, thank you for the advice.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!