Bitcoin Forum
August 15, 2018, 12:13:39 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: How hot do your GPU's run?
<60c - 13 (6.5%)
60c-65c - 12 (6%)
66c-70c - 24 (11.9%)
71c-75c - 60 (29.9%)
76c-80c - 42 (20.9%)
>80c - 50 (24.9%)
Total Voters: 175

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: How hot do your GPU's run?  (Read 7522 times)
Malawi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


One bitcoin to rule them all!


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 09:09:41 AM
 #21

Mine has a target temp of 80, but t normally run just below.

Waiting for cables to move my machine into the basement. Wink

BitCoin is NOT a pyramid - it's a pagoda.
1534292019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534292019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534292019
Reply with quote  #2

1534292019
Report to moderator
1534292019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534292019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534292019
Reply with quote  #2

1534292019
Report to moderator
1534292019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534292019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534292019
Reply with quote  #2

1534292019
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534292019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534292019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534292019
Reply with quote  #2

1534292019
Report to moderator
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960
Merit: 1001



View Profile
June 03, 2013, 11:08:37 AM
 #22

67° at 26°(ambient temperature)

fan 53%
Kapz786
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 702
Merit: 503



View Profile
June 03, 2013, 11:09:18 AM
 #23

I have 2 MSI TwinFrozr's undervolted - they manage to run steady at 66 deg's
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 11:13:27 AM
 #24

i never let my cards go over 60c core 80c vrm 7950 vapor x 55% fan max air output temp 38c air intake maximum 30c

i run my rigs in boxes not crates ( i have 20 rigs of 4 7950s and 1 rig with 3 ) geting 630kh / card at 1050/1250   at 1.050v  ( 875-950w /rig )

ADT donation address >ALMA4h9mQLPTQu96AFwgNu6jjviHBowonk
BTC donation address >17KZ9E1PmTUMmosfb1xcapGRoQSKew8M3P
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 02:35:45 PM
 #25

It really depends on system, motherboard and card.  I mine at 67C all the way up to 88C per card.
AMD says these cards are meant to handle up to 125C.
I've seen them run as hot as 96C before shutdown.  Absolute Max I'd run a card is up to 91C...even then i'd use caution.
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1042



View Profile
June 03, 2013, 04:21:43 PM
 #26

75-85, with cgminer cutoff at 95
massnerder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


No power in the 'verse can stop me.


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 05:37:12 PM
 #27

i never let my cards go over 60c core 80c vrm 7950 vapor x 55% fan max air output temp 38c air intake maximum 30c

i run my rigs in boxes not crates ( i have 20 rigs of 4 7950s and 1 rig with 3 ) geting 630kh / card at 1050/1250   at 1.050v  ( 875-950w /rig )


damn thats a lot of 7950s  Grin  what type of 7950 do you run?

I have the plain old cheap sapphire 7950s and I can't hit 630kh until I am at 1075/1600 on my clocks.  Same voltage and I am getting 1kw/rig now, I had them at 1.1v and was pulling 1150w, so thanks for that lol
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 05:45:38 PM
 #28

i never let my cards go over 60c core 80c vrm 7950 vapor x 55% fan max air output temp 38c air intake maximum 30c

i run my rigs in boxes not crates ( i have 20 rigs of 4 7950s and 1 rig with 3 ) geting 630kh / card at 1050/1250   at 1.050v  ( 875-950w /rig )


damn thats a lot of 7950s  Grin  what type of 7950 do you run?

I have the plain old cheap sapphire 7950s and I can't hit 630kh until I am at 1075/1600 on my clocks.  Same voltage and I am getting 1kw/rig now, I had them at 1.1v and was pulling 1150w, so thanks for that lol

i have saphire vaporx dual bios oc edition cards i use reaper to mine if you would like to know the setting i use pm me
i have found with the cards im using mem clock makes very little difrents but uses loads more power ( i mine scrypt )

ADT donation address >ALMA4h9mQLPTQu96AFwgNu6jjviHBowonk
BTC donation address >17KZ9E1PmTUMmosfb1xcapGRoQSKew8M3P
zazas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 03, 2013, 10:51:51 PM
 #29

I'm running 2 Sapphire 5870 1GB. GPU0 and GPU1 undervolted at 1.150v and 1.175v.
This lets the top card run 5C less hot, and both are running at 70.5C.
Pretty decent overclock on both cores at 960 MHz and both MEM underclock at 300 MHz.
Getting a stable 427 MHash/s on each in cgminer.

