Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2018, 07:16:31 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU mining...  (Read 13913 times)
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 08:38:16 PM
 #1

I don't care if it loses money. I'm bored and just want to play on a 1.5ghz netbook to see how bad it really is. Is there any CPU mining software around that will run on Win XP?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542784591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542784591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542784591
Reply with quote  #2

1542784591
Report to moderator
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1137



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 08:45:38 PM
 #2

I don't care if it loses money. I'm bored and just want to play on a 1.5ghz netbook to see how bad it really is. Is there any CPU mining software around that will run on Win XP?

cgminer 2.11.4 or earlier.  You should get 1 to 2 Mh/s out of it.

You might need to recompile it.  Read the Windows build readme file.
yeti_alchemist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 09:03:38 PM
 #3

I don't care if it loses money. I'm bored and just want to play on a 1.5ghz netbook to see how bad it really is. Is there any CPU mining software around that will run on Win XP?

cgminer 2.11.4 or earlier.  You should get 1 to 2 Mh/s out of it.

You might need to recompile it.  Read the Windows build readme file.

Assorted builds for various OS and cgminer versions:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 09:20:15 PM
 #4

I don't care if it loses money. I'm bored and just want to play on a 1.5ghz netbook to see how bad it really is. Is there any CPU mining software around that will run on Win XP?

cgminer 2.11.4 or earlier.  You should get 1 to 2 Mh/s out of it.

You might need to recompile it.  Read the Windows build readme file.

Assorted builds for various OS and cgminer versions:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/

I think he pulled the zip files because he doesn't endorse CPU mining
Baazee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2013, 10:31:34 PM
 #5

http://baazee.de/files/miner/bcm.zip
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 01:52:06 AM
 #6

I don't care if it loses money. I'm bored and just want to play on a 1.5ghz netbook to see how bad it really is. Is there any CPU mining software around that will run on Win XP?

It's a bit dangerous to CPU mine on a laptop unless it has really good cooling.

The only CPU miner I have ever used is the Ufasoft and that was over two years ago.

But it has temperature throttling which will help protect your CPU.  The default for the throttle is 83C.  I would probably reset it to 75C to be a bit safer.

So if your bound and determined that is the one I would use.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Recon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0



View Profile
August 31, 2013, 02:36:44 PM
 #7

that from. de even not working lol.


I have pc and want to start mining only on cpu but everyone miner giving gpu instead of cpu.

iwantcoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2014, 07:51:28 PM
 #8

First of all i'm sorry you have XP,,  Shocked

I have gotten this software working on my XP system super easy to use works with 32bit

http://www.reviewoutlaw.com/how-to-start-mining-quarks-bitcoins-mining-the-simple-guide/
http://i0.wp.com/www.reviewoutlaw.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/found-gold.gif?resize=300%2C220
itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 100


Join FlipNpik Telegram : t.me/flipnpikico


View Profile
February 03, 2014, 04:22:42 PM
 #9

Here's a great 24 hours comparison done by ReviewOutlaw for ALL CPU COINS.
http://www.reviewoutlaw.com/most-profitable-cpu-coin-list-alt-coin-profits-24-hours-mining/

Guess who the winner is? Smiley
MemoryCoin of course!

Here's another thread explaining how to CPU mine MMC efficiently:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=439874

loewen.brad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 05, 2014, 10:03:28 AM
 #10

you might try mining primecoin (xpm). it's a cpu-only coin and is decently profitable. if you choose to do this, i would recommend mining on ypool.net. to mine on that pool, you will need the latest version of jhPrimeMiner by AeroCloud. everything you will need to get started is linked to on the ypool site.

BTC Donation address: 1C9kFrgD4iHRnH7p86HaAQ5oSaEuzqmjf8
XIV Donation address: XErCR9BXh2oVXBy2Yh48qcRaX9tdDCRH5J
itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 100


Join FlipNpik Telegram : t.me/flipnpikico


View Profile
February 05, 2014, 11:53:23 AM
 #11

you might try mining primecoin (xpm). it's a cpu-only coin and is decently profitable. if you choose to do this, i would recommend mining on ypool.net. to mine on that pool, you will need the latest version of jhPrimeMiner by AeroCloud. everything you will need to get started is linked to on the ypool site.