Tips or Usefull post? Donate please, thank you Grin BTC: 1DUmbnustDLHEs23EgXrgEjoqx5FiRZGrJ
ccplz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 03, 2013, 10:58:48 PM
 #30

I still think of it as a badge of honor(or stupidity)but 2 weeks ago,I left for the weekend with my Gigabyte 7950 running at 102 degrees.
And yes,it survived.
Now that I've learned my lesson,I'm running both my 7950 and 7870xt at 70-80/60-68 degrees,depending on whether the ac is turned on.
Hephaestus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 11:08:25 PM
 #31

I typically set my target temperature at 70, overheat at 75, cutoff at 80.  I use a window fan to cool each rack of six cards ($25 at Target, worth it).
My cards are overclocked to around 1200 MHz, too.
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 11:12:16 PM
 #32

I typically set my target temperature at 70, overheat at 75, cutoff at 80.  I use a window fan to cool each rack of six cards ($25 at Target, worth it).
My cards are overclocked to around 1200 MHz, too.

the fan must use like 40w i only use 3 x 1.2w 120mm fans per 4 cards

ADT donation address >ALMA4h9mQLPTQu96AFwgNu6jjviHBowonk
BTC donation address >17KZ9E1PmTUMmosfb1xcapGRoQSKew8M3P
Hephaestus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 11:20:19 PM
 #33

I typically set my target temperature at 70, overheat at 75, cutoff at 80.  I use a window fan to cool each rack of six cards ($25 at Target, worth it).
My cards are overclocked to around 1200 MHz, too.

the fan must use like 40w i only use 3 x 1.2w 120mm fans per 4 cards

It does use a lot, but the 120mm ones I've tried couldn't move enough air.  Temps were too high for my taste...
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 02:11:39 AM
 #34

i never let my cards go over 60c core 80c vrm 7950 vapor x 55% fan max air output temp 38c air intake maximum 30c

i run my rigs in boxes not crates ( i have 20 rigs of 4 7950s and 1 rig with 3 ) geting 630kh / card at 1050/1250   at 1.050v  ( 875-950w /rig )


Please post pics. I've gotta see this setup  Grin
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 10:01:50 AM
 #35

i never let my cards go over 60c core 80c vrm 7950 vapor x 55% fan max air output temp 38c air intake maximum 30c

i run my rigs in boxes not crates ( i have 20 rigs of 4 7950s and 1 rig with 3 ) geting 630kh / card at 1050/1250   at 1.050v  ( 875-950w /rig )


Please post pics. I've gotta see this setup  Grin

to save clutering this thred 

http://s1315.photobucket.com/user/zackclark70/library/

please rember that the picks are the 3 card rig that is my test setup not the actual fineshed rigs but it does cool just aswell as the others

thanks

zack

ADT donation address >ALMA4h9mQLPTQu96AFwgNu6jjviHBowonk
BTC donation address >17KZ9E1PmTUMmosfb1xcapGRoQSKew8M3P
Keldel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 10:12:42 AM
 #36

Been running my GPUs undervolted and underclocked, so they're nice and cool below 70 C.

sweeppicking
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


<3 hayley williams


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:15:06 PM
 #37

I use 2 sapphire reference 7970 on my Water cooled system, so mining Bitcoins i got 720/730 Mhs in --gpu-engine 1180.
My temperatures are allways under 60º (44º-53º).
Also have 12 5830s, they are just runing with air cooling system so they are in --auto-gpu 68º all time, nice fan speeds.
peonminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:10:48 PM
 #38

For me, a 5mhz increase comes at a sweet spot where it comes with a 5°C increase. Go from 1000 to 1005 on the 7970 and it jumps from 83 to 88. Not good.

However, AMD says these things run stable at 90-92 as maximum temperature target. They are supposed to take peaks of 105. So 85-88 should theoretically not damage them
Could you link us to some readable material from AMD?

Like my posts? Buy me a beer Smiley Bitcoin Tip Jar: 1BDGMBgpbnD1bWXsUkaC8dZ8dgLmwXmE6t / Litecoin Tip Jar: LNB6XVHTvE5nPZZQc4CNAbPY1BLmFpgc7i / Bitcoin Cash Tip Jar: 1N6S4tfZ7NaryfczG2xSFUi3Pti9LJtu7j / Etherum Tip Jar: 0x940266d7a19202Cb2b9e4d8570B9e1eB2d01AD9b / *coinbase addys, no fees from coinbase accounts*
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960
Merit: 1001



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:57:54 PM
 #39

i udervolteed a bit, now is 66° with 50% fan at 28 ambient T
Malawi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


One bitcoin to rule them all!


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 09:55:08 PM
 #40

to save clutering this thred 

http://s1315.photobucket.com/user/zackclark70/library/

please rember that the picks are the 3 card rig that is my test setup not the actual fineshed rigs but it does cool just aswell as the others

You may have your reasons, but I think it seems strange to have a watercooled CPU in a mining rig...

Are they all like that, or did you convert a previous build?

BitCoin is NOT a pyramid - it's a pagoda.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!