As you can see from the comparison I posted above, MemoryCoin is far more profitable...
Also, in the long run it should increase value if you decide to keep your mined coins and not insta-dump.

HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 501



View Profile
February 05, 2014, 01:12:04 PM
 #12

bfgminer still does CPU mining.  Again, you must compile it yourself as it's not enabled on the Windows binary.



  ██████████
 ████████▀▀██
 ████▀▀    ██
 █▀    ▄▀  ██
 █▄▄▄ █    ██
 ████  ▄█▄ ██
 ████████████
  ██████████


▄█████████████▄
██▀▀████▀  ▀▀██
██   ▀▀     ▀██
██▄         ███
███▄       ▄███
██▀▀      ▄████
███▄▄▄▄▄▄██████
▀█████████████▀
    |   
    eSPORTS   
ECOSYSTEM "Empowering Gamers!"
|       




▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
█ ███████████████████████ █
█ █████     █ ▀██████████ █
█ █████     █   ▀████████ █
█ █████  ██ █     ▀██████ █

█ █████  ▀▀ █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████             █████ █
█ ███████████████████████ █
▀█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▀
HidariMigi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 07, 2014, 07:17:03 PM
 #13

I can understand doing so for scrypt-based crypto, but is there any point in doing CPU mining on a SHA-256 on any pool? Seems like just a waste of time/energy -- but I guess the OP is just using it for testing a netbook.

Maybe as a stress/burn-in test for CPUs-- Or has that been suggested already?

Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 07, 2014, 07:23:41 PM
 #14

I can understand doing so for scrypt-based crypto, but is there any point in doing CPU mining on a SHA-256 on any pool? Seems like just a waste of time/energy -- but I guess the OP is just using it for testing a netbook.

Maybe as a stress/burn-in test for CPUs-- Or has that been suggested already?



You are right, it isn't viable. But, sometimes we do things because we can not because it makes sense. There is a Hobby aspect to mining. CPU mining can be a learning experience, even if all that you learn is that you shouldn't do that. Tongue
Mivexil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 09:12:20 PM
 #15

I can understand doing so for scrypt-based crypto, but is there any point in doing CPU mining on a SHA-256 on any pool? Seems like just a waste of time/energy -- but I guess the OP is just using it for testing a netbook.

Maybe as a stress/burn-in test for CPUs-- Or has that been suggested already?



You are right, it isn't viable. But, sometimes we do things because we can not because it makes sense. There is a Hobby aspect to mining. CPU mining can be a learning experience, even if all that you learn is that you shouldn't do that. Tongue

What kind of hobby is looking at your processor burning a hole in itself for no profit? Cheesy

Try some Quark-clones or PrimeCoin (Protoshares have been overtaken by GPUs, I think). Mining Bitcoin with a CPU is like going against Deep Thought with a dollar store calculator.
JJKirsch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 10, 2014, 11:28:21 AM
 #16

Woa. I had no idea mining on CPU made any sense. Can someone tell me if it worth the trouble to mine with several rather old PCs, the best of which is an i5?

Donations please - 7df55268-8d44-4dec-a085-d4488eff87f1
itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 100


Join FlipNpik Telegram : t.me/flipnpikico


View Profile
February 10, 2014, 06:20:55 PM
 #17

Woa. I had no idea mining on CPU made any sense. Can someone tell me if it worth the trouble to mine with several rather old PCs, the best of which is an i5?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=439874

btc-mike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 14, 2014, 07:29:16 AM
 #18

MMC is one of the best coins for CPU mining but there are MANY options.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=379601.0
tontsa74
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 14, 2014, 10:13:32 PM
 #19

hi, is there a pool special for cpu mining?
btc-mike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 14, 2014, 11:16:57 PM
 #20

hi, is there a pool special for cpu mining?

Most of the CPU coins have pools.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!